We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Galway Road, Roscommon F42 F992 Ireland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$130
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$130
TravelocityUS$130
FindHotelUS$131
Trip.comUS$131
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (234)
Dining (116)
Videos (13)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 29/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Abbey Hotel
Updated 29/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Roscommon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds. The Hotel boasts 51 beautifully appointed bedrooms, a pool and leisure centre, and were regional winners of the Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Chef & Best Hotel Restaurant in 2019. The were also voted by Tripadvisor in the 2020 Travellers Choice Award. (Top 10% hotels worldwide) Centrally located in the heart of the Irish Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus. (Train station across the road.)Those travelling on Business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day and is a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. Grealy’s 4* Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey Hotel is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon"
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
Car park
Wifi
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Separate dining area
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
1008Reviews8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 466
  • 278
  • 142
  • 72
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kenneth B wrote a review Yesterday
15 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed here recently what a place clean well laid out rooms excellent leasure centre and food ,pleasant friendly staff Christina and Laura in particular helped with a small problem but resolved it very professionally thanks girls , had a little wait for the food to arrive but it was very busy so I'd forgive that . I would highly recommend this hotel I'd describe it as one of Ireland hidden gems will without a doubt be back the kids loved it too thanks to all the staff at the Abbey for a pleasant stay keep up the good work
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
annmk wrote a review Jan 2022
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Had a wonderful stay at the Abbey Hotel over Christmas, the nights of the 27th and 28th. What can I say… the staff were so helpful. Couldn’t have been kinder to myself and the group I was with. From the moment we went into the hotel to checkin we were greeted with the greatest of kindness, all Covid certs checked straight away which put me at ease for the remainder of the stay. You can see how much work the team at the Abbey have put in to ensuring the safety of their customers. All tables were spaced out perfectly, the staff were on hand to ensure everything ran smoothly. The team at the abbey should be truly proud of the building itself, from the rooms to the dining areas, their staff for the excellent customer service and making us all feel so welcome and safe. Thank you all for a wonderful stay and looking forward to coming back soon! More than likely for the delicious looking Afternoon Tea!! Happy New Year to you all. A!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Geraldine Grealy, Marketing at Abbey Hotel
Responded 7 Feb 2022
Dear Ann Many thanks for your feedback. It's always so nice to hear positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Abbey soon again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MsFlossy wrote a review 14 Aug
Ireland364 contributions153 helpful votes
Our hotel stay was a disappointment from beginning to end, made only worse by the disrespectful response from Geraldine and Adrian (owners and managers). The booking process should have been the red flag, taking nearly two weeks. As our dates were over a year in advance, we couldn’t book online. I sent two emails and left several phone voicemails directly with the Abbey before I received a reply and a booking email confirmation. Normally I would have gone elsewhere but we were attending a wedding with the reception held at the Abbey. I called in advance to reconfirm our booking, and were assured everything was ok. On arrival the receptionist refused to believe we had a booking, informing us if I had made a booking she would be able to find it in the computer, and we must be in the wrong hotel. We presented the emailed confirmation from the Abbey reservations team but she continued to make us feel unwelcome and uncomfortable. The supervisor was more reassuring and found us a room, blaming a ‘computer glitch’. Unfortunately this reassurance disappeared when we entered the room. It was scruffy and dated with scratched furniture, bent stained lamp shades, a TV that couldn’t be viewed from the bed with an intermittent picture, and the air conditioning didn’t work. The bathroom was no better with chipped vanity and a toilet paper dispenser that belongs in a fast food restaurant, not a 4* hotel. The website had promised a recent refurbishment offering classic luxury, with old world charm or contemporary design, but we saw neither charm nor luxury. It looked like it hadn’t been maintained since the 1980s, let alone recently refurbished. We tried calling the Front Desk to complain about the standard of the room and the faulty air conditioning. Calls were forwarded to voicemail, and calls to Reservations were also sent to voicemail. The IVR just sent us in circles. We returned to the front desk, where the same unpleasant receptionist glared at us and the porter was dismissive, shrugging his shoulders and saying ‘These things happen’. We asked that the air conditioning be fixed, and the porter visited our room to tell us he could offer a pedestal fan. We returned to Front Desk and asked to be moved to a new room but the receptionist refused, saying ‘We’re wedged’. The message conveyed by the porter and receptionist’s attitudes was *we* (the guests) should be grateful for being granted the ‘honour’ of paying €190/night to stay in a shabby, badly maintained room. A second attempt by the porter got the air conditioning working but we were left feeling that *we* were the problem instead of the poor standard of accommodation. We also subsequently discovered many of the room sockets didn’t work, causing difficulties while charging phones, using the hair dryer and the iron, etc. The buffet selection at breakfast was fine, with fry options, juices, fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, and mini pastries. The jams and yoghurts are bulk service (large bowls, you spoon out your portion). There was no continental selection Eg cheeses or meats. The lack of welcome extended to the breakfast as the young waitress (long dark hair) couldn’t raise a smile, and put the tea pot down heavily almost toppling the pot onto his lap. At 12:50pm on the Saturday, we were called by the supervisor Sam asking