We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TownePlace Suites Phoenix North

Save
Share
9425 N Black Canyon Hwy, Phoenix, AZ 85021-2708
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
US$141
US$131
View deal
SAVE US$10
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$141
US$131
View deal
SAVE US$10
Priceline
Orbitz.comUS$131
TownePlace SuitesUS$141
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#67 of 188 hotels in Phoenix
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to one of the most comfortable North Phoenix extended-stay hotels, the TownePlace Suites Phoenix North. Our modern accommodations appeal to the long-term traveler, with suites ranging from individual studios to two-bedroom units featuring fully equipped kitchens and all the necessary amenities to ensure you maintain the same daily routine as you do at home. Our extended-stay hotel is located in North Phoenix, AZ near Castles N' Coasters and next door to the Black Canyon Conference Center. The Bureau of Land Management National Training Center and Grand Canyon University are also just minutes away. We help guests maintain their daily routines by providing a complimentary, hot breakfast each morning, free wireless high-speed Internet access and an on-site fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, as well as an outdoor pool to stay cool during the warm temperatures. Discover one of the most welcoming extended-stay hotels in North Phoenix, TownePlace Suites Phoenix North.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast buffet
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
195Reviews6Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 72
  • 19
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TaeB wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
I came here as a travel nurse and found this place online. I wish I had read the reviews first! My first time in AZ and it was bad. The overall room size was fine for what I needed. I was due to stay for a 13 week assignment. After about eight days it was canceled. I spoke with a young gentlemen, I don't remember his name, who I informed of my situation and went to turn my room keys in. He reminded me I was booked there until the end of May which I told him was no longer needed, again! He wasn't rude or hateful just seemed "spaced out". He took my two key cards on Mon, 3-8-21, and told me to have a good day. I contacted the company and was told "we will look into it". I didn't have high hopes. Today, I woke up to over $1000 taken out of my account and a pending $240 from Towneplace Suites. The property: For my first impression of AZ it was ok. The outside pool looked clean. The building I stayed in smelled heavily of smoke and was dark in the hallways. I stayed for eight days. In that time I witnessed what I'm pretty sure was a drug deal, dogs barking at all hours of the night, and a constant odor of smoke in the room. It was semi clean and definitely the worst room I've been in associated with Marriott! I'm a rewards member and I have never written a bad review of any of their hotels. This was more like a Super 8! This place also seems to be used for long term rentals. I have decided to file a complaint with corporate. Being charged from 3/8/21-3/19/21 for a stay I wasn't even in the state of AZ for is crazy! Of course, after speaking with the staff yesterday, I didn't expect much. All they could say was, "I'll check into it. It says you're here until the end of May". Clearly, it did originally, but when I checked out and turned in the key cards it should have been deleted. I specifically told the young man I was checking out and leaving the state since my job contract had been canceled.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Smoke filed rooms and loud neighbors.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie VanPelt, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Trvlnrs26, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your experience of the Towneplace Suites. I sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations. I did research your stay and have refunded the amount owed back to you. This is will take anywhere from 3-7 business days to see that credit back on your account. I do apologize that the front desk agent did not change your check out date when you advised that you were checking out and have worked with him on changing reservations when situations like this arise. Thank you again and we hope to see you again the the future! Thank you, Bonnie VanPelt
Read more
MJ P wrote a review Mar 2021
Rochester, Minnesota58 contributions20 helpful votes
Having stayed at many Marriott properties, we came here with high expectations. The quality of the property is very poor. The cleanliness, the upkeep, and the condition of both the rooms and the buildings is subpar. The floors were filthy, the room door was stuck and misaligned, the bedroom door had a kicked in hole. It appears as if the property has moved to long term rentals which made it feel less accommodating as a vacation hotel. I would not recommend staying here at all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie VanPelt, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
Responded 13 Mar 2021
Hello mjp_13 Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We have made many improvements to the property as in the cleanliness and maintenance/ upkeep of the overall hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss further as this is not acceptable and would like to make the situation better for you and other future guests. Thank you, Bonnie VanPelt
Read more
Mamaof4inMN wrote a review Feb 2021
Lakeville, MN8 contributions4 helpful votes
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Made us feel welcome. Corporate needs to invest in this property. Not enough sheets, towels, and blankets. We were given two towels for a family of 5. Told to get 2 extra towels, we had to give the 2 we used to the laundry facility because they didn't have enough to spare. Asked for extra sheets and 2 spare blankets since we were using the pull out bed in the couch. Staff had to scramble to find those and the blankets were old, cheap, and gross. Bathroom was old and stained. The sink faucet came off in my son's hand. The front door to our room stuck so bad, my husband was the only one strong enough to get it open. We came during COVID. Not a breakfast buffet as advertised, just continental with muffins, juice, cereal, yogurt, Nutragrain bars. Marriott needs to put some money into this place so it feels like a Marriott, not like a Super8.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie VanPelt, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
Responded 1 Mar 2021
Dear Mamaof4inMN, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during these unpredicted times and completing an review for our property. I do sincerely apologize for all these issues you had to encounter while staying with us. I have shared your feedback and have policies in place so future guests would not have to deal with these same concerns. We have added more items to our breakfast, have increased our linen supplies, and made some improvements to our maintenance schedule. We hope that we can regain your loyalty and trust in Marriott and give us another try. Thank you again. Bonnie VanPelt Once
Read more
lynnyj13 wrote a review Jan 2021
nd45 contributions25 helpful votes
Everything about this hotel was gross. The room was dirty, there were suspicious "stains" everywhere. Tammy at the front desk was rude, rude, rude. The parking lot was full of people who appeared to be on drugs and made us feel unsafe at times. Our smoke alarm went off twice in the middle of our first night, and was only fixed when my husband pulled it down and disabled it by taking out the battery. When I went to speak to Tammy about upgrading our room due to the smoke alarm problem she asked if it had gone off again. I said no- we had disabled it. She then said-good , then it's fixed. We stayed in our yucky room. I am so glad that she was comfortable with us staying in a room with a smoke alarm that didn't work. I would not recommend this place at all. I have written many reviews and none have been negative...until Tammy and the Townplace Suites.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie VanPelt, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
Responded 1 Mar 2021
Dear lynnyj13, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to complete a review of the TownePlace Suites Phoenix North. I do sincerely apologize for our customer service not meeting your expectations. This is not a reflection on how we treat our guests moving forward. I have shared your feedback with the entire team to ensure this does not happen again. I do hope we can earn your respect and trust back as we have made some huge improvements to our property and team training in place. Thank you, Bonnie VanPelt
Read more
28darcyf wrote a review Sep 2020
Riverside, California55 contributions38 helpful votes
We spent two nights at the Townplace Suites this week. This was our third time staying here in the last two years. We have a student at GCU and we prefer the Marriott hotels that offer the two bedroom suite option for when we are in town. Residence Inn was not available so we did our second choice, Townplace Suites. After this visit, we more than likely will not be back. 

