We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Main Street, Ballincollig, Cork Ireland
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (420)
Room & Suite (170)
Dining (38)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Oriel House Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Ballincollig, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to room service while staying at Oriel House Hotel. In addition, Oriel Hotel offers a pool and an on-site restaurant, which will help make your Ballincollig trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Ballincollig ribs restaurant such as The White Horse, which is a short distance from Oriel House Hotel.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular castles such as Ballincollig Castle.

Enjoy your stay in Ballincollig!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Babysitting
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1490Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 640
  • 415
  • 185
  • 129
  • 121
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hazel M wrote a review 8 Jun
1 contribution
I stayed here for two nights for work reasons. I was looking forward to my stay as many locals had told me this place was brilliant however my experience there was far from it. I had booked a two night summer deal where breakfast was free along with a one course meal. When checking in I tried to book for breakfast the following morning but I was told it was booked up (at 7am on a Tuesday) but to try anyway. Instead when I got to my room I opted for room service. I ordered the basics, tea, toast and cereal but when I received my breakfast there was no butter, milk or sugar meaning my meal was almost inedible. Dinner was a little better but the 8oz steak didn't look no more than a beef fillet which was quite disappointing. The room was less than optimal. I had to book a deluxe room as nothing less was available but a little bit of comfort didn't bother me. What did bother me however was the lack of comfort. The double bed I was given was nothing more than twin beds pushed together with a queen sized sheet put over it, you could clearly feel the the gap between the mattresses. The ceiling in both the bedroom and bathroom had water damage, which was very off putting, and as for the TV half the stations didn't work, it was just static. After my stay here I've been very put off ever coming here again and the €300 I had spent to stay here was very much not worth a single penny.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear hazlemN3428XL, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Feedback is very important to us & I am disappointed to read that you found your recent stay below our usual high standards. I would like the opportunity to speak to you directly in regards to your feedback if you can please contact me on 021 4208400 or email revenuemanager@orielhousehotel.ie Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
DubTwosome wrote a review 7 Jun
Dublin, Ireland1931 contributions477 helpful votes
It’s quite a few years since we last visited this hotel, and we were very pleasantly surprised with the refurbishment works which had been carried out. There’s plenty of free surface and underground parking. Both check-in and out were prompt and professionally handled. Our room was really spacious and clean and there was everything supplied, including bottled water, and an in-room safe for valuables, passports etc. I loved the décor – the carpet was charcoal coloured and the furnishings and wall décor complemented it beautifully. One thing we were delighted with was the number of power sockets around the room. Lack of sockets has often been an issue in hotels, but not in this one. The bed was massive and very comfortable, so we had a great night’s sleep. Unfortunately, we didn’t get the chance to use the leisure centre, but maybe next time. Breakfast was really good – buffet type, with everything you could wish for – including fried and scrambled eggs. We would recommend this hotel if you are down in this area. The village/town is lovely to walk through and there are plenty of shops and eateries around. It was lovely to see how much pride the locals have in their locality; it was just spotless and obviously very well cared for. We will definitely visit here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DubTwosome. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us & for your thoughful words. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Ballincollig & is indeed a beautiful town with lots of amenities to fill your day. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us & that you found every aspect of your stay up to the high standards that the team strive so hard to achieve. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
Kim C wrote a review 7 Jun
3 contributions
We had our wedding in the oriel house hotel in April. I cannot fault one thing. From start to finish everything was amazing. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. When we first met our wedding planner Elaine Gantly, she really put us at ease and from that moment was able to work with us taking all the heavy lifting from us and ensuring our day was exactly what we wanted. Which it was - actually even better than we could have imagined. James the manager on duty the day of the wedding also took the time out to meet us beforehand and ensured everything went to plan. I cannot thank Elaine, James and all the staff enough. We had the wedding of our dreams and its all thanks to the staff in the oriel. The food was amazing, the venue was beautiful and the staff were perfect. I would highly recommend anyone seeking a wedding venue to consider the oriel. I truly mean it when I say we cannot name one fault. We will be forever grateful to the staff for making our fairytale come true.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear KimC3340, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent wedding reception. It was our pleasure to be chosen to host your special day & to look after you, your families & friends on your wedding day. I am delighted that every aspect of your perfect day went to plan & that Elaine, James & our team were able to look after you all so well. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriel, hopefully in the near future. Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
MaryMidleton wrote a review 7 Jun
Cork47 contributions14 helpful votes
We dined here last night - 6th June as non residents. We are locals to Ballincollig but haven't been to the hotel much. Weather was nice so we went to the hotel for a drink - we had such a nice pleasant experience that we decided to stay for dinner. We had the Veg curry and Bangers and Mash. I have to say I am impressed with the waitress who took the order (sorry i didn't get your name) as she knew straight away that the curry was 100% vegetarian and not made with fish sauce or non veg stock as a lot of curry's on menus that are vegetables might not actually be vegetarian (which I am) We had 2 x coffees (yum!) and the Eaton mess for dessert. This was perfect size to share and was full to the brim with berries. Such a nice summery dessert. We will definitely be back to dine here more often
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MaryMidleton, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience & that our team were able to look after you so well. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