when we would be checking out; I reminded her it was a two night stay, so the following day. She then said she meant were we staying on the Sunday evening. It felt very fumbled and we believe they still couldn’t find our booking in their computer system. On our return to the hotel, our key cards had been deactivated. We were not the only ones as the occupants of two other rooms were also left standing in the corridor unable to access their rooms. Reception said our cards stopped was because the key cards had been stored near our phones which is incorrect. One of the housekeeping staff told us we were due to check out after 1 night, and that’s probably why our cards had been deactivated. The second morning we were woken just before 9am by the fire alarm, which went on for 20 minutes. It was a false alarm but we still had to get dressed and go to the Front Desk to learn this. So much for a sleep in. At check out, not only was there no enquiry if we had enjoyed our stay or apology for the issues we had experienced, but we were also informed our bill was now higher than expected. When queried, we were told we had been charged a higher room rate than the booking confirmation. At this stage, we felt speaking with the manager would be appropriate but was told no one was available. We again showed the booking confirmation but the receptionist didn’t apologise, just pursed her lips with disapproval. When I asked for an email address for the manager, I was given the general info email address as the manager’s email ‘isn’t for guests’. We contacted the Abbey by email and phone, and despite Geraldine responding that compensation would be made, a month later there is no further reply. Unfortunately there is very little to compliment about the Abbey Hotel, and I couldn’t recommend it to anyone unless you want to annoy an enemy. It may charge 4* prices but it certainly doesn’t deliver 4* service or 4* accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David O wrote a review Jul 2022
Dundalk, Ireland29 contributions47 helpful votes
This hotel is in a perfect location. Our room was clean, spacious and well equipped. Buffet breakfast was very tasty and choices plentiful. All the staff throughout the hotel we found to be friendly and attentive. Would highly recommend and stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
N C D wrote a review Jun 2022
Milford, Ireland3 contributions4 helpful votes
1. Stayed here for 2 nights - 2 adults and 2 children under 10. Fire alarm went off just after midnight on 1st night of stay. Guests moved themselves outside to the pouring rain with no contact whatsoever from any hotel staff. Despite the smell of smoke inside reception staff member insisted that it was a false alarm and said guests could return. Staff member on reception frantically tried to get alarm reset (probably wouldn’t reset as there was a fire). Guests spotted fire in laundry room and called fire brigade who arrived, presumably extinguished fire and then left. Guests then felt safe to return. However alarm kept going off for a while. Very unsettling especially with young children. Despite this calamity there was no mention of the incident nor apology to guests. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND CONCERNING TO BE TOLD THAT IT WAS A FALSE ALARM WHEN IT WAS NOT. 2. No one available to welcome guests to breakfast and had to go searching in bar for staff member. 3. Burnt toast presented and when unburnt toast was requested was told that’s how it came out of the machine. 4. Receptionists were non-engaging and on check out didn’t even ask how was the stay? 5. Pool was fine. Overall a very poor experience from a customer service point of view and certainly not a 4 star experience. However, should point out that one of the (older) bar staff on duty Monday 26th June was friendly and engaging so full credit to him.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Geraldine Grealy, Marketing at Abbey Hotel
Responded 2 Jul 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that your stay was far below our normal guest experience. We appreciate how distressing it must have been for you and your family to have been woken at such an early hour. I am following up with the relevant personnel as to why you may have been advised to leave the building as other guests were permitted to wait in the lobby and went to their rooms once reception got the all clear. I am sorry that this information did not filter through to you in the car park . I am surprised that you smelled smoke at reception as the smoke was at the opposite end of the building but I will address this with the staff on duty also. Thankfully, the actual issue that caused the alarms to ring was resolved by the time the fire service arrived and the all clear was given by the deputy fire fighter. Again, I understand that this highly unusual incident was disconcerting and thankfully is a rare occurrence. It is truly disappointing that your service experience at breakfast was not a positive one. As you can read from other reviews, this is far from the normal Abbey Hotel standards. I do know that unfortunately the dial on the toaster has previously been inadvertently turned to high by guests and am assuming this was unfortunately the case. Thank you for your lovely comment regarding Richard. We pride ourselves on our customer focussed service standards and will address the areas highlighted with our management team. In the interim, can you please advise your contact details by email to frontdesk@abbeyhotel.ie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sparki wrote a review Jun 2022
Western Ireland, Ireland3 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I joined a group of family and friends for a wedding at the hotel this week. The level of service is excellent, the staff are all really friendly and helpful. Food at the wedding was lovely and all the service was excellent. We used the lovely leisure facilities and they were great. It’s nice to have daylight on the pool. Room was great it was a good size(there were two single beds alongside the king size.) Breakfast was a delight full Irish and the healthy options too! Beautifully cooked, presented buffet style and freshly topped up regularly. Coffee was fresh and tasted great. Toast was presented already warming the little pats of butter tucked underneath the bread ( a great idea). Again breakfast service was at an excellent level. Best hotel stay I have had this month (I have stayed in two hotels in Dublin and Dun Laoghaire), they unfortunately didn’t match the standard set by the Abbey Hotel Roscommon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Geraldine Grealy, Marketing at Abbey Hotel
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Abbey. It’s so good to hear you had a most enjoyable experience with us and your glowing recognition and compliments of our service and staff gives us all a welcome boost. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
545ali2011 wrote a review Jun 2022
