We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Lyme Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Old Lyme Guest House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Old Lyme Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I stayed for one night, with friends, to attend a special birthday party. The room was immaculate, with an en suite, and the location was perfect- very central to everything. The best thing for me was the vegan breakfast- this can often be a big disappointment for me. But I enjoyed a breakfast of vegan sausage, mushrooms, beans and tomatoes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jemimakitten
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Love your review title - thank you for that! I always think vegans can feel a bit "short- changed" when it comes to eating out, so we do try to make an effort so you've got more than just fruit and dry toast for brekkie. Totally take on board the sausage comment, so we'll make sure we offer 2 to...

Cheltenham, Glos., England
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We were here for two nights last week. This is one of the best B & B's we have stayed in and highly recommended! Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Paul and Tracey. Our en-suite room on the second floor was small but comfortable and very clean, not a cobweb in sight. Overlooked the street but very little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hotelsulike
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. I have to admit, Paul is the one in charge of cobwebs - he's ex Royal Navy, so a stickler for cleanliness (and he does the bathrooms too!) Glad you had a lovely time - see you again if ever you return to Lyme. All the best, Tracey and Paul

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Really well situated Bed and Breakfast. We loved the very friendly hosts. Our room was very clean and well equipped with nice views. The breakfasts were brilliant. It felt a special treat to have a freshly made fruit salad every morning. We wanted a quiet hassle-free time away and we definitely had that. Thank you so much for your welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LFish F
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you, ladies, for your very kind review...the fruit salad is the only thing Paul "cooks" so he'll be dead chuffed that you enjoyed it so much!. Thanks again! regards Tracey and Paul

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We enjoyed this B&B very much. It is very very old, so stairways and ceilings are small. The room was very comfortable, with nice amenities. Delicious breakfast and we were well looked after. Parking is up a very steep hill, but so is the whole village!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CSpearing
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. It's true that our building is very old - it dates back to the 1700s when Coombe Street was actually the main road in Lyme and our building was the town's post office - we still have the original posting box in our wall, we're told it's one of the oldest in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in Lyme Regis, Staying at The Old Lyme Guest House We stayed in the familty room on the top floor. The room is light, airy and spacious. Breakfast was excellent. Local produce and plenty of choice. Paul and Tracey were excellent hosts. Will visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard L
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Well, thank-you, Richard - that's what I call efficiency...stayed and reviewed within 3 days! It was a pleasure to have you, and we look forward to seeing you all again on your next trip to Lyme. All the best! Tracey and Paul

Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed at The Old Lyme Guest house for 3 nights at the end of May. We were in the family room (3 of us) and we had a great stay. What's not to like about Lyme Regis, and staying in a friendly guest house with nice hosts and nice guests. Room was perfect size, plenty of room and the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spacecowboy1
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely (and detailed!) review...so pleased you found the family room nice and spacious. We used to sleep 4 in this room, but a couple of years ago decided to reduce it to 3 so now it's really spacious and good for lounging around if you do want to stay in and...

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at the Old Lyme Guest House and it was fantastic. Paul and Tracy were great hosts, very hospitable and friendly. The B&B is a beautiful building (formally the old post office), situated on a quiet street just a few minutes walk from the seafront and the cob and we couldn't recommend it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MJetRJ
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you, and we're so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and your short stay in Lyme. Kind regards Tracey and Paul

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015

We stayed a long weekend at the Old Lyme Guest House - our first visit to Lyme Regis in many a long year. Paul and Tracey are friendly and easy going hosts. Paul is a strong lad too because he carried my bag containing the sink all the way up to Room 5 - I didn't bother to pack you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I'm always pleased when guests arrive with lots of bags... keeps Paul fit !!! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and maybe see you again on your next visit to Lyme - bring as many bags as you like !! :-)

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015

It had been far too long since my husband and I visited Lyme Regis, and wanted to try a B&B a bit closer to the beach during this visit. The Old Lyme Guest House was the perfect choice for us -- close to the amenities of town (check out the offerings at the Marine Theatre) and the beach, but still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aMissElaineous
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Lovely to hear you've discovered the "Old Town" as we call it, and enjoyed an easy level walk to the seafront. Thanks also for giving our little Theatre By The Sea a mention - they'll be really chuffed to hear of your support! Look forward to seeing you again. best...

Llanwrda, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Lovely old building in a quiet location in the old part of Lyme Regis and only a few minutes walk from the sea. Easy to find, the parking permit was very handy and our hosts very helpful. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Shower room was small but that is to be expected in such an old building,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review, Mary. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay - maybe see you on your next fossil-finding trip?! best wishes Tracey and Paul.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
4.9 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
300 reviews
0.4 km away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
407 reviews
2.0 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
129 reviews
0.5 km away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
600 reviews
0.3 km away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 47 in Lyme Regis
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AA "Highly Commended" winner of Gold Star award for 5 consecutive years. 200 Yards LEVEL walk to the sea, restaurants and shops from our front door, in the "Old Town" area of Lyme Regis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Lyme Guest House

Address: 29 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Price Range: €92 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Old Lyme Hotel
Old Lyme Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Lyme Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Lyme Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bathroom for Room 5 on the top floor has a bathtub - very nice!”
 of 5 bubbles corydalis, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 3 and 5 are superb.”
 of 5 bubbles JANEEpsom, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I've stayed in a few of the rooms and each one was comfortable and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccamm2015, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Book Early!”
 of 5 bubbles RachelM98, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We have stayed in room 1,3 & 5. 5 is great if you like a bath”
 of 5 bubbles 658dees, 11 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5