We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thomas Paine Hotel

Save
Traveller (92)
Dining (26)
Room & Suite (20)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good16%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“afternoon tea”(29 reviews)
“charity night”(5 reviews)
“wonderful hotel”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
329
76
41
13
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
329
76
41
13
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacharity nightwonderful hotelwater pressurespacious roomsconesgood sizecooked to perfectionsunday lunchstayed here for one nighttwo night staypleasant staywedding receptionfood was lovelyexcellent staystaff were lovelylog fire
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 478 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

This hotel is the worst we have stayed in for a very long time. On arrival we were asked to pay £50 as a security deposit on top of the room rate. If you do this by credit card we were warned that it could...More

Thank 509mrsp
Response from Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine HotelResponded yesterday

This whole review is based on the fact that we asked you for a pre authorisation which you didn’t like. We will not let anyone stay with this as we have been caught out before and this is also for the security of the customer...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a one night stay in The Thomas Paine hotel in Thetford. This mid week stay was a budget price. The hotel has private parking and was easy to find using the postcode. The check in was easy and the staff friendly. The room...More

1  Thank StewG2013
Response from Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your kind comments much appreciated, if we do not have anyone in the bar for over an hour at that time of night we close at 10pm as per the breakfast our gas is connected to our extraction and will not work without...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We attended a most fantastic charity evening and it was one of the best nights out we have has for a long time. Food was awesome and chicken dish a delight so moist with a tasty mushroom sauce. What a wonderfully planned event with a...More

Thank lindilou8741
Response from Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

So happy to have your wonderful comments, having all our regular customers attend these functions is always a plus to all. Our menu on the night was welcomed by all and happy that you also enjoyed it. The two excellent stars were a plus to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Joined Gez and his team at his EACH charity night. Had a fantastic 3 course meal with great service. The entertainment on the evening was also very enjoyable with a great atmosphere. Another brilliant event at the Thomas Paine, looking forward to the next one.

Thank Andyoliver2408
Response from Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Always nice when you visiti us and supporting us on these occasions , we are very proud of your presence and as always another fantastic night was had by all. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Back in town, and it's always nice to see a friendly face. Plenty of car parking and close to town Centre. The walk into town area is just 5mins, but very convenient for business meetings. They had a charity event, which I was pleased to...More

Thank Mike a
Response from Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Excellent night was had by all and it’s so nice to hear your kind comments. We are always striving to get better and better with our standard and we are happy that you enjoyed our experience. Looking forward to looking after you again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Room Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$99 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$99 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (92)
Dining (26)
Room & Suite (20)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SIGNOS04
20 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jazzygez | Property representative |
Good evening there is plenty of parking for hotel guests no problem
0
Votes
williawebb
3 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jazzygez | Property representative |
Hi sir Sunday lunch is £9.95 one course £12.95 two course and £14.95 three course hope that helps let us know if you would like to book a table also this Sunday we have a singer too at no extra cost.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don't bother - you are unlikely to get what you book."
Read review
"Ask for room with seating area"
Read review
"WE did not stay in the hotel so not applicable to us."
Read review
"Excellent for parking"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing