We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jacana Tented Safari Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We visited this in December on the first leg of our Africa trip. No wifi no mobile coverage great! We were pleasantly surprised! The small family atmosphere was very friendly. The hosts Jeff and Carla were very welcoming and organised nothing was too much trouble. Bea the guide was exceptional amazingly knowledgeable and an extremely nice guy. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb2803
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Deb2803, Thank you for the amazing feedback, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to see Jeff, Carla and all the staff were so welcoming and friendly to you. We will be sure to pass on your regards to Bea and hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards Wilderness...

Saratoga, California
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Jacana was our third safari camp of our trip and the only "wet" camp. Our accommodations were beautiful for our 3 night stay. We had the "honeymoon" suite which included a surprise outdoor bathtub and a great view of the lagoon/river. The other 2 in our party also had a beautiful room on the other side of the common area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chafffamilytravels
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Chafffamilytravels for your wonderful review, we are delighted to read all your happy memories and have passed along your high praises to the very grateful Carla, Geoff, Bee and all the staff in camp. We are glad to hear the brilliant kitchen team met your daughter’s dietary requirements and we hope you all loved the food as much...

Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Our second visit to Jacana. A gentle, most beautiful area. Travelling on the water in a mokoro (dugout canoe) or flat bottomed boat is incredibly peaceful. The wide expanse of water induces peace and tranquility. Guides are wonderful, the staff are lovely, tented accommodation lovely and comfortable. Food was adequate, not great, but more than acceptable. Always lovely to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JEHSAH
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear JEHSAH, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to hear your second visit did not disappoint. We will be sure to share your kind words with all in camp and will work on the menu to make sure your next visit gets a 5 out of 5. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

St. John's, Newfoundland
Reviewed 6 May 2016

This was the second "wilderness" camp on this trip (sixth Wilderness Safaris camp in the past year) -- the location can't be beaten (a water camp in the Delta -- we were there after the first wave of water from the North) and the camp itself (with just five tents) is unique and special. Our "game drives" were great --...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RAKlein
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear RAKlein, Thank you for your beautiful review, we are glad to hear how much fun you had on your various activities – both land and water. We are sorry to hear the service was not as expected and will see if we are able to find out what happened at the time of your stay in order to rectify...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We had a wonderful 4 day stay. Bird life outstanding as well as excellent game viewing. Phalile and Reuben wonderful hosts.Made us feel really welcome,and attended to our every need.Food good and drinks always cold

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank justin4708
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Justin4708, for your wonderful review, we are glad to hear that all our staff were able to make such a great impact on you and your journey through Africa. Kind regards, The Team at Jacana

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

I came to Jacana actually dreading what may await after a less than satisfactory experience at another camp. I need not have feared. The room was perfect, surrounded by bird life, and private enough to indulge in an outdoor shower. My room overlooked the waterways with spectacular sunrises which I was able to lay in bed and take in as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GurusW
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank you GurusW, for your wonderful review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your break with us despite the extreme temperatures. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to both Tania and Paul. We are glad you enjoyed the cultural aspects we have been privileged enough to share in camp. As a camp dedicated...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We stayed at Jacana between two stays at Kwando camps, and found the water based activities and quality of accommodation and hospitality at Jacana a welcome respite. Jacana is on an island and doesn't offer an abundance of predator style viewing. What it does offer in terms of wildlife is wonderful bird life and plenty of hippos and elephants and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank impossible50
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear impossible50, Jacana is what we call a true water camp, where boating and mokoro excursions take advantage of the quiet channels and inundated floodplains, and the focus is on the wildlife who make this unique area their home – tiny reed frogs, vociferous hippos, colourful birds, red lechwe and the rare sitatunga antelope. We are delighted that you enjoyed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

This was our second visit to the Okovango Delta. The first time was 20 years ago. This time we came back with our 16 and 17 year old kids who are seasoned safari enthusiasts. We know what we want and this ticked all the boxes bar one - we didn't see a lion, even though on our last day we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilana613
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear ilana613, Thank you for your fabulous review, we are delighted to hear what a great time you and your family had with us and even more so that you were able to enjoy the beautiful relaxation of our outdoor bath. We look forward to sharing your kind words with TH and all the staff in camp. Being a ‘water...

western australia
Reviewed 24 June 2015

This was our second stay at Jacana and it was superb again we stayed in 2014 and again in late May 2015 This is a very relaxing and beautiful camp on the Delta heaven to just sit and watch the water,birds,hippo,elephant and otter family frolicking in the water Wonderful staff cant do enough for you great food and plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dasa1414
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Dasa1414, What a great adventure to have you return to our special little island. Elephant have been showing off their love for water in and around Jacana this month, crossing to and from all the islands around Jacana, allowing our guests fantastic opportunities to view them bathing and cooling off whilst on water-based activities. Their silhouettes have also made...

Cambridge
Reviewed 4 June 2015

A 'wet' camp - a small island in lagoons alive with birdlife,water lilies, and just beauty. Game drives start with a boat journey to pick up the jeep (at this time of year when waters are high) and then the delightful TH showed us all there was to see in terms of antelope and game. On other occasions a slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickcambridge
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jacana Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Nickcambridge Thank you for your beautiful review, we are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and especialy the quiet time with an empty camp. Winter brought quite chilly the mornings to Jacana with the accompaniment of an easterly wind in the early mornings. The days were warm without a cloud in the sky, making for amazing sunrises and...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
0.0 km away
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
#1 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
204 reviews
0.0 km away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
254 reviews
0.0 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
211 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
198 reviews
0.0 km away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A crystal-clear water wonderland harbouring the Okavango Delta's most elusive species. Jacana Camp lies on a beautiful island that is surrounded by water for most of the year, making it a true camp of the central Delta. The dining area lies on an elevated wooden deck between two enormous sycamore fig trees, surrounded by dense wild date palms. Downstairs, there is a cosy lounge under thatch with a large deck, an open fire under the stars, and a plunge pool. Meals are often enjoyed outdoors under the stars. HighlightsWhether from boat or mokoro, or simply looking out from your deck, wildlife at home in (or drawn to) the blue waters is evident: herds of red lechwe, hippo, crocodile and spotted-necked otter are the obvious inhabitants, followed by elephant wallowing in the shallows and, if you're lucky, elusive sitatunga or predators like lion and leopard. True Okavango bird specials include Pel's fishing-owl and the endangered wattled crane. The camp is composed of 5 Tents (including 1 Family Tent): Comfortable tents; en-suite bathrooms; outdoor showers. Experiences include: Year-round mokoro and boating, Day game drives, Seasonal catch-and-release fishing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jacana Tented Safari Camp

Address: Outside the Moremi Game Reserve on the Jao flats, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: €695 - €1,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacana Tented Safari Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Jacana Tented Safari Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jacana Tented Safari Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Jacana Tented Safari Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our honeymoon suite was isolated and quiet. It's on one end and there aren't any other rooms on that side of the camp.”
 of 5 bubbles Chafffamilytravels, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the 'tents' are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles nickcambridge, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
“This is a tented camp, so all of the rooms are similar, except”
 of 5 bubbles leeh48, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The family tent is two double sized rooms with a large bathroom in-between.”
 of 5 bubbles HelenApps, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“We had Tent #1; there are only 6 in the camp. All have outdoor showers, all are great, I am sure.”
 of 5 bubbles LauraE650, 5 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5