We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Saffron Hotel

Hotels.comUS$97*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$100*
US$97*
US$100*
US$97*
US$100*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Saffron Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of The Saffron Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Standard of service was excellent, buffet was first class made our wedding reception a fantastic event. Staff very helpful. Function room looked amazing. Did exactly what we wanted and made everything run smoothly.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Dennis P
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place looks really nice. This is the only good thing i can say. The beds creek, the pillows are as hard as a bag of sand, the sheets don't fit and the food was less than avrage. But I could have overlooked all of this if the staff were at least compident. They weren't. Every singly member of staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rory C
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rory, We are disappointment to hear you were not happy with your stay and feel compelled to respond to the some of your comments made within the review. Regarding the meal, with respect, everything was arranged with the lady who made the booking. The lady gave us a pre- order, but not the names and only the quantities of...

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Old hotel, you hear everything from the neighbours and the corridor, quite dirty. Thhe food was average. There is no doubt I will not come back. It is interesting i still remember the place after so many months..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TDEPL
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you feel that the hotel is not up to the standard you expected. The hotel is old but there have been some extensive changes and still on going. We do not agree that the hotel is dirty we have regular cleaners coming in everyday and they always try to give there 100 percent every day to help...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

They were doing an offer of £8.95 on a Friday for fish &chips and a drink had my doubts that they could serve a good meal and a drink for that' price,answer they can fish was excellent as was the service,as per the title there wasn't many people so lack atmosphere hopefully this will be turned round with this review

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank derek g
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the fish Friday is back by popular demand and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon. Regards.

essex
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Have not stayed in hotel as live locally but have used restaurant on 3 occassions, Christmas, Valentines Day, and most recently Saturday family lunch. Christmas lunch was very good with high level of staffing. Valentine's far less so with far fewer staff unable to grasp how a table should be laid, palming off a wine different to that ordered from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EssexCritic
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly i would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed on this occasion. We work very hard to offer good food and friendly service and I am sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. Our chefs take great pride in providing great quality dishes time and again...

Southborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

My company hired a conference room for a day with lunch. It is a very comfortable venue, I am tempted to stay their with my wife for a couple of nights so we can explore the area. It was better than average, but we did not try enough of the facilities to give it a higher mark. Lunch was sandwiches,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnwpf
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Feel free to book with us again and explore the area, Saffron Walden is a great place to explore so we hopefully get to see you back soon again and maybe try something more adventurous from our great menu selection. Kind Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

My partner and I are planning our wedding for June 2017, and we decided to ‘try before we buy' the local to hotels in and around Saffron Walden. We needed somewhere that was good value for money, without compromising on quality. We thought that following a one-night stay, that it was worth a review on here. The hotel is right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon S
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to your taste. We hope to see you again in the future and good luck with the wedding planning we hope you have a fantastic day! kind regards

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

My wife and I have now eaten lunch at this town centre hotel on four occasions over the last few months. Each time we have been greatly impressed by a) the helpfulness of all the staff b) their efficiency c) the considerable variety of choice on the prix fixe menu d) how much that menu alters each time we attend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrewjameswarren
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and your very lovely comments. Our aim is to provide the best possible service in all areas to guarantee that your stay can be a memorable one. Our menus have all the popular dishes but we also like to give plenty of variety in terms of choice and daily specials. Hope to see you...

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Tired rooms, helpful staff, restaurant / bar food excellent very limited parking, OK for one or two days only. Value for money no but inline with similar accommodation in area, spoilt by US and Asian hotel facilities and cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jesapj
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Not the greatest place I've ever stayed in.Certainly not the worst.Miniscule availability for car parking.Rooms in desperate need of sprucing up.Staff very friendly though and it's right in the middle of town.Breakfast was ok.No frills but served a purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anselmo4217

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saffron Walden
5.3 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
168 reviews
9.0 km away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
242 reviews
10.5 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
301 reviews
10.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
2.3 km away
Queens Head Inn
Queens Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Littlebury
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Saffron Walden takes the second parts of its name from the threatening fortification of Walden Castle, erected by the Normans after the Conquest, and the first from the rare and precious saffron crocus, for which the town became famous, used in medicine, cooking and as the source of a rich yellow dye. The hotel has 16 en-suite bedrooms (all 100% non smoking) which all have tea/coffee and ironing facilities. The hotel also has a paneled Restaurant and Lounge/Bar area. We also cater for functions including parties and weddings in our Saffron Suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Saffron Hotel

Address: 8-12 High Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden
Price Range: €75 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saffron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Saffron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffron Hotel Walden
The Saffron Hotel Saffron Walden, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Saffron Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.”
roryc784, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room could do with renovation/upgrade.”
jesapj, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can only comment on room 16 which was clean, compact and comfortable.”
Orianapc, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room 21 and this and room 22 are accessed up a steep stair case.”
781trishr, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“for a quiet night rooms 21 or 22”
725alfredc, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$97
PricelineUS$100
Booking.comUS$100
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates