We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portumna House Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
Portumna House Saint Brendans Road Portumna County Galway, Portumna Ireland
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (6)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Portumna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A warm welcome awaits you at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast. Portumna House is a purpose built Bed and Breakfast with all rooms en-suite with TV/dvd and tea/coffee making facilities. Situated 200 meters from the town centre and close to all amenities like Portumna Golf Club, Lough Derg, Shannon Cruises, Portumna Castle and forest park walks. Tea coffee and home made scones on arrival. Children welcome. Guests' sitting room available with multichannel TV, tea/coffee available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
32Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
AMM wrote a review Aug 2017
Ballybofey, Ireland53 contributions55 helpful votes
I had reason to visit Portumna recently and stayed in this lovely B & B. The room was spotless and very comfortable and the breakfast was really good. They also cater for coeliacs. The hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful. The room had a fridge and bottles of water and the bathroom had all the shower essentials.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Daniel B wrote a review Oct 2016
Hours, France91 contributions42 helpful votes
Very friendly. Nice welcome for two franchies spending a night in Portumna and good advice to go to Hayes' pub. We get some new fellows and stayed for à couple of hours there. Better to walk when you go to this pub.. Breakfast, room everything was great at the B&B
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
fofullam wrote a review Jul 2016
Lake Worth, Florida20 contributions10 helpful votes
We spent two very comfortable nights in this homey B&B and would highly recommend it. Our room was bright and handsomely decorated, fitted with everything that we could possible need for our stay. The very best feature was David and Oona, who shared hosting responsibilities, making us feel welcome and valued. We so enjoyed our conversations with each of them. David was especially helpful in recommending restaurants and interesting places to explore in the Portumna area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PatOcarson wrote a review Apr 2016
Belfast, United Kingdom304 contributions57 helpful votes
We stopped off here on the way home from a hotel stay in Bantry. The breakfast at the B&B was far better quality than the one in the hotel. We got a warm welcome from both David an Una and would highly recommend Portumna House.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sandyles wrote a review Jun 2015
Isle of Man, United Kingdom11 contributions
We have just come back home from our stay at Portumna House and our hosts Una and David cannot do enough for you.It is spotlessly clean and the welcome is second to none .The breakfast is brilliant and you get a great pot of tea- Love this place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Room at back is probably quieter but it didn't bother us being at the front.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Roger H wrote a review Mar 2015
Talgarth, United Kingdom58 contributions31 helpful votes
This is an easy one to review. There is only one thing to say........Perfect. How nice to meet hosts such as David & Una. All B&B owners should be sent here to learn how to do it properly. Thanks very much.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go and visit the Portumna Workhouse...it will open your eyes. Ask for Gerry,a very knowledgeable...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 11 Mar 2015
Thank you both for kind comments, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Portumna House.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Galwaygirlruthy90 wrote a review Jan 2015
Preston, England, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have stayed at Portumna House b&b twice now and I have never been disappointed! David and Una are lovely people who are extremely welcoming, friendly and they can't do enough for you; nothing is ever too much trouble! The breakfasts are amazing and the rooms are lovely, spacious and clean with extremely comfortable beds. The b&b is situated in the perfect location only a two minute walk from Portumna Main Street. Hoping to visit again this year would defiantly recommend a visit and stay at Portumna House b&b.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 19 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stays at Portumna House and look forward to your future visits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoisNCNY wrote a review Nov 2014
Leland, North Carolina695 contributions274 helpful votes
Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by David and Una, and made to feel right at home. Our room was fresh and appealing. There is traffic on the road in front, so if this is inclined to bother you, ask for a room facing the back. It wasn't very busy, but there is traffic. Breakfast in the morning was substantial and good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 16 Nov 2014
Thank you Lois and Bob for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet your family. we hope your trip to Sligo was a success.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niamh M wrote a review Sep 2014
1 contribution1 helpful vote
really enjoyed my stay, one of the most welcoming B & B's I've stayed in, great location, and a lovely spacious room with great facilities. its very close to all the amenities, there's a very relaxed and warm atmosphere - David was so welcoming, and helpful and the wifi worked great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 21 Sep 2014
Thank you Niamh for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Portumna House during the Shorelines Arts Festival. And thank you for your encouragement " Write "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CathyMcGiv55 wrote a review Aug 2014
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom18 contributions33 helpful votes
We have just stayed with Una and David and we couldn't recommend it more. This was my first time returning to Portumna in many years and both Una and David showed an avid interest in hearing all about my previous holidays there. They are so welcoming and friendly and would go out of there way to ensure you had an enjoyable stay . Thankyou so so much for making our few days so enjoyable xxx Cathy and Damien
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 1 Sep 2014
Thank you so much, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Portumna House.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayPortumna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Portumna House Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include The Irish Workhouse Centre (0.7 km), Portumna Castle (0.8 km), and Portumna Forest Park (0.7 km).
Which room amenities are available at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
Is parking available at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Portumna House Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blas, Modena, and Cafe Rose.
Is Portumna House Bed & Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Portumna.
Are there any historical sites close to Portumna House Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Irish Workhouse Centre (0.7 km), St Ruadhan Church of Ireland (7.0 km), and Lorrha Augustinian Friary (7.0 km).