We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mornington House

TripAdvisorUS$163*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$163*
View Deal
in partnership withBooking.com
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mornington House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of Mornington House
 Click to rate
New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is pretty much what you see in the pictures - an old (115+ years) fancy country house deservedly part of the Hidden Ireland group (more info on their own website) where one can easily slip into Downton Abbey mode. Massive high ceilings, grand staircases, extremely well proportioned rooms and halls, dark wood furnishings, buttons on walls for perhaps summoning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djcb1963us
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mornington.

Fishkill, New York
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night before heading to France. Warwick and Ann were lovely, and made us very welcome. The bed was so comfortable, and the room so spacious. Warwick cooked us a great breakfast before we left. It was served in the beautiful dining room. I felt like "Lady of the Manor". Very enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanob55
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your kind review. We hope you enjoyed your stay in France.

Reviewed 23 September 2016

Warwick is a brilliant host & cook. We enjoyed three days in his beautiful historic house its a real gem. The walled garden and yoga building are in a great setting. It is great to get the opportunity to stay in a magnificent house like this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
Maynooth, Ireland
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Six of us stayed recently at Mornington for a family occasion. Warwick and Anne couldn't have been more accommodating hosts, looking after every detail of our visit. The rooms were excellent and extremely clean and our breakfast was cooked to perfection. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ciarancreilly
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Thank you so much for letting us visit your family home. We were welcomed by Warwick and Anna with lovely home made cake and tea. We chose to eat out but diner did smell lovely and great value. When we came back at about ten o'clock all our bed was turned down and our shutters closed which was a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Kivik, Sweden
Reviewed 15 August 2016

It was about 30 years ago when I was looking for a farm to buy in Ireland. Mornington House became my favourit place and many detailed plans I had worked out, but at the end I decided to buy a different place. So far so good instead I / we came there several times after the new owners had turned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karlfsievers
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

Next time you come to Mornington do call in for coffee. The place wasn't sold and indeed it is still owned by the O'Hara family as it has been since 1858.

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately we could only stay here one night, as we were leaving in the early A.M. for our flight home via Dublin. What a beautiful home....full of history. The owner was very kind and attentive. He left me a nice pot of coffee to start my long day of traveling. The location is in a lovely town, with a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megsnspales
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you made the connection with your plane on time.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We are regular visitors to Ireland and found Mornington House in the "hidden Ireland" brochure. We didn't know what to expect after usually staying in hotels. Our fears were soon forgotten when we were warmly greeted by Warwick. Whilst we were unloading the car he was making us afternoon tea and homemade cakes. The room was fabulous with the most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G3867BIkathleenm
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your first experience of staying for bed and breakfast in a private home. Thank you for posting your kind review.

Dublin
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Many of us have had that trip where the experience does not live up to our expectations this was definitely not one of these. The Mornington House experience will not disappoint you. The house built around 1849 and does gracefully show its age this is part of the thrill when staying in this truly wonderful place. We stayed overnight with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon O
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington House. Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review.

Edmonds, Washington
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stayed with Anne and Warwick for two nights in a huge beautiful bedroom. Mornington has been in Warwick's family since the mid 1800's, and the history of the house and the furnishings is fascinating. The gardens and grounds are expansive and were coming into bloom when we were there...beautiful! Dinner was such a treat, Anne is a wonderful cook....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank easygroove
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We were pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here at Mornington. Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
11.2 km away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
592 reviews
5.9 km away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
5 reviews
12.2 km away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
8.0 km away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
96 reviews
11.2 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Mornington House

Address: Multyfarnham, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Price Range: €144 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mornington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Mullingar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mornington House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room was lovely, bright and elegant. En suite was huge.”
djcb1963us, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet ours was huge located on top floor front left.”
147simono, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely but the Master bedroom and the other double room in the main house (on the west side) are particularly nice.”
coolaboola, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had the East Room. It is very large and has a lovely view of rolling lawn, flowers and trees.”
ks53, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“choose a front room”
Cucullus, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$163* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$163
Booking.comUS$163
Agoda.comUS$164
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates