We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tankardstown House Rathkeny, Slane, County Meath, Slane Ireland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (201)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (36)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Tankardstown
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Slane
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A magnificent 80 acre estate, comprising a luxurious 18th century Manor House, adjacent courtyard of beautifully appointed Cottage Suites, and lower courtyard where award winning Brabazon Restaurant, the more casual Cellar Restaurant and The Tea Gardens are located. Understated elegance, relaxed atmosphere, just some of the adjectives used to describe our beautiful property. Located in Co. Meath, the country estate is only 40 minutes from Dublin and just over an hour from Belfast. A true oasis of tranquillity and beauty, Tankardstown House has been superbly restored throughout and offers you, your family and friends a unique opportunity to experience hospitality in a beautiful privately owned home. The country estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on bicycle or foot. Tankardstown House is situated just 15 minutes from the World Heritage site of Newgrange, the Battle of the Boyne Site and Slane Castle, renowned for its own History & Whiskey Tours. For Golfers, the nearby parkland course of Headfort or the links at Baltray, will challenge any level of golfer. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a spa treatment at the 'Hide-Out' to end an activity packed day, relax in the outdoor hot tub or unwind with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides, clay pigeon shooting and boating.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Coffee shop
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
423Reviews3Q+A63Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 325
  • 44
  • 18
  • 22
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pamstravels wrote a review 2 Aug
Ireland15 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed here mid week for a wedding/family event. What an amazing venue. The beauty of the venue, the grounds and every aspect of it was amazing. I stayed in one of the cottages. It was fantastic. Lovely breakfast the next morning also. Service was amazing. Perfect wedding venue.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you are thinking about booking here then absolutely do! Such a breathtaking venue.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tadhg Carolan, General Manager at Tankardstown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Pamstravels2020, Thank you ever so much for your kind review, and lovely comments on our venue, grounds, breakfast and service. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time at Tankardstown and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kindest Regards, Tadhg Carolan
Read more
Millie W wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Attended a family wedding,nobody to greet us at drinks reception,meal was average served by insipid staff. Extremely difficult to get a Taxi from there as they come from Drogheda mostly. The house & grounds are charming & perfectly maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Secure Taxi prior to going. Make sure you make breakfast as you can not get a tea/coffee.Bring a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tadhg Carolan, General Manager at Tankardstown
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Dear Millie, Thank you for taking the time to join Tripadvisor and review us, guest feedback is of the utmost importance to us. It is part of our service here at Tankardstown, that the wedding party is greeted at the door by a member of our management team. This is something that is always executed with great importance, so I can only assume the timing of your arrival was untimely; should you have not received an appropriate welcome. The service at Tankardstown has been and is praised daily by countless Bride and Grooms along with the friendliness and professionalism of our staff. We are an exclusive country house manor, located in the Meath countryside; so because of this, it is always reiterated to our wedding couples and guests that we advise transport be pre-booked ahead of a wedding night to avoid any delays. Thank you for the kind comments on our house and grounds. Kind Regards, Tadhg Carolan
Read more
herecomes2 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution5 helpful votes
Quite a lot of form but very little function. Tankardstown House is a very photogenic venue but having arrived a little over an hour early for a wedding we felt very much like there was nothing to do but wait until the event began. The venue seemed quite short staffed and I imagine much of the quite young looking wait staff were new hires. Orders at dinner were mixed up. At breakfast one of the wait staff was literally running around the dining area between jobs. Which struck me more as naivety than anything else. Given the cost and the boutique nature of the venue I hope they're at least getting a living wage and all the costs arent going into simply maintaining a bougey venue that is more Instagram friendly than visitor friendly. The room we stayed in at the cottage was nice. Although small and the coffee maker was hidden high up and out of the way. Which seems a bit unsafe. The showers caused bother the next morning. It was angled oddly and the water was cold. Ultimately my impression was that it is a lovely place to take a photo. But not exactly practical or hospitable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
lindalou wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We spent the weekend in Tankardstown celebrating our daughters wedding, the experience was faultless. The staff were attentive , efficient and everyone so polite. It is a beautiful venue , we loved every minute. Thank you to all the staff for your care and attention, well done, you treated us impeccably!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tadhg Carolan, General Manager at Tankardstown
Responded 25 May 2022
