We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Seaton Lane Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Seaton Lane Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 239: English reviews
Start your review of The Seaton Lane Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Won a free meal via a charity event for me and my wife to use at the seaton lane inn, decided to use on Mother's Day Nice bar/restaurant , lovely food with good variety and friendly staff Will definitely return as a paying customer soon Thanks again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karl W
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for one night during a swing through the NE - the location was just off the main road with easy access and parking. The staff were extremely friendly - reception, restaurant and the cleaning team. Everything looked recently refurbished, but it's actually been several years, so very well maintained! Biggest reason for only 4 out of 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anchmer
Sunderland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were booked for a meal to celebrate my dads 60th birthday on Saturday and had a fab time. The staff were very friendly and accommodating for our party who ranged from my 80year old grandad to my 18month old niece. The children were made to feel comfortable. The service was attentive and quick. The food was beautiful and everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review! So pleased you came to celebrate such a special day with us and enjoyed our food! We do hope to see you all again soon!

Seaham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to share our experience of Seaton lane inn.....The venue was just what we were looking for and we were not wrong with the choice for our wedding reception & weekend stay. Paul and his entire team should be very proud of the facilities & offering....they delivered in every aspect on what we wanted & asked for to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamwagstaff11
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind words. Really appreciate the 5 stars, we do take great pride in our services and aim for the highest standard in every area. We do hope to see you again soon!

Portsmouth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our third visit since December and we would not stay anywhere else , stayed for 3 days 2 weeks ago ,and returned 4th of march for 4 nights, we've have always been made welcome in the Seaton. We dined on Tuesday night ,the food was again a very high standard, and the service was the same , the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamar2676
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this kind review, so nice to hear from a regular customer! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only found this place by chance. Great base for working in Sunderland. Had an evening meal which consisted of Chicken goujons to start followed by a nicely spiced Thai green chicken curry, rice and poppadoms. Breakfast only this occasion was a half as we weren't very hungry

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jpdolby
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving this lovely review! We do hope to see you again soon.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Went for a drink on Saturday afternoon, not been here before, very nice pub. Sat in lounge area (at back of pub), nice atmosphere, music was good, but spoilt by: (a) the price of a glass of wine - £6.45 is a bit steep, even for a large glass!, and (b) the bar staff watching a gym workout session on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baz1963
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, I have raised this comment with the general manager - the member of the team was off duty at the time waiting for a lift home, we do have a strict no phone usage whist at work - all of our staff have brilliant training and are aware of what the rules...

Reviewed 16 February 2017

Been visiting this place right from day 1 when it became a hotel. I was the first customer staying in the new rooms. I use the hotel for my Business trips to the North East. For me the location is ideal. Also the setup, having a pub, the lounge and the restaurant gives me all the options I need. Just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wolfgang K
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, it's great hearing from one of our regular's! We will see you in the near future :)

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Went to the restaurant for a business lunch. Good choice of menu and the location was attractively design internally and externally. It was quiet but hey it was Monday. Service was good and so no complaints. I had the Gammon steak and it was cooked fine, however the chips weren't nice at all and tasted like they had been cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Truereds
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear this. We make our own chips and they are usually very popular. Did you tell us at the time that there was an issue with your meal? We'd always far rather know so we can put things right there and then. Come back and give us another try.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We were given some Inn collection vouchers at Christmas so are doing the rounds of their inns. The Seaton lane didn't disappoint. We had chicken risotto and beef chili which were both delicious. Staff very pleasant. Found the inside of the pub very dark compared to the other places we've visited but would go back. Good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave this review, so pleased you had a nice time. Hope to see you again soon!

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
1.0 km away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,259 reviews
6.9 km away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
244 reviews
10.2 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,958 reviews
12.1 km away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
455 reviews
14.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
\Imagine you find your ideal country pub, enjoy a fine meal and a few drinks – why move on? Well, now you don’t have to because the Seaton Lane Inn will provide you with somewhere luxurious to lay your sleepy head – at a price you can afford. The roadside inn has been extended with an 18-bedroom hotel which is attached to the main building and overlooks a paved, outdoor area. It is well sheltered from the prevailing winds and surrounded by colourful plants – including a herb garden. At night, the paved area twinkles with sunken lights and you won’t feel cold – the powerful heat lamps do their job. The hotel’s boutique-style bedrooms have been tastefully furnished by a top quality interior design team, decorated in different styles to a high standard and equipped with plasma TV, WiFi and king-size and super king-size beds. En suite shower rooms are of a high standard and hair dryers and tea and coffee making facilities are provided. There is also luxury, ground floor accommodation for disabled guests. Door entry is by card key and guests can take their choice of visiting other North East attractions – or spend a relaxing evening enjoying the culinary delights and friendly atmosphere of the Seaton Lane Inn’s restaurant, lounge and bar. Comfort, pleasant surroundings and a choice of locally sourced food and drinks to tempt the most discerning of palates – what more could you desire? For a start, you may be looking for an ideal base to savour the best of all the North East of England has to offer. That place is the newly extended and tastefully renovated Seaton Lane Inn boutique hotel. Situated by a country road through a village, it is only a few hundred yards from the A19 – making is less than 30 minutes to Newcastle upon Tyne and equally convenient for Durham City. Sunderland is just minutes away. The Seaton Lane Inn has come a long way from its early incarnation as a blacksmith’s forge; it now incorporates a stylish lounge/dining area, traditional bar and a new two-story hotel attached to the original building. The pub/hotel is run by owners who head a talented team. Their purpose is to make your stay at the Seaton Lane Inn a memorable one – for all the right reasons. These include the friendliness of the staff, the affable type of clientele you meet in a country inn, a tempting and varied menu (try the seafood) and wide range of beers, including excellent cask conditioned ales served from the hand pump, wines and spirits. You can relax in the comfort of the lounge, which has Sky TV, or join the regulars in the adjacent bar. The new hotel has 18 en suite double rooms which are tastefully furnished and have all modern conveniences including TV and radio, wireless internet access, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Seaton Lane Inn

Address: Seaton Lane, Seaham SR7 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Price Range: €84 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seaton Lane Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Seaton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seaton Lane Hotel Seaham
The Seaton Lane Inn Seaham, Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Seaton Lane Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Billingham
3 months ago
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Seaton Lane Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We usually have room 1 , but we're allocated room 3 which we've been in before, there is only the noise of guests returning .”
 of 5 bubbles Tamar2676, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sunday lunch only, didn't stay”
 of 5 bubbles VivE187, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms I have stayed in have been equally good”
 of 5 bubbles rachelwD9398BR, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Car park side may be quieter as shielded from A19 but only a hum in the background”
 of 5 bubbles 612jonathan, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“easy to fine, just off the A19”
 of 5 bubbles Lenderson, 29 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5