Lisa C wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed here recently with a friend for a girly night away and have to say I couldn’t say a bad word. From check in to check out we had an amazing time. Marcus in the bar took great care of us. We had cocktails with dinner and the meal was perfect. A lift straight to the pool was a big hit and we spent plenty time in the pool and jacuzzi area. Being able to control the temperature in our room is always a bonus. I can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear lisacM484FQ, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you & your friend had such an enjoyable girly night away! Marcus is indeed an asset to the hotel & is delighted with the mention! We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Oriel. Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
Derek McCarthy wrote a review May 2022
Cork, Ireland1 contribution
Stayed here for one night in May this year , I must say the room and the facilities were fantastic , from the moment I walked through the door I was made feel very welcome , the staff were very helpful and pleasant in particular Ann Baker , the food was amazing had a great choice , and the breakfast in the morning was very well laid out and had such a choice , I would highly recommend the Oriel hotel for its location, food,friendly staff , facilities and of course the amazing room ,it was so comfortable and had that homely feeling to it....I will defiantly be staying here again....... Derek McCarthy
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear deadlyd49, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with it. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay & that our staff were able to look after you so well! We will look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay. Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
g17crowley05@gmail.com wrote a review May 2022
County Cork, Ireland2 contributions
Had another wonderful club day at this venue. The staff were so helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. Food and service was excellent, and our visiting tutors were very pleased with their accommodation & service. We look forward to being with them again in October .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 14 May 2022
Dear Westcliffe17, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. I am delighted that you & you group had such an enjoyable visit. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for the next Club day! Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
AnD wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Stay here again last night as it is the most convenient hotel for work purposes. Got a room in the basement NO PHONE SIGNAL, NO INTERNET SIGNAL. Only accessible by stairs after coming out of the lift. We booked the Talbot Time Out €244 B and B and 3 course evening meal. So food acceptable, we order a bottle of Malbec out of Malbec we were told out of most red wine. So it came time to pay the bill €12 Supplement for the steak we were no informed of this at any stage remember we were eating from the bar menu. This is our second time staying in about 6 weeks this is our last time the hotel is a joke. The only positive was our server Sinead she was excellent. The manager in the bar was obnoxious to say the least, he informed us that the €12 supplement was acceptable as the hotel was the cheapest around don't think so, and if we had stayed at Kingsley it would be much more expensive, we are still confused as to why he would say that as nobody mentioned the Kingsley. This hotel has to be avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 14 May 2022
Dear donalo839, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us & for your feedback I would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback with you directly if you could please contact me on 021 4208400 or email revenuemanager@orielhousehotel.ie Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
5CorkSarahh wrote a review May 2022
Cork, Ireland12 contributions15 helpful votes
Came here for a christening. Disaster from start to finish. Were seated and didn't see a bite for 1 1/2 hours. Really hard to get a drink here too. Myself and my wife ordered the hake for the main course. I'm so sorry I don't have pictures. Think about 1 fish finger and that's the size ot the piece of fish we got. Potato and vegetables sorrowful. I wouldn't be calling here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid for food
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 12 May 2022
Dear CorkSarahh, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the hotel & for your feedback. I would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback with you directly if you could please contact me on 021 4208400 or email revenuemanager@orielhousehotel.ie Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
melissa forde wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Had our wedding in the oriel last thursday what an amazing hotel , staff are just a pleasure to deal with . Elaine the wedding cordinater was a dream to deal with , took care of everything and made it all stress free for us , she was so hands on , killian was an absolute dote , kept coming to everyones tables making sure everyone was alrite , if we needed anything there was no issue be it extra food etc , would highly recommend this hotel to anyone , excellent service , spotless hotel , cant wait to go back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Baker, Guest Services / Front Office at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 12 May 2022
Dear B6543WBmelissal, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review! It was our pleasure to be chosen to host your special day. Our wedding coordinator Elaine & our banqueting Killian & all the team at the Oriel are indeed assets to the hotel & we are delighted that not only did the hotel meet all your expectations but exceeded them. We will look forward to welcoming you both back to the Oriel, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Anne Baker
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oriel hotel cork, oriel house hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkBallincollig
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oriel House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Oriel House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mary O Connells Bar (0.8 km), Royal Gunpowder Mills (1.0 km), and The Reel Cinema (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oriel House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Oriel House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Oriel House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oriel House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Horse, Drumstix, and Bacco Ristorante Italiano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oriel House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Oriel House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Ballincollig.
Are any cleaning services offered at Oriel House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Oriel House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Oriel House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blarney Castle & Gardens (5.0 km), Cork City Gaol (7.1 km), and Old Cork Waterworks Experience (6.3 km).
Is Oriel House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.