Dear Traveler55413297065, Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you celebrate your daughter's wedding at Tankardstown House, and I am thrilled to hear you loved every minute of your time with us. Your thanks is most appreciated, I will be sure to share your words with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kindest Regards, Tadhg Carolan
Read more
Vik2 wrote a review May 2022
Berkshire, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
Attended a wedding and stayed 2 nights at Tankardstown. Arrived early and waited over 2 hours to be able to check in. I have never been left feeling so unwelcome - no offer of a cup of tea or even just a glass of water. I understand that the check in time was set however, good customer service would be to contact house keeping and ask them to get a room ready sooner if at all possible. The receptionist couldn't have cared less. The room was nice but cramped - especially at the high price. The wedding was beautiful - fab setting and food. The bar tender in the evening was dodgy. He did not want to tell how much the bill was before asking guests to tap the card and refused to issue receipts after the transaction. We also saw him go out the back with glasses and come back later serving drinks which clearly contained no alcohol. The breakfast was gorgeous and the breakfast staff were fantastic ! Tankardstown is a beautiful house but I will definitely not come back and will not recommend to others either.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Maria R wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I stayed in cottage 5, 3 nights, very cosy, spotlessly clean. Shower and bath excellent. I stayed as guest wedding venue and I must say best I have ever been to. The staff very helpful and obliging, especially manager. Thank you all lovely stay great wedding. Some people just live to moan, and to moan about noice from the wedding you were invited to is unbelievable. And Katy comments from a minor really.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms from bridal suite guest excellent cosy warm individual cottage 5 heard no noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tadhg Carolan, General Manager at Tankardstown
Responded 25 May 2022
Dear 17539JRmariar, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am ever so pleased your enjoyed your time at Tankardstown and thank you for your kind comments on our accommodation, venue and staff. Your feedback is most appreciated and we hope to welcome you again soon. Kindest Regards, Tadhg Carolan
Read more
Anonymous wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed overnight at this hotel as we were attending a family wedding, the function room was lovely and food very good. We chose the hotel for our accommodation for the convenience of not having to travel to access a bed for the night, unfortunately this was a big mistake! We were allocated two adjoining rooms in the courtyard in cottage 1, which cost approximately €200 per room for B&B. We were a family of 4. My husband went to bed around 12 as he had to work the next day and had a two hour drive. I went to bed at around 1am. When I went to our bedroom I realised that we had been given the worst room for noise. I may as well not have left the function room as it was like being next to the band!. At 2am I couldn’t take the extreme noise and thump thump of extremely loud music and tried phoning reception twice to see when the music would stop but unfortunately no reply. The music continued until 2.35am and at this stage I was pacing the room with the frustration and annoyance. My husband got about 2 hours sleep as he had to get up at 5am. Furthermore and unfortunately the most disappointing part of my experience was the response from the receptionist when I spoke to her the next more, she was lack lustre, unsympathetic and offered no apology and showed no understanding of our upset. She told me there was no manager available to speak to me, this I believe was an untruth, as I had seen a manager visit the breakfast room and talk to one of the waitresses who had overheard my annoyance when updating my brother on the awful sleep experience. Really poor and unacceptable response from a 5* hotel and by the way I’m still waiting on a manager to phone me as promised by the receptionist! Stay in the Coynagham Arms in Slane Village a short distance away for half the price and no noise pollution or aggravation, they have beautiful boutique bedrooms and great reviews. Such a sour taste left with for a family who attended a beautiful wedding, an apology and a little understanding costs nothing. If we had been told when booking the room initially that there would be a lot of noise from the wedding, we would have respected the hotel more, so unacceptable not to let guests know this!! Ps all of the courtyard rooms experience noise from the wedding venue but ours was particularly bad as it was 3 metres from function room. if you want a relaxed sleep , pick accommodation else where down the road in Slane!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t stay in courtyard rooms when wedding in hotel, noise is horrendous
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tadhg Carolan, General Manager at Tankardstown
Responded 6 May 2022
Dear wwwdoglover1, Thank you for your in depth review of your recent stay with us while celebrating a family wedding. I am disappointed to hear you experienced some grievances during your stay. Should we had been made aware in advance that your husband was to depart early, we would have suggested an alternative room. However this room was allocated to your family as it is an interconnecting room and viewed the most suitable for families and at the best rate. It is worth noting that the noise element being complained about occured out of the function you both as guests were honoured, I am sure, to attend. I have spoken to our receptionist who was on the desk when you checked out and she has assured me she did apologise for any disturbances you encountered. Having hosted wedding for many years, I can assure you noise disturbances are not a common occurrence and “all of the courtyard rooms” do not “experience noise”. I am pleased you enjoyed our venue and found the food very good. Kindest regards, Tadhg Carolan
