We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Multyfarnham, Mullingar N91 NX92 Ireland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 20 in Mullingar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View
137Reviews2Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 117
  • 18
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
tobymx wrote a review Mar 2020
Ireland4 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed with Anne and Warwick a few years ago (2018, unfortunately I am not a regular TripAdvisor user which explains why only writing a review now!). The O'Hara's provided one of the warmest and most delightful stays I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying. At the time, Dinner was an option at Mornington House, going by more recent reviews, I am not sure if this is still the case. If it is, then I can heartily recommend partaking in it, as well as breakfast as both are excellent meals. The mealtimes are also a wonderful chance to engage further with the lovely hosts and the charming other guests that fin this hidden gem.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Warwick O'Hara, Owner at Mornington House
Responded 12 Jul 2020
Hi tobymx Thank you so much for remembering us from 2018! I am so glad that you had dinner during your stay with us. Unfortunately last year, 2019, was our last year offering dinner to guests. However, we can strongly recommend Weirs Pub & Restaurant in the village of Multyfarnham which is only 3 miles from us. Season 2020 has a very late start, August, for us but we very much look forward to receiving our guests again.
Read more
LIZA O wrote a review Oct 2019
46 contributions7 helpful votes
Warick and Ann are the most welcomeing hosts ever, we had a wonderful stay in their B&B which is full of history and style and has a lovely walled garden just like the castles we saw, the breakfast is delicious and the serounding is beautiful. Most recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
EagleEyeBoston wrote a review Aug 2019
Boston, Massachusetts956 contributions909 helpful votes
This was the last couple days of our couple weeks in Ireland -- and what a way to finish the vacation! Warwick and Anne O'Hara are fabulous hosts, anxious to please, knowledgeable, and fascinating people. We thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with them. Warwick cooks a "mean breakfast", to say the least. And Anne prepares gourmet dinners -- served in the spacious and elegant dining room, after you spend time in the parlor beforehand. Our room on the second floor was very large, with a bathroom the size of many hotel rooms. It was classy -- not modern, but authentic and comfortable. Look our the windows at the donkeys, the grounds, the view towards the river. In back is a beautiful large garden, mainly ornamental but with some materials for dinner. Clearly maintaining this country house is a labor of love for the O'Hara's. Join them for a couple days and you will see why!! This is a great base for exploring the ancient ruins in the east -- the Hill of Tara and Newgrange, for instance. And it is only an hour from Dublin Airport when you eventually have to go home. And, no, it is not a "B&B"! It is a manor house, part of Hidden Ireland. Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Any of the four rooms will be a delight
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Tara MacG wrote a review Aug 2019
London, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
.lAwaits you at Mornington. Warwick and Anne are outstanding hosts, always ready to help in any way to make your stay special. Beautiful surroundings, elegant, comfortable, spacious rooms and the garden is a treat to walk in. Don’t pass on this one if you are staying in Westmeath. The breakfast is excellent (not to mention plentiful) too!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
KA-B-740 wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
A charming manor house, grounds, and walled garden with a long history that is lovingly maintained. Beautiful, comfortable rooms and baths. Breakfast made to order and delicious. Thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with the owners Warwick and Anna. Close to many sites and an hour from Dublin.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
AW51 wrote a review Jul 2019
Columbus, Ohio69 contributions72 helpful votes
This was a perfect place to spend our last night after a week in Ireland. We’d stayed in a primo urban hotel, resort, lodge and castle. This quiet little B&B is way off the beaten path, yet only an hour from the airport in Dublin. Excellent hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House
Responded 12 Jul 2019
We have never been called a little B&B before. But with only four rooms available for guests I guess you are correct.. You are right when you say we are special.We like to think that we treat our guests as the most important people in the house. Thank you for taking time to post your review.
Read more
dinant2016 wrote a review Jun 2019
Haarlem, The Netherlands28 contributions12 helpful votes
We enjoyed staying two nights in Mornington House. Warwick and Anne, the owners, provide genuine hospitality in their house filled with family memorabilia. Pleasant lounge where guests congregate for tea, optional drinks and after dinner tea or coffee. Large dining room where breakfast and optional dinner are served. We enjoyed the large well appointed bedroom and separate bathroom. Walled well tended garden with sitting area. Most enjoyable experience during our two week trip in Ireland.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House
Responded 8 Jun 2019
Thank you for your very kind comments. We appreciate hearing from our guests of their experience at Mornington. Guest's comments keep us on our toes.
Read more
Diplolich wrote a review May 2019
Minneapolis, Minnesota11 contributions2 helpful votes
Wonderful house, terrific food, and great grounds. My wife and I stayed in the smaller back bedroom, very cozy and nice. The hosts, Warrick and Anne, couldn't have been more accommodating or gracious. This is the closest thing I have ever experienced to a real weekend at a country house. We look forward to staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House
Responded 29 May 2019
A belated but sincere thank you for your very kind review. We appreciate guests taking time to comment on their stay at Mornington. Regards, Warwick and Anne O'Hara
Read more
BJDublin wrote a review May 2019
66 contributions82 helpful votes
A very warm welcome awaits you in Mornington House. Warwick and Anne are consummate hosts. We immediately felt at home and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This really is a place to switch off and relax. We borrowed wellies and walked down to the lake through the forest and then wandered around the garden. Warwick and Anne are full of family stories and the history of the house. Anne is a fabulous cook and we enjoyed a delicious meal in a relaxed atmosphere. Warwick's breakfast was superb, made with local produce and freshly laid eggs provided by Mornington's own hens. The accommodation was very comfortable and we slept well in beautifully laundered bed linen. We are looking forward to returning to Mornington House and we would highly recommend a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House
Responded 29 May 2019
Thank you so much for your very generous review. We appreciate guests taking time to tell us of their stay here at Mornington.House. Thank you again. Kind regards, Anne and Warwick
Read more
suesmith2115 wrote a review May 2019
Kentucky2 contributions
We loved our stay at Mornington! Anne and Warwick served up delightful conversation along with a lovely afternoon cup of tea as we arrived. Our room was beautiful, large, clean and had wonderful linens and feather pillows and gave us the best nights sleep we’d had in days! Breakfast was absolutely delicious - not sure why, as it was typical hearty meal with fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs etc., but the best we had on our trip. Before leaving, we wandered the grounds and walled garden - a nostalgic glimpse into another era surrounded by the beautiful fields and walk to the lake. Treat yourself to a stay - charming couple and home!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House
Responded 29 May 2019
We are so pleased that you were able to get to the lake. It is unspoiled. Thank you for your very kind comments. Warwick and Anne
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$145 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mornington hotel mullingar
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty WestmeathMullingar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mornington House
Which popular attractions are close to Mornington House?
Nearby attractions include Tullynally Castle Gardens (7.4 km) and Multyfarnham Friary (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mornington House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mornington House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mornington House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mornington House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Weirs Bar and Restaurant, Cafe N4 You, and Tullynally Castle Tea Rooms.
Are there any historical sites close to Mornington House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Multyfarnham Friary (0.7 km).