We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vava'u Villa

Booking.comUS$75*
View Deal
#3 of 10 Hotels in Neiafu
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Vava\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of Vava'u Villa
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Thankyou so much Ian and Vanessa our stay was unforgettable. We highly recommend the Villa for travel with kids. While we sat back and enjoyed peace and quite in paradise our kids played on the farm and even saw a baby calf born. The restaurant at the Villa was the best food Vavau and they accommodated everyones needs without fuss....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwlawyers
Vanessa J, Owner at Vava'u Villa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review we really do appreciate the feedback we get and always try our best to make everyone happy. We understand different people have different needs and travelling with children is not always easy. Thanks again. Vanessa

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Quest Tours booked and pre paid for a full season of rooms at Vavau Villa over August, September. This review is for the first trip, 2nd August to the 8th August. Unfortunately when we arrived to start the season our booked and paid for rooms were not available at the Vavau Villa We were given a house to use at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle H
Vanessa J, Owner at Vava'u Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We always try our very best to accommodate our guest's wishes and are very disappointed we did not meet those expectations. Due to circumstances way beyond our control, our new rooms were not available for use in the 2016 Whale Season. Upon arrival, the group leader was shown several options (all of which we had...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I am afraid I did not have the pleasure of staying here for a night but my wonderful WhaleSwim (please see previous review) guide Annah was staying here and invited me for brunch (as she knew it was my birthday and I was travelling alone). I had the delicious french toast with all the homemade syrups (some using their own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenElizabeth87
Vanessa J, Owner at Vava'u Villa, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments we are very pleased we made you happy. Thank you for visiting us.

Caribbean
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Today we had the delicious eggs benedict and vanilla bacon brunch at Vava'u Villa, followed by Ian's amusing and extremely informative tour of their Taste of Tonga project. It far exceeded my expectations, as I have been on various tours of organic/ permaculture/ spice farms & plantations over the years in some very remote locations, but I have never seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynneDorningSands
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed only one night but hosts Ian and Vanessa helped make it a night to remember ! We were picked up from airport and whisked to Villa My room was spacious clean and fresh as was the ensuit I loved the local touches plus lovely fluffy bathrobe . Hospitality was fantastic fun and very informative of the local way of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HMSykes22
Vanessa J, Owner at Vava'u Villa, responded to this review

Thanks so much and very glad to hear you had a trip of a lifetime. Vanessa

Reviewed 28 September 2016

Booked into the villa to stay in glamping tents, which were stuck on a wharf somewhere when we arrived. To avoid cancelling our, & others trips Ian & Vanessa made arrangements for alternative accommodation , and we found ourselves sleeping in the princess of Tonga's villa, & in her bed ! Makes for great stories back home. Our hosts bent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haveas
Brisbane
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Ian and Vanessa were the perfect hosts - the place is basic and simple just what I expect from Tonga and wouldn't want anything else. Food was fabulous couldn't have asked for more. Morning coffee just as good as my daily one in Sydney. Close to town with a great view.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michelleeve13
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Amazing hospitality by Vanessa and Ian, we were greeted as if we were old friends and made to feel at home. The rooms are basic but all you need with pigs and chickens wandering around outside your room, you immediately know you're on a Pacific island as you relax into island life.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
Dili, East Timor
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Well worth the visit even if you don't stay, and I recommend you stay. Ian and Vanessa have created a wonderful ecosystem in Vavu'a, take Ian's tour or just get talking to the man and you'll be amazed at how much two people can accomplish if they put their heart into it. We didn't stay at the villa but in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oldduc
caribbean
Reviewed 10 September 2016

As a recent daytime visitor to Vava'u Villa i feel I must bring awareness to fellow travellers that, much more than just a hotel and restaurant, the proprietors also run a vanilla farm, a coconut processing plant, a pig farm & a market garden and more - all on the same property. I would highly recommend taking a one hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saggyb

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neiafu
3.4 km away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
102 reviews
0.0 km away
Hilltop Hotel
Hilltop Hotel
#8 of 10 in Neiafu
44 reviews
0.0 km away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Mystic Sands
Mystic Sands
#1 of 10 in Neiafu
224 reviews
0.0 km away
White Sands Beach Resort
0.0 km away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Vava'u Villa is conveniently located 5 minutes from Neiafu. Our location is adjacent to the new operators residence and other business "Taste of Tonga." Vava'u Villa is not located near any other residential houses, this means Ian and Vanessa can control the annoying wildlife that make their presence known when you stay in Neiafu or near a village. You will not be woken up by village dogs fighting pigs at 3 am, you won't be woken by 15 village roosters crowing from 4 am and you won't be woken up by church bells at 5 am. All there is for you to do is relax and have a great time. Come and take part in our free to guest (normal cost $30) Coconut Factory and Vanilla Curing Centre and see Zero Waste in action and see the many things we do with coconuts. Should you need it we offer an airport pick up and delivery for a fee each way. For the energetic we have some bikes available on a first come, first serve basis. Vava'u Villa has a licensed bar and restaurant (closed in our low season), we have an organic vegetable garden and our own livestock. Our restaurant specializes in the best fresh island produce. One of our specialties is vanilla cured bacon made from our own vanilla and pork. For great food, and a great holiday please stay at Vava'u Villa. Check out our new Glamping Tents available for booking during the Whale Season. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vava'u Villa

Address: Fatafehi Road, A'hunga Toula, Neiafu, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Price Range: €63 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vava'u Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vava'u Villa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Vava'u Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for upstairs rooms”
gwlawyers, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“When you book here you may get a shock when you don't get what you paid for. Ask specific questions or you may end up somewhere else”
GabrielleH_12, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great views from upstairs”
LynneDorningSands, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best upstairs !!!”
michelleeve13, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the front if you don't want to be woken by pigs fighting in the night”
SwedishMagnus, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$75
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$75
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates