We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jao Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Jao Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jao Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Jao Camp is an awesome place where you can choose water or terrestrial activities, but be sure to do your research and ask about water levels because the Okavango Delta does have seasonal water at various times and places. Have just visited the gorgeous area and was delighted to be driven by guides who knew how to position us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timmot2016
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Timmot2016, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted you had such a great time with Jakes taking photos. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

Belgium
Reviewed 2 July 2016

This top of the range camp, which came at the end of a three stop safari in Botswana did not disappoint. The Okavango Delta is a unique environment and gives a completely different take on Africa, combining water-baszd activities (boat rides through the Delta, makoro canoe ride at eye level to the water) with traditional driving safaris, mostly on land;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eurofolk
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Eurofolk, Thank you for your beautiful review, we are delighted to read all your amazing memories of your stay with us and glad to see you were finally able to spot the elusive leopard. We are glad to see we were so highly recommended by your travel agents and hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards Wilderness...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

This an excellent camp, with great rooms, good service, good guides and an overall nice feel. The food (including the high tea) is of a high standard. Unfortunately, we did not find the wildlife and wildlife viewing that enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay0123456
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Sanjay, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to see almost all the elements of your stay was able to exceed your expectations. We are sorry however to hear the animals did not cooperate completely. This however is all the luck of the draw at most times with their movement patterns continuously changing. Kind regards Wilderness Safaris

Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewed 6 June 2016

The elevated Jao Camp in the Okavango Delta is like a Tarzan or Swiss Family Robinson movie set, but it's real! I loved this camp for so many reasons; the jungle style, the attention to comfort, the food, the guide and all the people that worked there. Even though the rooms are open to the elements on the water side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCCSCO
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear LCCSCO, Thank you for your amazing review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how many great memories you have of this magical time. We are sorry to hear the staff did not get the information about both your dietary needs but glad to hear our wonderful chef took good care of...

Texas
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

It started with a Botswanian singing greeting from some of the staff on our arrival to the camp. Friendly relaxed but excellent service throughout. Beautifully decorated rustic camp right on the delta waters. Amazing rooms! Great food! World class spa! Excellent knowledgeable guides for game viewing. Our guide July was great. A Mokoro ( canoe) exploration of the Delta waters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank osvaldof
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Osvaldof, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see what a great stay you had with us and will be sure to share your kind words with July, Jackson and the entire team in camp. We hope you will visit us again and for a longer stay, as long as you would like. Kind regards Wilderness...

Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Build on pilings above the bush , the well appointed tents give you great wildlife viewing from the privacy of your own room and lots of activity happened below our tent . Elephants and Giraffes were constant visitors and we saw most of the wildlife species living at this part of the world . Needless to say food , drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyingplumber
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Flyingplumber, for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to read about your fabulous memories of your stay with us. Our elevated rooms and walkways do offer fabulous sights and during the wet season the landscape transforms completely. We hope you will come back soon to see this. If nothing else just to sit in the private sala and...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We spent two brief nights at Jao in Mar'16. The food, suite and service were first rate. The game viewing, in relation to some other camps, was very good but not excellent. During our time, the ponds had water but the delta was not in flood mode. Jao can produce a very different experience in the 'flood season' (April -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Rick, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly hope you will return soon to see the full effect of the waters during the wet season at Jao. Thank you again, Wilderness Safaris

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We spent 7 nights at Jao from the 26th Feb to 3rd March... What a spoil! While we fully understand that Jaoe is marketed as a "water camp", meaning that it is surrounded by water which floods in from Angola between about late April through to about August/September( Depends on Angola's rainfall), there is always something to see at Jao....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timmot2016
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Timmot2016, for your wonderful review, it is always refreshing to read such understanding feedback on bush life. We hope our guides were able to teach you something during your week-long visit and even vice versa as we all love learning something new about our great wilderness. We are so glad to see you encountered so many wonderful birds...

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Recently we spent 7 days in Jao Camp. Thank you to an amazing team for a magical stay. Our Safari Guide had an in-depth knowledge of the area with a kind and gentle manner. The Chefs produce cuisine of such a high standard, its hard to believe they are so far from civilization. All the rooms are spectacular, with attention...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yvonne D
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne, Thank you for your beautiful review, we really enjoyed hosting you and it was a pleasure having you stay for 7 days. We loved your wicked sense of humor and all on the Jao team will remember you for a very long time. We hope you will visit us again, soon. The Team at Jao

Reviewed 16 March 2016

My husband and I chose to spend 3 nights at Jao specifically because it is advertised as a "water" camp. We had already done a lot of land-based game viewing on a previous trip to East Africa, and thought the water experiences would be an interesting new way to safari. On Jan 22nd, two weeks after I made payment for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rene C
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Rene, We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet all your expectations. The norm is that water levels fluctuate throughout the year in the Okavango Delta, and during the month of February, the focus in the Jao area is more on game drives than water activities. That said, we are currently experiencing an el...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
211 reviews
0.0 km away
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
#1 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
204 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
255 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 72 in Okavango Delta
111 reviews
0.0 km away
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
#11 of 72 in Okavango Delta
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A sophisticated and hidden Okavango Delta retreat.Located on a large island in the heart of the Okavango, Jao Camp’s individually handcrafted and luxurious tents look out onto the essence of the Delta – swathes of water, swaying reeds, leaping lechwe and dancing cranes. The main area is an elaborate two-storey wooden structure with lounge and dining area, two plunge pools, a library, curio shop and boma for dining under the stars, complemented by an excellent wine cellar. An award-winning spa and gym epitomise luxury in the most remote, scenically splendid setting.HighlightsJao’s position – amongst waterways and lagoons, yet close to dry Kalahari woodland – means you can enjoy both land and water experiences, depending on the time of year and the level of the waters that move ceaselessly through the area. Here, spectacular herds of red lechwe are followed by lion and leopard, while other game includes tsessebe, giraffe, elephant, hippo and crocodile, occasional sitatunga and regular spotted-necked otter. Experiences: Mokoro • Boating (seasonal) • Seasonal catch-and-release fishing • Day and night game drives • Seasonal hide for sleep-outs or game viewing ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jao Camp

Address: Moremi Game Reserve Border, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: €964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jao Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Jao Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jao Camp staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Jao Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No bad rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles cameronb482, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6, 7 ,8 probably the best.”
 of 5 bubbles rossano_giachino, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“each room is accessed of an elevated walkway. Animals [apart from elephants] can roam freely through the camp.”
 of 5 bubbles raymondmD3218HC, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 6 is in a perfect location”
 of 5 bubbles 988allan, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms/huts are good; Room #1 is family room w/separate room that sleeps 2.”
 of 5 bubbles mimiseattle2016, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5