We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle de Miguel Marquez 43, 29640 Fuengirola Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Barcelo.com
US$110
View deal
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
US$99
View deal
Hotels.comUS$99
PricelineUS$109
Travelocity
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (434)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (75)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 38 hotels in Fuengirola
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
WELCOME TO OCCIDENTAL FUENGIROLA. Situated just 25 minutes away from Malaga Airport in the heart of the Costa del Sol. The establishment is on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea, next to the beach promenade and near the town's commercial centre. The centre of Fuengirola is just 500 meters away. Our rooms are bright and spacious, and the majority offer fantastic sea views. Our location offers you 320 days of sun a year and all of the attractions of the Costa del Sol are within reach, including 52 golf courses, several marinas, a range of beaches and Andalusia's historic cities. Room features: balcony, sea views, TV with satellite channels, telephone, safety deposit box, air conditioning/heating, desk, shower, bathtub, hair dryer, free toiletries, mini-bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Coffee shop
Beach
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more
900Reviews110Q+A36Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 526
  • 238
  • 90
  • 28
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Liz4047 wrote a review 5 Feb
County Durham, United Kingdom10 contributions22 helpful votes
Nice hotel but…….. We paid £500 for 4 of us for 11 nights here from 30 Aug 2022. Our overall reaction was that the hotel seemed under-staffed in all areas. We chose this hotel as l have mobility issues & it was situated right on the beach front. We travelled with our 2 young adult children & our rooms were very nice- the usual white with a walk-in shower - no coffee making facilities which are an additional payment along with the safe( on top of £5k😳) Unfortunately our room had a direct view of the new apartment block being built right next door. The hotel was full so no other rooms were available & we were told the noise would be minimal from 9-5. The work actually went on from 7-7pm with hammering, banging, lorries dropping off materials, a huge crane trumpeting every time it was. Ring used , so much that we couldn’t hear each other speak when we were on the balcony. The hotels response was that they had informed our travel agent & the noise was out of their control, but we HAD NOT been informed by anyone before we left the UK. If we’d been given details we would have changed hotel & resort. Because of having unpacked, my disability & time to re-pack etc l couldn’t face another move so we tried to make the best of it. The pool area is not quite big enough for the number of guests, hence we used to watch the queue begin before the pool opened at 10am. There were a few ‘wedding parties’ at the hotel who were loud & boisterous & they took over the pool & l noticed several people with young children getting out because of the noise & swearing. The pool/ bar area is lovely for relaxing but the queue to get a drink is ridiculous- we used to split up to try to save time . The restaurant had a lovely we of building work going on at the next building. We love to try new food & love Spanish cuisine but a lot of the food was lukewarm & not a great range for a Barcelo hotel. A lot of guests seemed to eat elsewhere as the restaurant was never full but we still had to wait some time for drinks - not the individual’s problem but understaffing by the management. We spent most of our time at the beach area because of the noise & it is a lovely beach with lots of beds with cushions. Other members of my family were in Fuengirola in Oct/Nov & the building work was continuing & regardless of the management saying you could moved rooms you can still hear the building work in all sections of the hotel . Overall, disappointed & not listened to by hotel management
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Liz, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are very sorry that your experience was not entirely satisfactory and we have taken your feedback to be reviewed. We are happy to know you found our hotel to be in a convenient location during your visit to Fuengirola . Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Herbys123 wrote a review 3 Feb
Cannock, United Kingdom66 contributions16 helpful votes
The Hotel was on the quieter end of Fuengirola,Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was different but there was always something tasty to eat. We upgraded a Junior Suite as it faced the sea and had best view of the early morning sunrise. The hotel suited us very well as it gave us a good walk if we went to the centre, or the other way towards the Castle to visit the Miramar shopping mall and a little further to Dunnes a pleasant small department store with a nice Cafe with lovely staff. From the Mall you can get the L1 free bus (also picked up two streets back from the main Hotel Entrance) that travels along through Fuengirola to the start of Benalmaderna. there are 5 free buses going various ways. nice for a general look around the area. It seemed to be a pilot scheme which may incur a charge at a later date.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and found our location ideal for your needs. Your positive feedback is rewarding for our team who strive to maintain the high standards we set ourselves and endeavour to give all our guests a memorable experience. Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suejo wrote a review Jan 2023
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom32 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here for 7 nights arriving 28th december Quick checkin good information given .Room was lovely side sea view from our balcony on the ninth floor very clean great shower daily house keeping towels changed daily Webooked bed and breakfast which was good.Location was good for bars and resturaunts.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Susan, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay, our team works hard to ensure that every guest has the very best experience and your positive feedback inspires us to continue with our efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Fátima Marin Deputy Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
achmed2023 wrote a review Jan 2023
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution
Service is good Rooms are clean View is amazing if you sleeping high Breakfast is very very delicious You can ask them about Anything Always football tho Watch so that’s amazing Only restaurant is very poor
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Achmed, Thank you for sharing your experience. We were sorry to learn of your disappointment with your dining experience; at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience and, therefore, would be interested in learning more about what we could have done to improve this aspect of our services. We are, nevertheless, pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the fantastic views our hotel offers. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Fátima Marin Deputy Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
irishgal87 wrote a review Jan 2023
ireland17 contributions
+1
Stayed here after our original hotel closed the day after we were suppose to arrive. This hotel and staff are by far the most amazing we have stayed in. From we arrived we were greeted with such nice hospitality, the hotel itself was beautiful, clean, we had a beautiful room with Seaview and the hotel even left us a bottle of bubbly. The outside areas were clean, pool was lovely, breakfast was beautiful with so much variety. We did eat a pizza from the snack bar and it was beautiful My partner did use the gym and couldn't fault it. There's a supermarket right outside the front gate again it had everything you would need, beach is literally at front of hotel with a lovely stroll into busier areas. Already looking at coming back here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our team always aim to provide a memorable experience and we are also delighted to know that we were able to help you start your day off right with our tasty breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best wishes, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David W wrote a review Jan 2023
