We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Oriel House Hotel

Main Street, Ballincollig, Cork Ireland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (486)
Room & Suite (185)
Dining (40)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Ballincollig
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Oriel House Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Ballincollig, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to room service while staying at Oriel House Hotel. In addition, Oriel Hotel offers a pool and an on-site restaurant, which will help make your Ballincollig trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Ballincollig ribs restaurant such as The White Horse, which is a short distance from Oriel House Hotel.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular castles such as Ballincollig Castle.

Enjoy your stay in Ballincollig!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Babysitting
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1670Reviews15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 745
  • 443
  • 201
  • 142
  • 139
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
vinnie678 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
staff and hotel really good and helpful and the rooms are great had the use of the gym and pool the pool area really clean staff were great crew to deal with service in the restaurant was good and a good selection of food on the menu.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
areid2024 wrote a review 20 Feb
1 contribution
This was great value for money, very comfortable and very clean hotel with warm atmosphere and lovely food in the bar restaurant, will definitely be back here again, staff very friendly and pleasant . Very handy for getting into cork city only took us 12 minutes, and lovely warm breakfast to start the day off. The manager went out of her way to make sure myself and colleague and enjoyable time there
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pauline W wrote a review 19 Feb
Abergele, United Kingdom26 contributions51 helpful votes
Following our review Janice McConnell, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel posted a response asking us to contact her. Despite numerous attempts to do so Ms. Mc Connell was never available to take our call and never returned our calls. On a couple of occasions the person who answered the telephone seemd to have no idea who she was. Please do not post up a response in order to fool customers into believing you take complaints seriously if you have no intention of speaking to the guest. The Oriel Hotel is OK but do not expect 4 star accommodation. The carpet in our room was filthy and had many nasty ‘sticky’ stains. It was also very cold. We stayed for 2 nights and were angry to see housekeeping had not serviced the room on the second day. It was very late when we got back and instead of the comfort one would expect, the room was as we had left it. Wet towels, unmade bed and no water or coffee. We had not, as reception suggested, hung the Do Not Disturb sign on the door as we did not even have on in the room. When we pay to stay in an hotel, we expect the price to include having the room serviced. If the housekeeper or maid just decided not to bother then that is bad but if the ‘system’ they are using means housekeeping is not properly informed then that needs addressing. I do know Sarova hotels introduced a policy of not servicing guest rooms during a stay as a cost saving effort and as a result lost our regular patronage. The breakfast is good and the dining room spacious. The waiting staff were friendly and efficient as were all the other members of staff especially the people in the lounge. I found the coffee served with breakfast was particularly good and came in a generous sized pot. The location is ideal for us as we have family living close by and we wanted to find somewhere we could just book in the future without any concerns. The cold unserviced room would make us reluctant to book again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice McConnell, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel
Responded today
Dear 655paulinew, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The Oriel does indeed take all feedback very seriously & respond to all of our guests in a timely manner. Unfortunately I did not receive any messages or emails from you, if you could please email me directly janice@orielhousehotel.ie with your contact information & I will make immediate contact with you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Janice McConnell General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
julielooney57 wrote a review 18 Feb
Killarney, Ireland1 contribution
Oriel house was located in a good place, very nice hotel and so friendly staff, room spacious, lovely hot shower, request for taxi dealt with efficiently, downfall breakfast, not a fan of buffet style
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
N8222BVcatherine wrote a review 18 Feb
County Clare, Ireland1 contribution
The staff were very friendly and Graham facilitated us with an early check in as we were attending a family funeral. We have stayed there a few times as location suits us. The stopper in the sink was faulty which was a nuisance . Otherwise all good . Have stayed there before and will again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Legacy School o... U wrote a review 16 Feb
1 contribution
The hotel was modern and clean and the full breakfast was delicious. Graham at the front desk was very helpful, he gave us trip advice and recommended places for us to go while we were there. Highly recommend! We would stay there again on another trip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
George-Cristian T wrote a review 15 Feb
1 contribution
It was a really nice experience! Very comfortable and the staff was so nice. Graham was a real gentleman. :) Looking forward to be back here soon. The food was great and I enjoyed my staying. I really reccomend this place if you want to relax or you need to stay near Cork!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
1an1964 wrote a review 15 Feb
1 contribution
I have stayed at the Oriel regularly of the last 18mnts & have always found the facilities & in particular the staff to be first class. The staff are always friendly, very helpful & efficient. The facilities are excellent and always well maintained. The restaurant has a good menu & the quality of the food & service in excellent. The room service team have always been courteous & efficient, even when I have arrived for a late check in. I would thoroughly recommend the Oriel for business or personal use.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ann O wrote a review 11 Feb
Cork, Ireland2 contributions
Disappointed there was no hot water to have a bath on my arrival, and water was only just hot enough to have a shower. Room was a little cool, but I did have a fantastic nights sleep. Breakfast was lovely, Loved the fresh fruit. And pastries!. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice McConnell, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ann O, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us & for your feedback. My sincerest apologies for the issue that you encountered in regard to hot water. I am delighted to read however that you had such an fantastic nights sleep & a lovely breakfast to finish off your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Oriel in the future. Kind regards, Janice McConnell General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DublinIrisheyes wrote a review 11 Feb
dublin9 contributions10 helpful votes
Really enjoyed our night away last night. We struggle as a family of 6 to get a hotel room that will fit us all but this had 2bunks and a king size bed so was ideal. Great value too. Food was gorgeous. Staff very friendly. Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice McConnell, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DublinIrisheyes, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you & all of your family had such an enjoyable stay. Our large family room is indeed an asset for the larger families & make that break away so much better. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Oriel for your next stay. Kind regards, Janice McConnell General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ballincollig area.
PRICE RANGE
€118 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oriel hotel cork, oriel house hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkBallincollig
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ORIEL HOUSE HOTEL - Now €123 (Was €̶1̶4̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Ballincollig, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Oriel House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Oriel House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mary O Connells Bar (0.8 km), Royal Gunpowder Mills (1.0 km), and Ballincollig Castle (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oriel House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Oriel House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Oriel House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oriel House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Horse, Bacco Ristorante Italiano, and Coriander Nepalese and Indian Restaurant, Ballincollig.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oriel House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Oriel House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Ballincollig.
Are any cleaning services offered at Oriel House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Oriel House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Oriel House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cork City Gaol (7.1 km), Blarney Castle & Gardens (5.0 km), and Blarney Stone (5.0 km).
Is Oriel House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.