We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 566: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Went here for a night with a group of 4 families (inc children). We were well looked after and the staff were very good (especially the bar staff). The hotel was clean, food was good and the swimming pool was perfectly adequate. The hotel itself is in need of a bit of TLC but no complaints

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmunro
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Abbey. Hopefully we will welcome you and your family back in the future. Warm regards, Elaine.

Roscommon
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Went to Abbey Hotel for a bite to eat, with my family and as always it was beautiful, lovely & comfortable and great staff, i had the traditional fish & chips & it was just gorgeous, will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharronf044
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review the Abbey Hotel. We are delighted you and your family enjoy the hotel. Yes, the fish and chips is a very good choice. see you soon again. Warm regards, Elaine.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

We have been staying at the Abbey annually since we had our wedding reception 9 years ago. We have always enjoyed our stay as a couple and as a family. You can not beat the selection at breakfast, the staff are always friendly and accommodating and we always have a swim during our stay. We have had food from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary s
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you and your family had a really enjoyable stay with us. I will pass your fantastic comments to our Head Chef and his team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again next year. Warm regards, Elaine.

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015

From arrival to departure this was a very pleasant experience. The hotel was clean and comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. Really enjoyed using the leisure facilities and restaurant. Thoroughly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Abbey Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Warm regards, Elaine.

Bray, Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 21 October 2015

With my wife I stayed in the Abbey Hotel, from Saturday 17th October to Monday 19th. Check in was seamless, and the room and bathroom were larger that usual. It had tea/coffee making facilities, and a safe, and was very comfortable and clean. However we intended to have a dinner but found the bar menu limited and expensive. Naturally we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Abbey Hotel. It is a pity you did not dine with us as our food is fantastic. We are launching a new bar food menu in the coming weeks which will have options for everyone. Perhaps if you are back in the...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

My wife and I stayed at The Abbey on a Sunday night at the start of October. From arrival l could see that it was very busy for Sunday lunch always a good sign. The staff were so friendly and helpful from Reception to the dining room and bar. This was the best evening meal l have had for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kieran M
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kieran Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I will pass your kind words to the team hear at the Abbey Hotel. Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Elaine.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Stayed here for one night with the hubby. I must say we really enjoyed our stay. The entrance has a wow factor. Inside had an old world charm. The check in was a breeze and staff were so nice. Room was huge and had a bottle of bubbly and chocolates waiting for us. Had lovely shower gel and shampoo and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank prendep2016
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us at the Abbey Hotel. We are delighted you had a nice stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Elaine.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Lovely family run (for several generations) hotel - which really shows. I've seen trip advisor reviews with photo of chipped paintwork or missing wash hand basin plugs. Get over yourselves! The hotel is not corporate style part of a global chain - which is exactly why I like it. Sure there's a bit of chipped paint here and there -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HelenPostma
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Helen, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!! Regards Tom Grealy

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Stayed in the Abbey Hotel last weekend for 2 nights & will most certainly be back, Would go back in the morning if I could, from reception to the bar to the kitchen to accommodation & customer service 5stars all around. Beautiful, cosy & relaxing room & housekeeping was top class, as an x accommodation manager I am very particular...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orlak8585
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Orla We are delighted you had a lovely time at the Abbey Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to forward your kind words and comments which I will pass our Staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Abbey Hotel for another fantastic stay. Warmest regards, Elaine.

County Laois, Ireland
Reviewed 22 September 2015

very disappointed with this hotel had booked for a 3 night stay but left. the room we were shown was very very dark furniture needs to be replace and bed spread should be discarded. when I asked if all rooms were the same I was told yes by the receptionist.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank skinsmulhall
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear imully, We are sorry that our facilities did not meet with your expectations. We are constantly reviewing our service to see where we can improve, and we will take your comments into account. In this light we would be grateful if you could contact us here at sales@abbeyhotel.ie so that we can get a fuller picture of your experience....

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.8 km away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
201 reviews
22.1 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,896 reviews
28.2 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
205 reviews
22.4 km away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
25.6 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Price Range: €76 - €213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Tuam, Ireland
over a year ago
Dublin,Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room was lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles doveandhawk, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not stay in room 49”
 of 5 bubbles jill433, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The older part of the hotel might not be so easy if you are disabled but the newer wing is fine, with a lift. The rooms facing the old ruined Abbey are usually quieter if there is a wedding.”
 of 5 bubbles Aldebertsue, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we had room67”
 of 5 bubbles cathy705, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Generally I bring my own wash cloth when staying at Irish hotels.”
 of 5 bubbles ladydygroutcolor, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5