Ilkeston, United Kingdom92 contributions134 helpful votes
Fabulous hotel BUT, stayed at this hotel 28th December till 9th January , beautiful clean hotel, great staff, beautiful rooms, you could not fault, over the years we have stayed in many Barcelo hotels and been satisfied, but we was let down by the evening meals the standard of food was cold, cheapest cuts of meats we mainly fed on soup and bread, the standard was NOT good enough for a Barcelo. The breakfast was great never had problem plenty of choice, and on New Years Eve it was the Gala Dinner, it was awful, cold cheap cuts of meats, very poor selection no party hats or anything, for the guests, water and wine served by waiters plenty water very little wine i must say absolutely no entertainment for the celebration could not believe it this is not only me that have said this a lot of people were saying it even the Spanish guests. I would suggest if you go to this hotel just go Bed and Breakfast. The next complaint is we have never ever been in a hotel that had not got tea making facilities in the rooms that is in nearly 50 years of going on holiday abroad, we payed a lot of money for this holiday and for Barcelo wanting 4 euros a night to have tea making facilities in the room and 3 euros a night for a safe that would work out another 100 euros on top of what you have already paid, it is scandalous that Barcelo have started this money grabbing gimmick, it has made my decision never to go into a Barcelo hotel again it is just prophet before people, money grabbing. I suggest the Manager of the hotel takes my comments to his senior bosses, and takes this into account, it is utter greed, such a great hotel spoilt by greed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you book this hotel do not go evening meals or you will be disappointed
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear David, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that your dining experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Our Executive Chefs follow a two-week menu rotation that includes a wide range of both local and international delicacies to cater to all dietary requirements and please the most demanding palates. We regret that we could not satisfy your preferences and will be addressing your comments with our team. We are also sorry that you felt the category of our hotel that regulates our facilities and services did not match your expectations. We will continue to work towards modifying this perception through our efforts and service-minded spirit. Furthermore, we regret that the amenities included in the room did not meet your needs. With the aim of providing those that are most useful to customers, we based our decision on the items that are most requested by our guests. Nevertheless, additional ones are available upon request. Nonetheless, we thank you for highlighting our high standards; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a top priority for our guests. Our breakfasts represent healthy eating habits that have become a better way to live and when travelling. We strive to provide guests with new experiences by introducing local, natural, organic, plant-based and seasonal products and are pleased it helped start your day off right. Moreover, we are grateful for your approval of the décor that is aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DiToots wrote a review Jan 2023
4 contributions
Very clean hotel,extremely friendly,helpful staff. Comfortable bed,only issue in room was lack of hanging space for clothes. Ideally placed for beach. Room got sun on balcony all afternoon even in December. You have to pay extra for use of safe. Tea/coffee making facilities in room are also available at an extra cost (personally felt this should be included in price of room). This aside would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We were on 8th floor,very quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you appreciated our convenient location and our team's excellent service. Our team are on hand for any extra item you may need, please don't hesitate to let us know of your requirements. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ehalst424772 wrote a review Jan 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution
Only minutes from the centre of town where you can get a train to Malaga Very nice and spacious hotel good breakfast choices overall brilliant stay Half an hour from Marbella and only one minute walk to the beach
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location ideal for your requirements. Furthermore, we are delighted we were able to help start your day off in the right way with our tasty buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best wishes, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andreacesarova wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
We and our best friends spent last 3 days of the year 2022 here and we were all satisfied with the services of the Occidental Fuengirola. We were lucky on the weather therefore we have only positive experiences. The rooms (Junior suite with a seaside view) are spacious, clean, newly furnished, very comfortable beds and lining.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Andrea, Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Fuengirola; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. We are delighted that our location was ideal for your visit and appreciate your kind comments about our team who work hard to ensure that we deliver the best service and always meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CB83 wrote a review Jan 2023
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates23 contributions1 helpful vote
Overall a very comfortable stay. The bed was huge! Loved the rainfall shower head. Lots of space in the room. The wifi wasn’t great in the room, we often had to go to the lobby to get service. Having to pay daily to use the safe was disappointing. Breakfast was hands-down the best breakfast buffet we’ve experienced.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Colleen, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we appreciate your kind words about our team. Your comment regarding the WiFi has been noted. On the other hand, we would like to thank you for complimenting our delicious breakfast. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions. Best regards, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
las piramides hotel fuengirola, fuengirola hotel piramides, piramides hotel fuengirola, piramides fuengirola, las piramides fuengirola, hotel las piramides
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaCosta del SolFuengirola
NUMBER OF ROOMS
316
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCCIDENTAL FUENGIROLA - Now €94 (Was €̶2̶2̶7̶) - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Fuengirola
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Fuengirola?
Nearby attractions include Costa Water Park (0.2 km), Mezquita de Fuengirola (0.10 km), and Tipi Tapa (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Fuengirola?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Fuengirola?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Fuengirola?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Fuengirola?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Fuengirola?
Conveniently located restaurants include The B's Knees, Restaurante Aesgaya, and Lotus Steak & Burger House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Fuengirola?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Fuengirola?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Fuengirola offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Occidental Fuengirola?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Portuguese.