We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matterhorn Inn

#17 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Matterhorn Inn
Matterhorn Inn
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Matterhorn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
Oceanside, California
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great accommodations in a perfect location. Walking distance to shops and some restaurants. Clean rooms, easy parking, wonderful view of Sedona's red rocks from the room. Staff is friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi with pass word from desk was definitely high speed. Not a hotel with on site amenities like a Best Western or the like, but a more intimate,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen P
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Glen P, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We agree that we try to offer a more intimate setting for guests, with great views and a stellar location. We do our best to offer amenities such as free Wi-Fi and mini-fridges in every room, as well as our solar-heated pool and whirlpool Jacuzzi....

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Easy walking distance to shops and food. King size beds very comfortable. Friendly staff very helpful in pointing out places of interest. Very clean, right down to the great smelling soaps. Great views of the RedRocks. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mordelite
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mordelite, Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our beds to be comfortable for your stay. We are also glad you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room, and liked our toiletries—we get compliments on them quite a bit! As always, we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the Sedona area....

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel is located in a great spot in Sedona. The rooms were relatively "low key" (average for a motel, but clean and nicely appointed). I will say we were in one room as a family of four, and we all much prefer a queen size bed to share, but the beds are double beds as stated on their site....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DiSavitz
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear DiSavitz, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you found our location to be accommodating for you and your guests. Although we do not offer Queen size beds, we try our best to offer cozy accommodations in a wonderful location in Uptown Sedona. We also offer roll-away beds if needed. We...

Tucson
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I had made a reservation at another hotel but it was not in the area I wanted to stay. I called the Matterhorn Inn and was able to get a room for the 2 nights and what a great little hotel. Rooms are clean, comfortable and have great views. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jill W
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jill W, Thank you for your review. We do our very best to offer guests a clean, comfortable room with sweeping red rock views to make great memories of their Sedona stay. Our staff is always willing to go the extra mile in giving tips, recommendations and answer any questions you may have about the Sedona area. We thank...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 20 June 2013

With no room booked ahead in Sedona, we were able to call from the road and get a fairly large king room for about $140. While we spent little time in the room except to sleep, it really was a great location. There's a large parking lot behind the motel, and since every room has a similar view, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grollett
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear grollett, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you found the room size to be accommodating for you and your guest. We are also happy to hear that you found our location and red rock views to be wonderful as well. Although...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was my second stay at the Matterhorn Inn, and I love it so much I am staying again in September 2013! The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The location is the best - you are right next door to the shops and restaurants, but don't get any street noise. The views are mind blowing. The beds are comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ozziegirlz
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear ozziegirlz, Thank you for your kind feedback—our staff is glad to hear you had such a wonderful time with us. We are happy to know that the service from our staff exceeded your expectations. We are always willing to give recommendations and tips for visitors, as well as answer any questions you may have. We are glad you took...

Busan, South Korea
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Overrated on trip-advisor. I booked this Inn base on its review. To my experience. Do not read the high rating review, read the poor one, it will give you the fact. Spent over $350 on 2 rooms was wasted. Nothing fancy, old, outdated inn, dirty linen, dirty carpet, dirty ice box, old bathtub and toilet. No parking assigned for over...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Kim L
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights. (Room 42) The staff was great, friendly and knowledgable. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony and enjoying the incredibly view. Our accommodations were good and i'll be back ...I diffidently recommend the hotel. 😊

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carla B
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carla B, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was so helpful to you during your stay. We are delighted that you had a relaxing time enjoying the view from your private deck. We agree that our views are quite incredible! We look forward to your return visit. Thank...

GA
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We went online to book this hotel after inquiring into several around town on our way up to the Grand Canyon. We stayed 2 nights with a balcony room overlooking the Red Rocks. Even though we were on main street, it was quiet. Very clean. Staff was friendly and very courteous. I definitely recommend this hotel. It is very centrally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary P
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mary P, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at our motel. We agree that although we are in the Uptown area, our location on a hill makes for a quiet, relaxing ambiance. We are pleased to know the room exceeded your cleanliness standards, and that our staff gave you friendly, courteous service. We thank...

Poconos PA
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Matterhorn from 5/28/13 - 6/3/13 and we were very pleased with the room, the view, the staff and the location. If you like walking out of your door and having the shops and the restaurants on your doorstep this is the place for you. If you like a room with a view, this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheDrashers
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear TheDrashers, Thank you for giving feedback of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience. It is terrific to know you were pleased with our location, room, view and staff. We try our best to give every guest a comfortable, relaxing stay and we hope to have done that for you....

466 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Double Room (54)
Viewed
King Room (58)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.3 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,116 reviews
3.7 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.3 km away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Price Range: €91 - €146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matterhorn Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Matterhorn Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms face east so the red cliffs and mountains were illuminated by the setting sun. 2nd floor not accessible , no elevator.”
TravelingJohn1953, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on second floor are quieter and have better views of the red rocks.”
Loretta_Gary, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If possible, ask for room on second floor”
SaCarole, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose if 2nd floor room if you're able to carry luggage up one flight of stairs as there is not an elevator.”
dlk547, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I believe ground floor rooms further away from the office have a more street-friendly view.”
PhilL835, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5