We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roganstown Hotel & Country Club

Save
Share
Naul Road near Dublin Airport, Swords 30103 Ireland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (202)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (186)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 7 in Swords
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club Hotel is located in Swords, North County Dublin. Only 10 minutes from Dublin airport and the M50 motorway, Roganstown Hotel offers luxurious hotel accommodation set amidst beautiful countryside. It is the only golf hotel in North Dublin offering two championship golf courses on-site, along with gym,pool, leisure and spa facilities. The location offers a tranquil base for exploring the north Dublin coastline and offers easy access to the beautiful seaside towns of Malahide, Skerries and Howth. It is also 10 minutes from Tayto Park theme park and zoo. Dublin City is only 30 minutes by car and the Swords Express coach is a direct link leaving Swords to Dublin's central quays by the River Liffey every 20 minutes.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
937Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 417
  • 243
  • 137
  • 77
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John G wrote a review 17 May
1 contribution
Just spent the afternoon in Roganstown Hotel for a confirmation dinner for my daughter and our family. We dined in the upstairs function room as a group from from my daughters school. It was a set 3 course meal. We entered the room a 4pm, took an hour before our orders were taken. At 7.30 I still hadn’t received my desert. The staff looked like lost sheep, all very inexperienced. An absolute shambles completely ruined my day as I could not believe what was before my eyes. In all my years I’ve never felt so angry leaving a hotel. I’ll never step foot here again. After today’s episode I’d strongly advise anyone thinking of having a wedding reception here to think again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 4 days ago
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Although I appreciate that you felt your experience to be disappointing, it is equally so from my viewpoint that you have decided to take to this forum after we spoke at length, in person, on the day. To repeat your concerns on a review site after having already relayed your feelings in person is, in my opinion, quite unnecessary. I outlined to you on the day that the expectations that you arrived with in terms of timings were always unrealistic and a schedule of service was outlined with the organisers prior to the event taking place. The call to sit was to be at 4pm and service was to begin at 5pm, providing that all parties had arrived and were seated ( as agreed with organisers ). As you noted, and pointed out in our conversation, this did not happen as many tables were yet to be occupied when we began to take the order. It was a little after 5pm when all orders had been submitted to the kitchen and service began. It was not a set menu as you describe, but an extensive offering of a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses and 3 desserts along with the addition of a full childrens menu. We had all patrons served ( including coffee ) by 7.15pm, which is in line with a standard timeframe that a menu of such variety and a room containing in excess of 130 persons, many of which were children, who children being children, did not remain seated throughout the service, inevitably causing some minor delays. Although it is extremely disappointing to note that you felt that the staff were inexperienced, you are in fact, correct. Our team on the day in question, and indeed most days, are new to the Hospitality industry and although they need some time to gain the relevant training and experience, I am proud that these young people keep showing up and continue to improve, in what can be a very unforgiving environment at times. It is very discouraging to any young person to receive such negative and unnecessary feedback, and as such I have chosen not to share this particular review with them ( almost all customer feedback is shared amongst the entire team normally ). I apologise if you felt let down or disappointed in your visit to Roganstown and I respect your choice in not returning. We will use your feedback to improve and development our team here at Roganstown and we will use it to learn as a Management team. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Kind Regards Ken Battigan General Manager Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Read more
Lottie M wrote a review 15 May
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Recently booked for one night as had to rush home when my daughter was involved in a car accident, and the hotel offered good access to airport and port. Arrived at 7.35 on a Saturday night to be told both restaurant and leisure facilities closed at 8pm, so I had to choose between dinner or a hottub. Lovely woman in the restaurant, after a wait and a dither to get get seated. My room was comfortable, albeit dated decor that may be to someone’s taste, but sleep escaped me. Between 2am-4am there were parties up and down the corridors - constant knocking on doors, laughter, and shouting - I was horrified by the lack of sleep, and the fact the hotel staff did nothing about this . An early rise to make the ferry, after a sleepless night, and I was disappointed to find no one at reception to enable check out, and for me to raise my concerns about the night I had experienced - just a sign with a phone number saying to ring if assistance was needed, which would have cost anyone without an Irish mobile number roaming charges, including myself. Exhausting and debilitating to be travelling on under stressful circumstances with such a lack of sleep, and lack of responsibility from the hotel to provide the one thing I’d paid for. I would not recommend a stay here, and will be contacting them in the week to enquire about a refund…. Such a shame from such a beautiful building.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t go there
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Lottie M Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent short stay with us here at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club. Firstly, please accept my sincerest apologies for the behaviour of one or two of our other guests that were excessively noisy entering their rooms in the late evening. We received only one reference on the night in question and our Night Manager spoke with the offending guests at the time. Our dining areas, both bar & restaurant are open for last food orders until 8.45pm and although the Leisure centre does close at 8pm, the 8pm closing would generally be later than most other hotel leisure facilities. We will continue to monitor these opening / closing schedules to ensure that we offer our guests as much choice and flexibility as possible. Our Nights Team have many functions to perform, including many activities such as floor walks, fire safety walks in addition to general cleaning and re setting tasks. This is the reason that we have a notice on how to contact a member of the nights team if they happen to be away from the reception desk. In addition to the note with a contact number, we have a large bell which can also be used. Once again, I would like to thank you for the time you have taken in providing us with your honest and constructive feedback and I again extend my apologies for any inconvenience some of other patrons may have caused you. Kind Regards Ken Battigan General Manager
Read more
W.Walsh wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Stayed in Roganstown last night & all i can say it was a disaster......the guy looking after orders in the bar/restaurant was the most ignorant man I have met in any hotel....arguing with other customers, arrogant , the food was over prices & bland....no hot water in the shower in the morning....in future I will not be returning. Room 227....wont be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Walsh1983, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent overnight stay with us here at Roganstown. I have spoken at length with all of the staff that were on duty and all of whom would have a differing account of your comments. However, if you felt in any way inconvenienced I wish to extend my most sincere apologies. I have had guests staying in #227 before and since your stay and they have not experienced any issues with the shower, and having inspected it personally I can attest that whatever issue you encountered was not one that has been repeated before or since your stay. Although it is disappointing to note that you would not consider Roganstown for a future stay, i thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards Ken Battigan General Manager
Read more
Ronnie M wrote a review Apr 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom55 contributions81 helpful votes
This is a beautiful place in a great setting. The staff are great and the food is of high quality. We visited as part of a coach party and we very very happy to stay there. Just a couple of points. Initially I thought there was no shaver point in the bathroom. Eventually I found it high up on the wall over a long mirror. I could not reach it. I considered getting a chair then climbing onto the wash hand basin surface but rejected it as dangerous. I mention this to the manager at dinner time but he only stated that it had been designed that way! I also mentioned that there had been glasses and used plates outside my room since we had checked in early afternoon. but he just said that housekeeping would get to them. There were still there at 10pm. There were two golf courses and a swimming pool but we had to time to check them out. When we checked out a helpful MOS help me out with my luggage. I suggest that they buy a hundred three pin shaver adaptors.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring a 3 pin point with shaver adaptor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 4 weeks ago
Many thanks for your review of your recent short stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will certainly take your comments on board. We regularly review all our guest feedback in order to help us identify areas we need to focus on improving. Warm Regards Ken Battigan General Manager
Read more
Dave wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Arrived late (10:30) to the hotel and was greeted by a most pleasant reception staff. Room was comfortable however could have done with some water. After a quick shower went to the bar for a night cap and some water at 11:01 only to be met by rude staff saving they already had taken last orders and had already counted the money. My frustration was that the legal closing time in Ireland for last orders in pubs is 11:30 as it was a Monday night. I offered to take it to the room but the rude staff was having none of it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear Business-man-irl, Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay with us here at Roganstown. I have already identified and resolved the issue relating to the lack of hospitality shown to you by one of our team members. I want to assure you that there will be no repeat of this and I apologise most sincerely for the inconvenience caused. I hope that, due to the other positive comments you make on your visit, we may have a further opportunity in welcoming you back to Roganstown in the future. Kind Regards Ken Battigan General Manager
Read more
Keithsan wrote a review Apr 2022
Dublin, Ireland17 contributions13 helpful votes
Peaceful location, Nice enough room with comfortable beds, could do with a few extras such as a bottle of water, some biscuits, a few more tea bags. A couple of biscuits maybe. Very basic toiletries. Friendly reception staff. The food in the bar was excellent. The Male bar staff were not the most friendly, they were actually very curt and not a bit welcoming as you might expect in a hotel. Service was slow, the pints of Guinness were very poor so we didn’t return for the second night. Doubtful we would return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Close proximity to swords, less than 10 minute drive.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear Keithsan, Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent short stay with us here at Roganstown. I would like to apologise if you felt that the staff in the Bar were in any way unwelcoming and I will speak with my F & B Managers to ensure that any staff member acting in such a manner is taken to task and undergoes the relevant corrective coaching. We will certainly take on board your constructive comments regarding the room amenities. Thank you again for your review and for the honesty in your feedback. Warm Regards Ken Battigan General Manager
Read more
Dennis wrote a review Apr 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom116 contributions125 helpful votes
