We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bird In Hand Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bird In Hand Country Inn
The Bird In Hand Country Inn
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 365: English reviews
Start your review of The Bird In Hand Country Inn
 Click to rate
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although there are renovation works going on, we had diner there last Friday and as usual found it excellent. The choice and condition of the real ales is my main reason for visiting, but the restaurant food was of a similar high standard. The service was good and the portions generous. At about £13 for a main course it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brummytraveller1234
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff. We are all quite excited about the refurbishment, of which the final phase will commence tomorrow. Jurgens

Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arriving at the hotel, we found out it was under renovation, which was a little disappointing but the staff handled the situation very well and we had a fantastic stay. The suite was lovely with wooden beams and a country inn feel with added luxury such as bathrobes and tea and coffee facilities. We had a light sharing platter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBRicky
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are glad you enjoyed your experience and that our team looked after you and hope to see you back another time. Regards, Jurgens

Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely rooms with everything you need but with great character such as sloping ceilings, friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, great breakfasts, oak beamed bar. Easy access if driving to places such as Windsor, Reading, London and if not driving, staff are happy to arrange taxis and local station only 8 min drive with excellent rail connections

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
Management response:

Thank you for you lovely review. We pride ourselves on looking after our guests and are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Regards, Jurgens

Bucks
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Building works ongoing at present so it appears shut-but is not Ate in bar -cheerful staff- Real ales good. Tried pie of the day-which was steak and ale-but at least it was proper pastry-not that awful pie topping added the chef from a pre match batch chips very good. veg over cooked-not enticing. not crowded, pleasant ambience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChilternRugby
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your pie and the team were friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Jurgens

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Others have already commented that the change of ownership in November 2016 to Wadsworth has produced a lower quality offering of which I would concur. Cafeterie coffee replaced with weak machine offering - not advised when order placed. Chicken & bacon baguette at £6.95 of very average quality with a slice of chicken and a couple small chunks of bacon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alhambra01
Management response:

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feed back. One of our team members have confirmed they do remember your visit. At the time we advised we had a new coffee supplier and also a check back was done during your meal. We hope that if you return you will have a more enjoyable experience. The current refurbishment will...

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

good food, comfortable rooms and good value for money, ideally situated for work with ample free parking. Was having some refurbishment done, but in no way affected the quality of the stay. would visit again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z8394BKlarryh
Management response:

Thank you for your positive response. We are pleased to hear that the current works did not interrupt your stay. Hopefully you will be able to join us again after the works are complete. Kind Regards, Bess

Portishead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The ambiance in this place is very cozy and romantic, and there is a log fire. The standard of service is good and relaxed. The menu is very varied, and I can recomend the steak, it is not cheap, but also offers accomadation. It is probably the best pub in the area, and the accomadation is exquisite, but take your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garylomas
Management response:

Hi Gary, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience, we do try and keep our pricing competitive within the local market. Our log fire will be going for a a little while yet, so hopefully we will see you back to enjoy it again before the Summer...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Stayed here overnight on a Friday before attending an event the next day. Stayed on dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Breakfast good, dinner alright. Thought £70 a head was a too much for the quality of the place at present. Very quiet, we were only residents as far as we could tell. A handful of locals in the pub up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186Steve
Management response:

Hi Steve, Thank you for your recent review. We are currently a bit quieter at the moment due to the renovations we have less room availability. We are always looking to improve on our menu so have taken your comments on board. We hope you will join us again another time when you get to enjoy the new refurbishments. Kind...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

The last time we went here the reception from a member of staff was anything but inviting,we didn't stay ,so it was with some trepidation we booked for Sunday lunch ,what a difference today,the staff were very friendly and the meal was superb . Thank you Bird in Hand

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilarytj
Management response:

Thank you Hilary for your review. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience in the past however are pleased that our team have restored your faith. We hope you will return soon. Many Thanks, Bess

Shurlock Row, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We used to go to the BiH frequently and for some reason it fell off the map for us and it was only this week that we remembered that we hadn't been for some while, so it was off to Sunday lunch in the restaurant. As remembered the meal was excellent and we had a roast chicken and a roast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luemoo
Management response:

Thank you for you lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we hope to see you back soon. Just to confirm for you the Ice-Cream is "Jude's" :) Kind Regards, Bess

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Luxury Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard Double (31)
Viewed
Standard Twin (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Windsor Suite (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowl Hill
6.2 km away
No photo provided
5.7 km away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
198 reviews
11.6 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#7 of 32 in Reading
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
180 reviews
10.5 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,120 reviews
7.1 km away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Bird In Hand Country Inn

Address: Bath Road, Knowl Hill, Maidenhead RG10 9UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead > Knowl Hill
Price Range: €119 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bird In Hand Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bird In Hand Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird In Hand Country Hotel Reading
Reading Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bird In Hand Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bird In Hand Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are romantic and steeped in history...”
 of 5 bubbles garylomas, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for any re-furbished room until all done.”
 of 5 bubbles 186Steve, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They offer some very nice rooms, for instance some friends stayed in the Robin room, they said it was very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 181tinab, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The suites are very nice and have air conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles luvdogs703, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 fab family room. The George the third suite is fantastic for couples or special occasions”
 of 5 bubbles cathymc76, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5