We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 1 hotels in East Witton

The Blue Lion

471 reviews
Save
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“courtyard room”(23 reviews)
“the pub”(44 reviews)
“main building”(21 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Pets Allowed
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (471)Write a Review
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
233
134
69
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
233
134
69
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roomthe pubmain buildingpork bellysmoked haddockwhite company toiletrieslog fireextensive menuopen firesribeye steakfor sunday lunchcosy bartwo coursesyorkshire dalesmain barpuddingsuperior room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband, daughter son in law and I spent New Year’s Eve at the Blue Lion. On checking in we thought we had made a good choice, nice rooms, lovely dinner and we all thought seeing in the New Year would be perfect here.... how...More

Thank dawn2810
Reviewed 1 week ago

They were amazing to fit us in even though they were fully booked, we had somewhere cancel on us. The tables were beautifully decorated and had a nice Christmas feel, this was our 1st Christmas together away from the family. The menu was great with...More

Thank Sharmin_Haque86
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I live fairly locally and have eaten here many times but never reviewed before. We wanted somewhere to relax after the manic Christmas period. Menu , wine list and ambience were superb. If you want Yorkshire country food taken to the next level then this...More

Thank AlWhite123
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely old pub/hotel tucked away in a little village. The pub was beautifully warm when we arrived with log fires burning in all the main rooms. We had a lovely little bedroom which was warm, comfortable and cosy. The menu was varied...More

Thank Denise2955
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just had our Christmas Day Lunch at The Blue Lion and I have to say that it was superb. The menu choice was good, the food was fantastic , the staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was great. It was also my...More

1  Thank Val G
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345694
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$66 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$66 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (1)
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Bathroom (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lovefoodhaterude
12 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Helen S | Reviewed this property |
There were dogs in there when we went!
1
Vote
Peter h
2 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AABUK | Reviewed this property |
The dining room looked wheelchair accessible but not sure if there is an accessible toilet.
0
Votes
benedicite
21 July 2015|
Answer
Response from hk20 | Property representative |
Yes, we have a large car park at the back of the building.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We did not stay in the hotel, however, we ate there"
Read review
"Dog friendly rooms in courtyard"
Read review
"This is an old coachng inn, so accessibility may be an issue. Check before you book."
Read review
"Cheaper rooms seem to be smaller but none are pokey."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite