We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gairloch Hotel

Gairloch IV21 2BL Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/21
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (453)
Room & Suite (92)
Dining (25)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 28/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 28/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 5 hotels in Gairloch
Restful, beautiful and brimming with Highland hospitality, the tastefully appointed Gairloch Hotel stands in a superb location. This charming hotel, built in 1872, is just minutes from the beach and boasts stunning views to the Western Isles from the public areas. The hotel has recently had a number of rooms updated to Superior and Premier status for those who wish to match the impressive backdrop with a more luxurious stay. Enjoy dining in the recently refurbished restaurant before settling down to an evening of great entertainment in the Grand Lounge and entertainment room which has also been tastefully updated. The hotel is situated at the centre point of Gairloch Bay, giving wonderful panoramic views out to the Isle of Skye and it lies in a landscape rich in wildlife with unspoilt shores, lochs and mountains.
Read more
Property amenities
Car park
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Bay View
716Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 229
  • 156
  • 82
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Blankety blank wrote a review Jul 2021
Brampton, United Kingdom1 contribution
We booked for 3 nights,on arrival staff were very polite and nice.We paid 348 on check in although the rest of our family paid upon checkout. Room was very outdated and we had damp in the room which caused our wee bit to start caughing.Damp on the walls with windows streaming with water.Sheets and pillows also damp.Wee boys feet were black after running around with no socks/shoes on.Decided to leave after 2nd night and was mentioned to receptionist about the damp in room and told nothing can be done about it.We didn't want to cause a fuss partly due to why we were there in the first place but extremely poor for amount paid.Was mentioned that they needed to inspect and review the room conditions.Staff were great regardless,always very attentative,polite and friendly.Janet (staff member) was exceptional, very kind and was always on hand,our wee boy loved her. Probably worst hotel we've ever been in,staff are definitely a highlight,all were great,hotel is drastically needing updated and refurbed
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Roddy A wrote a review Jul 2021
Arbroath, United Kingdom20 contributions14 helpful votes
The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and with a large bath/shower room. The room also had a sea view which looked over the beach below. The hotel was well set up throughout for the Covid restrictions, social distancing etc with plenty of sanitiser points. We had booked for bed and breakfast which had plenty of hot and cold food too offer. It was predominantly a buffet and was eaten in the large and bright restaurant area. We also had dinner there on 3 of the 4 nights we stayed, again there was plenty of choice with additional chef specials to the main menu each night. Staff were all very efficient which can't be easy during this time with the pandemic. The bar was well stocked although I never ventured away from pints of lager. My partner likes a disaronno and they had that which is not always the case in hotels we've stayed at. So kudos there. The hotel is well situated in Gairloch and would have no hesitation staying there again if we are visiting that area of Scotland.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Thomas Sutherland , General Manager at Gairloch Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Roddy A, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor. Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future. Thank you again Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Gairloch Hotel
Read more
gillian c wrote a review Jul 2021
Motherwell, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 1 night whilst doing NC500. Check in easy, room was very dated and dirty with a smell of dampness in room and corridor (room 7) dated can be expected with an old hotel but not dirty..cobwebs on curtains etc. Dinner was poor and breakfast was average. Only good point is the location which is right across from the beach. Not worth £179 and would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Thomas Sutherland , General Manager at Gairloch Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear gillian c, I was concerned to read that you had several issues with your room that you were allocated. I have reported all the shortfalls to our kitchen, maintenance and housekeeping team who have now rectified the situation and would like to join me in apologizing for these issues.
Read more
Campbell R wrote a review Jul 2021
Billericay, United Kingdom117 contributions23 helpful votes
My mother used to stay in a B&B in Gairloch as a child and wished she had been able to stay in this once 'posh' hotel. Sadly, I did stay here and wished I had been in her old B&B! I couldn't help feeling it was massively overpriced for what it was and is cashing in on the NC500 and post lockdown / staycation trade. The reception is ok, but the room (despite the excellent sea view) was old and tired. The en-suite particularly was old cream floral tiles and an average at best white suite. Bed was ok from what I can recall but like most things it didn't stand out as one of the best. We ate dinner here for convenience but honestly it’s not worth it. Its pub grub at best and the restaurant has a very tired, cheap feel to it. It was reminiscent of a holiday camp rather than a 3* hotel. Breakfast was ok with continental and hot buffet options but again certainly not stand out. So, here’s the crux of my issue. For £150 I expect better. Much better! I got a 5* hotel in Inverness for that money and a superb boutique hotel on the shores of Lock Ness. I'm sure this review will get a generic response about undergoing renovations blah blah blah and other guests being happy blah blah blah and lots of return visitor’s blah blah blah but honestly, I would spend my money elsewhere in the future. There is only so much a decent location can be justified and sadly this hotel isn't it. Go small B&B, go wild camping, go somewhere else but seriously consider if you want to go here. And no, I didn't complain at the time as my issue is purely about cost. I have no real complaint(s), nothing was technically wrong, and no-one could really have improved my stay. It was just too expensive for what it was. Not good enough Gairlock I'm afraid. Simply not good enough.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Thomas Sutherland , General Manager at Gairloch Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear campbell r, I was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing stay.
Read more
Laura E wrote a review Jul 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hotel was a bit tiered and in need of a refurb but it was clean, did the job and was a great location, a sea view room is a must. I wouldn’t bother eating in the hotel, breakfast or dinner, there are plenty nice places nearby. Coat coffee on the harbour has fab breakfasts and enjoyed a nice meal at the old inn. If I was to go back I would try one of the guest houses.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Thomas Sutherland , General Manager at Gairloch Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear LauraE2682, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Gairloch Hotel, I am sorry your expectations at the Gairloch were not met on this occasion. The hotel is at present having some refurbishment work done, However I am surprised by your comments, the hotel regularly gets good reviews on the warmth and friendliness of the building with many guests returning time after time. Thank you again for your comments
Read more
US$60 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsGairloch
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gairloch Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Gairloch Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gairloch Museum (0.4 km), Inverewe Garden (7.8 km), and Shieldaig Falconry (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gairloch Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Gairloch Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gairloch Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gairloch Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bridge Cottage Cafe, Coast Coffee Company, and The Barn Cafe.
Is Gairloch Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Gairloch.
Does Gairloch Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.