Lisnaskea, United Kingdom180 contributions64 helpful votes
As we have stayed here quite a lot and we both love it there was no other place for me to bring my husband for his 50th we had a great stay as usual we had a lovely card and champagne in the room which was a lovely touch....a lovely bit of lunch from the carvery before heading out to the races and when we came we got a bit of food and had a couple of drinks...staff are super friendly especially orla on reception she’s great so nice and chatty...breakfast next day was lovely buffet style so it’s nice to pick ur own...obviously we will definitely be back...thanks for everything
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Geraldine Grealy, Marketing at Abbey Hotel
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts and positive feedback following your husbands recent stay. It was our pleasure to welcome you back and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future. Geraldine Grealy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph F wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
Myself and my Fiancée stayed to celebrate her 30th birthday, and from the moment we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us. One of the Mangers had left a card wishing is congratulations on our recent engagement, and arranged for us to meet and brought us on a tour of the hotel, showing us the Ballroom, secret garden, and all the other highlights the hotel has to offer as a wedding venue (everything!). Dinner was fabulous and team manning the bar were extremely nice, happy to have a bit of a chat with us, talk to us about the town and all in all just a bunch of really nice people. They topped it off by bringing down desert with candles and singing happy birthday to my Fiancé. I would absolutely recommend a stay in the Abbey, and would like to say a big thank you to Geraldine, and the rest of the team for looking after us during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Geraldine Grealy, Marketing at Abbey Hotel
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear Joseph We really appreciate you taking the time to share your glowing feedback with the Tripadvisor community. It’s positive feedback like this that make all our jobs in the hospitality sector more worthwhile. I will be sure to share your review with all our staff. It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you and Susie for the occasion of her 30th birthday. We were delighted to be able to share with you both a little of the history of the hotel and the tourism attractions available in County of Roscommon. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the very best future, you are both assured of a warm and friendly welcome. Please be sure to contact me personally when planning your next visit. Geraldine Grealy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ann c wrote a review Jun 2022
co galway ireland32 contributions16 helpful votes
Attended a wedding reception here last weekend. Every thing was top class from start to finish Staff very attentive and food excellent -piping hot...Very clean hotel... There was one bar man in particular (sorry didn't get his name - young tall man with beard) who was so friendly and chatty... Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Geraldine Grealy, Marketing at Abbey Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Dear Ann We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Jared and all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Abbey again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Itchy feet wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
A generous size room with a large bathroom. Room clearly newly decorated, lovely curtains and complementary fresh wall paint, however the furniture is very dated and tired looking. It spoils the room, the wardrobe had old fashioned net curtains couldn't understand if they were to replace wooden panels so certainly require reviewing. There was a broken lock on the wardrobe what appears to be used to close the doors in the past but defeats any purpose now. The doors don't close. My child had good fun spinning the unsecured glass top on the center table but soon realised the danger when she hit herself by accident on the unsecured glass tops that overlapped the bed side lockers. Unsecured glass tops on furniture are not safe in family rooms. I had to explain to my girl that there should have been plastic grips that the glass is only a protector. It gave the room a shabby look rather than shabby chic. I was totally surprised with no information what so ever in the bedroom. I had to ring reception to request info and ask for leisure facility times. Reception provided incorrect information and the leisure facilities staff stated reception is always doing that. Delighted to sleep in my own bed after the stay in the Abbey and experiencing the renovations. It certainly put me off hotels seeing the conditions of the bases/ mattresses. There was no duty manager working. Overall very poor for what could have been a very promising positive vacation if attention to detail was provided or managers on site.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: My room was directly overlooking a car park however beyond that was beautiful view of Abbey ruins
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Geraldine Grealy, Marketing at Abbey Hotel
Responded 7 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Roscommon. It is always valuable to hear guests feedback, be it positive or otherwise when communicated to us in a spirit of trying to improve the guest experience. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations and acknowledge your points raised and will take them on board. Thank you, on behalf of the entire Abbey Hotel team. Adrian Grealy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
abbey hotel roscommon
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty RoscommonRoscommon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Abbey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Abbey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Roscommon Castle (1.0 km), Sacred Heart Church (0.4 km), and JJ Harlows (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Abbey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Abbey Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a separate dining room.
What food & drink options are available at Abbey Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Abbey Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Abbey Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fusion, Regan's Gastro Pub and Restaurant, and The Comfy Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Abbey Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Abbey Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Roscommon.
Are any cleaning services offered at Abbey Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Abbey Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Abbey Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.