We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Ogden, Utah
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at many Wyndham Hotels. This was by far the worst. Dirtiest room I have ever stayed in. Stained beds spreads, towels and carpets. Heavy dust and dirt in all corners. I left with bad allergies. Manager had a very bad attitude. This location was not worthy of a Wyndham franchise. I would not recommend this location. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank buztravlr
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

I sorry. You didn't explained in your review that you booked the day before and were told that this was the last room we had and that for second night you had to change rooms and were told prior to booking and that both rooms were trashed when you left and the TV screen in the second room was was...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 14 January 2016

This motel is exactly what it is advertised to be. It is a good downtown location, the rooms are comfy, the beds and bathrooms are fine, and the breakfast bar has waffles/fruit/yogurt. It is downtown so it can be noisy with traffic and sirens. You can hear neighbors coming and going, but for the price the hotel is fine. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bamajeremy
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for responding.

Hereford, Arizona
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Arizona
Reviewed 14 December 2015

I stayed here nearly 4 years for 2 nights on business. I gave it a stellar review. So, when my Wife and I needed a room for a night for an event, I thought Super 8! At first blush, it appeared the same as before. Friendly check-in, empty, but clean parking area. That's about where it ended. Walking upstairs to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank retdeltee
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Sorry about your stay. We have a lot of events we guests book for than 1 room. As you said rude clientele. We do our best to keep the noise levels down but no where in your review to I see you notified the desk. The desk is manned 24 hours a day to help you. Please call the desk...

Prescott, Arizona
Reviewed 12 December 2015

The staff were very helpful and polite. Stayed two nights because my husband was in the hospital nearby. The room was fine except the carpet was very soiled and needs replacement in two different rooms that I stayed in

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 863valerier
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We clean our carpets once a month and with high usage we have of our rooms some get dirtier than others. We apologize.

Converse
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schulz D
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewed 28 November 2015

I'll try to be as optimistic as I can with this. The hotel has the quality of an Asian-themed hotel management with the cost value of a mega-franchise, it is sure to have something for everybody. The main amenity I sought after was a place to sleep and it did that very well. Honestly, it was very comfortable and quiet...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TimLegg
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I found it rather funny. Did you read the sign on the side gate, it says Fire Department Entrance. Maybe your GBS was wrong? As far as the view from your window, did you ask anyone if we owned that property. I guess not. The pool was closed for repairs and the breakfast is set by...

Lynnwood
Reviewed 23 November 2015

I found this driving by and stopped late at night without shopping around for prices, so it was a bit pricey for what it was. The night employee at the desk was new but very professional. The room was non-smoking but smelled like smoke and had a cigarette burn in the bedspread, and there were several obvious oversights in cleaning...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda98036
Camp Verde, Az
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Making the reservation was easy online and I was able to get a good rate by reserving my room well in advance of my trip. The room was clean and it was nice to have the microwave and refrigerator. The people at the desk at check in were pleasant and friendly. I was within walking distance of the downtown convention...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 518helenf
Galveston, Texas
Reviewed 16 November 2015

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was older but was kept looking nice. The carpets were very old and showed a lot of wear and were dirty. I did like that the room was on the first floor and the area was quiet. I would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheril315

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#94 of 174 in Phoenix
321 reviews
Econo Lodge Airport
#81 of 174 in Phoenix
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This newly renovated property is located just minutes from the Phoenix Convention Center, Chase Field and the US Airways Center. 100% Smoke Free property. Full service quality at less than half the price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Address: 965 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85006-3369
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Price Range: €78 - €308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Phoenix Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Super Eight Phoenix
Phoenix Super Eight
Phoenix Super 8
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown Arizona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Phoenix Downtown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hong Kong
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Phoenix Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would not recommend this hotel if you want to feel completely safe.”
  • example of what appears to be human hair. Bathroom floor,.
 of 5 bubbles MrAmiga, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No preferences”
 of 5 bubbles grahamb860, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“room was a double, the second bed was in a room to itself (no door but still more private). It was #117.”
 of 5 bubbles 24sherrim, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“I asked for an upstairs room. Very contented. Get a room at the back of the lot, not one near the walkway towards the front office. I saw a lot of foot traffic along that way.”
 of 5 bubbles Shannon211088, 3 Feb 2015 | Read review
“If you must stay here, which I'd advise against, room 201/202 are by far the cleanest and worth hauling your luggage up the staircase for.”
 of 5 bubbles LucyR00, 19 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5