Stayed here for a week on business. The staff at the desk, in the bar and at breakfast were first class. Really friendly and helpful. The wifi was quite annoying, dropping in and out at random times of the day making working or watch something quite challenging.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear DenKel7, Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay with us here at Roganstown. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall and I know that my team would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words on our staff. I apologise if the WiFi was a little troublesome but we occasionally have some small issues with signal based on inclement weather and our location but it is usually rectified very quickly by rejoining the WiFi network. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Roganstown in the near future. Kind Regards Ken Battigan General Manager
Read more
Trisha C wrote a review Mar 2022
5 contributions
+1
My partner Paula got nominated at work and won this 2 night stay bed and breakfast and one evening meal. We had the most relaxing time, it was so quiet and just what the Dr ordered. The staff are all amazing, helpful and so friendly but especially Lauren on Reception she could not do enough. Her customer service was next to none, so professional and she was so lovely to chat to. The food was also good. We will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Dear 764trishac, Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay with is at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club. It was our pleasure looking after you. The staff here, especially Lauren, would to be associated with my sincere thanks for your kind words and it a huge boost to receive such positive feedback in recognition of their continued efforts. It is especially hard on the staff in the current environment with so many unfilled vacancies in the industry. I am very grateful to have such an enthusiastic and helpful team here. Thank you again and we look forward to the next opportunity we may have in welcoming you back to Roganstown. Warm Regards Ken Battigan General Manager Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Read more
Chris I wrote a review Mar 2022
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom87 contributions27 helpful votes
Stayed here last night just a quick booking for one night due to flight delays very nice place and friendly staff the rooms are nice too with a very large double bed had fish and chips to eat which was very nice to would recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Dear Chrisi2016, Thank you for taking the time in writing a review of your recent short stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and we hope its not too long until we see you back in Roganstown again. Kind Regards Ken Battigan General Manager Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Read more
kjlimoges wrote a review Mar 2022
Niceville, Florida10 contributions1 helpful vote
I hate to write bad reviews. Unfortunately, Roganstown Hotel and Country Club earned this review. Toward the end of our trip, we chose to stay close to the Dublin airport for convenience. We were expecting something more upscale than what Roganstown was. First, after travelling the whole country, we were hoping to get an early checkin. This was not available, and we understood but the Front Desk girl was downright rude about relaying the non-availability. So we went back to the hotel at the appointed time, (luckily, someone else was handling check ins) and got our room. We were placed on the second floor and there was no elevator, and no one to carry our very heavy bags! We got in the room finally, and started to settle in. I wanted to take a shower because we had travelled far, and there were NO TOWELS! We called the front desk and it took 30 minutes to get fresh towels. Honestly, I'm not even sure if the linens were changed in our room before our arrival. Due to the early departure the next morning, we opted not to bother checking with the front desk again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian McGuinness, Owner at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Dear Kjilmoges, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent short stay with us at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club. I was extremely disappointed to note your comments and i have to admit, I found most of them terribly unfair. We have no record of any request prior to your arrival seeking an early check in, and had we received such a request we may have been able to accommodate you with an earlier check in although this is not a service we guarantee. We have an elevator that gives access to our upstairs rooms so it is disappointing that you would say that we have not. Although we do not have a concierge service, there are always willing staff to assist our guests with any luggage, equipment etc. that they may need assistance with and again, it is disappointing for you to claim that this service was not available to you. Having spoken to my Front Office team, it seems that you were in a hurry to check in to your room, somewhat understandably after a long journey, but that in your haste, did not afford our Reception staff the opportunity to explain the delay we were experiencing with our laundry service that day and that the towels would be delivered to your room within the hour. It is regretful that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you intended and I apologise for any shortcomings you feel that the Hotel may have contributed to that end. I would like to thank you again for providing feedback on your visit and we, as a management team, discuss at our weekly meeting and it assists us in identifying any areas that require our focus for improvement. Kind Regards Ken Battigan General Manager Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
roganstown hotel and country
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinSwords
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Roganstown Hotel & Country Club
Which popular attractions are close to Roganstown Hotel & Country Club?
Nearby attractions include Newbridge House & Farm (6.9 km), Swords Castle (4.6 km), and Newbarn Farm (8.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Roganstown Hotel & Country Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grill House, Courtyard Restaurant, and Kealys of Cloghran.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Roganstown Hotel & Country Club have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Roganstown Hotel & Country Club offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Roganstown Hotel & Country Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Roganstown Hotel & Country Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Roganstown Hotel & Country Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Roganstown Hotel & Country Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Roganstown Hotel & Country Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Swords Round Tower (4.6 km).