We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport\/Downtown Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 388: English reviews
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I've been to the Howard Johnson in California so I read right pass these reviews and booked a room. I got there about 4pm; front desk lady was rude. I'll leave it at that. I was given the room key and went to the room with my 2 boys. The door was slightly cracked open. Other doors there were completely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRANDY C
Guest_relations2k, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to hear about your experience at our facilities. You have made some serious allegations and to this end we will get into the bottom of it take appropriate action. Can assure that things would be very different if you choose to stay with us next time

San Carlos, Mexico
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I stayed at this hotel as a Stay and Park package (or was it Park and stay?) When I arrived late the night before my flight I was a bit concerned about the location and the "look" of the hotel. I wouldn't say they were ideal, but I will say the customer service was great, the bed was very comfortable...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammi1972
Guest_relations2k, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your compliments on our customer service. We always try and go that 'extra' mile. Looks could be deceptive... Your valuable suggestion is well taken and will work on it.

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed here for the convenience of parking our car for the week while our trip to Hawaii, at the check up they asked me for a $20.00 dollar deposit because I payed cash when I asked for my 20 back they told me the lady at the reception told me I had lost it for not asking for it...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback. Guest called from airport and was advised they were welcome to come back for deposit and the guest refused. Also our rooms are inspected and routinely treated for any and all pests.

Dexter, Oregon, United States
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The room was tacky .Needs a major overhaul People at the front desk were nice I didn't feel safe there as several Teenagers sat outside my door The only good thing was the 24 hour Airport run

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy775
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review

All rooms have been remodoled within the past year. we apologize if you did not feel safe if this was brought to our attention we would have made the guest more comfortable. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Was greeted by front desk with a smile. Asked for non smoking room and they didn't hesitate to upgrade at no cost. Shuttle service runs every 20 minutes to Sky Harbor. Only $5 per day parking. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jarrod D
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope to see you in any furture travels.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here a week when I came to Phoenix to work. Desk staff was extremely kind. Very affordable - booked through Wyndham directly. Rooms are pretty basic. Very clean, and the AC blew freezing cold air. In June in Arizona, this is extremely necessary. I liked their suite. Pool in good condition and almost always empty.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica M
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us , we hope to see you soon.

Yuma
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed here for a park and fly deal. The reservation was not on file, when she did find it "Oh, the person who got it logged it wrong. I had requested a handicap room so they gave us upstairs with no elevator. They switched us to downstairs. We washed our face and used the toilet once, that was the...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review

We apologize for your experience during your stay. There was a main water line this particular night and unfortunately caused the entire building's water to be turned off. again we apologize for this unfortunate turn of events.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I stayed at this motel because of its close proximity to the airport. It's an old-fashioned two-story motel where you can park outside your unit. Breakfast was decent. They have a couple of waffle-makers. The room that I had included a kitcnette,

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JSOfan
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated. We wish you safe travels.

Yuma
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Rooms were out dated. Carpet was old and dirty. Room wasn't ready. If you had breakfast at 4:00am. You got mini blue berry and cinnamon muffins and bananas. If you have breakfast at 8:00am, you get none of the above. Won't stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peggyf910
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review

Our apologies for the unconventional experience you may have had during your stay, we strive to keep breakfast stocked at all times even when there high guest volume.

Phoenix
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Checking in at front desk with my kids,i was being asked "why do you like this hotel" ,"why don't you go to a different hotel.And not to mention how one of the hotel managers was in the back of the hotel building doing I don't know what at my window,very creepy and spooked my kids.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 764shaniquag

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Econo Lodge Airport
#80 of 174 in Phoenix
409 reviews
Camelback East
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
#35 of 174 in Phoenix
601 reviews
Sleep Inn Airport
#114 of 174 in Phoenix
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Howard Johnson Airport Downtown offers free 24 hour shuttle service to and from Sky Harbor International Airport, free 24h. shuttle to from Airport. which is less than a mile away, and is located three miles from downtown Phoenix, Tempe and Scottsdale. For your pleasure, there is an outdoor pool with relaxing lounge area. Guests can enjoy a complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast from 4:00am until 9.00am. Our wonderful breakfast consists of "Make Your Own Waffles", 3 types of Kellogg Cereal, 2 types of Minute Maid Juices, fresh fruit, Maxwell House fresh coffee, & much more......The hotel Business Center has fax and copy capabilities as well as a computer and printer, and complimentary wireless high speed internet. The hotel offers ice and vending machines, free parking, free 1-800 calls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area

Address: 4120 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6912
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Price Range: €65 - €313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Airport Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Motel Phoenix
Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area Arizona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you do get an end room so you only have one neighbor--get one on 2nd floor so you dont hear people walking (creeky floors)”
 of 5 bubbles itsdryheat, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get an upper floor room because the floor squeaks alot when you walk around.”
 of 5 bubbles birdlady07, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very close to the airport. Get the rooms facing east to avoid continuous sunlight into the room.”
 of 5 bubbles Shadowstarz, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there are any”
 of 5 bubbles MaryD664, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pick someplace else”
 of 5 bubbles 934dalek, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5