We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ballachulish Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ballachulish Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ballachulish Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,046: English reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2015

We were looking for a mid way stop off en route to Outer Hebrides which was dog friendly. Normally when we book such a room, we don't expect much. We arrived & were instantly made to feel welcome at reception....dog & all. Hotel is very quaint! Traditional feel, cosy corners, squeaky staircase. Dinner was beautiful, varied menu with something for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MacTruss
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MacTruss Thank you for such a lovely review and that you and Mollie enjoyed your time at the Ballachulish on route to the Outer Hebrides. We do hope if you are back in this area we look forward to welcoming you back and (Mollie) from all the team at the Ballachulish

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2015

We got an offer for room, two-course meal and bottle of wine each night, and this made the hotel superb value. The hotel's communal areas are lovely and charming, the accommodation section is showing its age but was clean, comfortable and warm. Really excellent value and location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline Thank you for your review and you found the hotel to be of Supberb value with our Spring offer we are running until the end of May. We hope when next in the area, to see you and wish you well from all the team at the Ballachulish Hotel

Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Just returned from another stay at the Ballachulish, love this hotel it's mixture of old furniture, squeaky staircase and it's modern twists, room very comfortable with great view of the loch and mountains. Bistro area nice especially with log fire on and the food is very good breakfast with good choice and dinner menu has something for everyone all very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mokev1
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mokev Thank you for such a lovely review and once again you enjoyed your stay with us, the staff and myself look forward to welcoming you back very soon to our hotel and thelovely area of Ballachulish from all the team at the Ballachulish

Cincinnati
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Ballachulish Hotel as guests at a family member's destination wedding. The hotel is clean, quaint, and in an incredible location. The view from the front door is spectacular! The hotel is very old, the main stairway is incredibly creaky, the furniture in most rooms is old and dated but all of that just adds to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dango8
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dango Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and your say for the wedding was enjoyed by you, i will pass on the comments to John which i am sure he will be delighted with, next time in Scotland please come visit again from all the team at the Ballachulish

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Stayed here fora couple of nights as part of a road trip through Scotland for Hubby's birthday. Very nice room, clean, warm and beautiful views of the loch. Very good service throughout our stay. Restaurant and bar were brilliant, very nice food and great views again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jiji222012
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jiji These type of reviews just make us so happy that you had such a lovely time and your stay was most enjoyable, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future from all the team at the Ballachulish

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Stayed there this weekend and it was great. Nice hotel nice staff and great food. Would definitely go back. Hopefully we will get a loch view next time. Thanks to all the staff for being so friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine M
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine Thank you for such a lovely review we all look forward to your return visit hopefully in the near future all the team at the Ballachulish

Crieff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We booked this hotel as a overnight birthday treat. We received a offer through our membership at Crieff Hydro and expected a certain level. The staff were friendly and the food was marvellous but the room was a huge disappointment. We had two very hard singles pushed together which meant an uncomfortable nights sleep. The pillows were non-existent. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and i am sorry that your room was not up to the standard that you expected. As you are probably aware we are in the process of essential maintainence and soon hopefully get our old hotel looking grand again. We have done a lot of work in getting the...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We had booked at another hotel,big mistake couldn't get out of there quick enough.Only stayed 1 night.Got receptionist to phone Ballachulish to get us a room,for that day,as we had booked wed/fri there anyway.Really helpful, we were given the same room for the next few days.very comfortable clean room with view over the loch.awesome scenery Breakfast tasty plenty variety to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margarita r
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margarita One hotels loss and we gained from an extra night for you to enjoy the hotel and surrounding area we do look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely area and hotel from all the team at the Ballachulish

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night but the room we had overlooked the loch and in the morning we woke up to a stunning view, the food was excellent served in their lovely restaurant, the buffet breakfast was very nice and well cooked. The staff were very good and very helpful, there is ample parking at the front and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil1953
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil Thank you for you lovely comments and your one night stay was most enjoyable, hope the next time you stay longer and enjoy our beautiful area. Looking forward to welcoming you back from all the team at the Ballachulish

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2015

We arrived at the Ballachulish Hotel at nearly midnight last night, after travelling longer than expected and struggling to find anywhere with a room. They luckily had one double room available, and the night porter could not have been more helpful and accommodating to these two exhausted travellers The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The view this morning was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmarley2015
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PMarley Thank you for taking time to review the hotel as your visit was short, hope the next time you do do stay longer and enjoy our beautiful area in its finest from all the team at the Ballachulish

678 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (444)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (127)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (161)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Feature Double Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Signature Feature Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
3.4 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
293 reviews
0.4 km away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
522 reviews
3.9 km away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
820 reviews
2.6 km away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Price Range: €64 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, SpeedyBooker.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballachulish Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Ballachulish Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a Loch View room”
 of 5 bubbles 976chrissyc, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the loch view or pay the upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles Buzzlara, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cross the bridge to the Leven Hotel to enjoy a cosy, welcoming bar and great food.”
 of 5 bubbles Barman29, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stayed onfloor 3 to much for us to climb, this a lovely hotel cosy, warm friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles CatherineS95, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check for discounts if booking directly (ie. MCOS 20% discount) Rm. 108 has a huge bed & Jacuzzi! All with a great view of Loch Leven!”
 of 5 bubbles Hainingscot, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5