Read more
Ailish M wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We visited Tankardstown recently to celebrate my daughters communion. We made the unfortunate mistake of entering the reception of the main house as it was our first time visiting. There was a lady lighting candles in the hall of the main house when she finally turned to ask us if we needed assistance, I explained to her that we had a booking for 3pm in the restaurant. She kindly explained that we were in the wrong area so we made our apologies and left. However I was disgusted at the general managers behaviour as she shouted over to him, "it's OK Francis they are in the wrong place, they have a booking in the restaurant" to which Francis replied with a dramatic role of his eyes. He then proceeded to ask my daughter, who was in her communion dress was she getting married today. My daughter proceeded to tell me afterwards that she over heard him saying, "what are they doing here" as we entered the hall, as stared earlier, by mistake. Completely unnecessary and unprofessional behaviour for a five star establishment. Very disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tadhg Carolan, General Manager at Tankardstown
Responded 6 May 2022
Dear 895ailishm, I am quite shocked to read of your unfavourable experience with us. This is not the sort of feedback we are accustomed to here at Tankardstown. I will be sure to investigate this further. Please accept my apologies for our team member’s atypical reaction to your mistake in location. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your afternoon in Brabazon Restaurant. Kindest Regards, Tadhg Carolan
Read more
Bernadatte R wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I had lunch there this week and what a disappointment it was, the food was absolutely awful, I had smoked salmon with potato salad for the starter the smoked salmon was delicious but that's how you buy it in the hard work is already done for you, I had the sirloin stake it was very dry and tough absolutely no flavour and no sauce or duej, the vegetables were watery and tasteless and the mashed potatoes were so watery they ran through the fork and no seasoning .The house wine was excellent 👌, but what a disappointment 😞 I most definitely will not visit again it is such a shame because the ambience is beautiful and the Staff are excellent. Disappointed Diner 😞
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tadhg Carolan, General Manager at Tankardstown
Responded 29 Mar 2022
Dear Mrs Reilly, I am quite shocked to read of your of unfavourable experience at Brabazon Restaurant. As you will notice from our vast majority of excellent reviews, this sort of feedback is not to our standard. It is worth noting however that you ordered cured salmon opposed to the stated “smoked salmon” which our chefs cure on site and is in no way “bought like that”; on the steak itself you had requested it absent of sauce and cooked to a well done temperature, resulting in the unfavourable representation. It's a shame you didn't bring these grievances to our attention while you were dining with us, opposed to leaving two negative afterthoughts, our team would have happily assisted in any way possible to serve you something more suited to your taste. I am glad you enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant and thank you for acknowledging our excellent staff. Kindest Regards, Tadhg Carolan
Read more
raymond reilly wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Had lunch there on St Patricks Day Portions very small No flavour to the food at all Steak really tough ,with no sauce Mashed potatoes really watery and no seasoning Over ratered and overpriced Will not be going back again ever Ray Reilly
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tadhg Carolan, General Manager at Tankardstown
Responded 29 Mar 2022
Dear Mr Reilly, I will reiterate my response to your your wife's review on this same experience. I am quite shocked to read of your of unfavourable experience at Brabazon Restaurant. As you will notice from our vast majority of excellent reviews, this sort of feedback is not to our standard. It is worth noting however that you ordered cured salmon opposed to the stated “smoked salmon” which our chefs cure on site and is in no way “bought like that”; on the steak itself you had requested it absent of sauce and cooked to a well done temperature, resulting in the unfavourable representation. It's a shame you didn't bring these grievances to our attention while you were dining with us, opposed to leaving two negative afterthoughts, our team would have happily assisted in any way possible to serve you something more suited to your taste. I am glad you enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant and thank you for acknowledging our excellent staff. Kindest Regards, Tadhg Carolan
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$287 - US$366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tankardstown hotel slane
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty MeathSlane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tankardstown
Which popular attractions are close to Tankardstown?
Nearby attractions include Hill of Slane (5.2 km), Slane Castle (5.7 km), and Boyles of Slane (5.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tankardstown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Tankardstown?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Tankardstown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Tankardstown?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tankardstown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Inside Out, George's Patisserie, and Brabazon Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Tankardstown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Tankardstown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Tankardstown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hill of Slane (5.2 km).
Is Tankardstown accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.