 This hotel needs some MAJOR improvement. The grounds are very rundown. Sidewalks need some major pressure washing and cleaning. They were dirty and sticky. Cigarette butts in the rocks. Piles and piles of dog poop in the rocks. Not sure if this hotel is offering some sort of housing to homeless people during the Covid crisis, but there were quite a few questionable people hanging in the the front lobby and coming out of the buildings. I watched one help herself to an abundance of the antibacterial wipe packets on the counter. In addition to the two bedrooms, we like to stay where a kitchen or kitchenette is available. There was only two plates, one coffee cup, two sets of silverware. No glasses. No kitchen towels. No paper towels, no dish soap, no dishwasher soap, no coffee for the coffee maker. All things that have come with this room in the past. The couch had frayed upholstery. The couch and foot rest were dirty and had pet hair. Carpet in the living room had huge spots. The complimentary breakfast is different right now because of Covid, which we completely understand. But there wasn’t even any coffee available. The kitchen attendant gave us two packages of coffee for us to return to our room to make it. 
Despite the rooms being non-smoking, our room smelled horrible of cigarette smoke. We watched people come out the door to the building and stand right there to smoke. We saw this in the building we were in and the second building. The air conditioning units probably sucked in smoke all day long. We smelled Pot a few times. The a/c units are loud and smell. The unit in one of our bedrooms smelled moldy. Beds are hard and our bed had broken springs. 
The shower ceiling had spots of black mold. The shower curtain really needs to be bleached, washed, or replaced. There was only 2 sets of towels/washcloths. There was only one thing of shampoo and one bar of soap. No Kleenex. I had to go to the front desk on the first night to ask for more towels and shampoo/conditioner, as we are a family of 4. The second night I had to go to the front desk and ask for toilet paper. There was no extra roll of toilet paper under the sink.
 The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and helpful each time I had to go and ask for something. 

 We know CoVid has resulted in the changing of how a lot of things are done. But we have stayed at several Marriott owned hotels since the beginning of the CoVid pandemic in March and we have never experienced any of the things we did at this Townplace Suites. 

I was told by the gentleman at the front desk that due to CoVid, items can’t be left in the rooms because the virus lives on surfaces. And whatever is left in the room after a guest leaves has to be thrown out in case of contamination. There are things that can be done to make guests stay more enjoyable and less bothersome by going without or going to the front desk to ask for supplies needed and still do things safely. 

Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bonnie VanPelt, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
Responded 28 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review of your experience you had at the TownePlace Suites. I do sincerely apologize that we fell short of what you expected. During these unpredicted and unsure times, we have made several changes including minimizing the amenities in our guest rooms to help reduce the spread of COVID-19. We do have the extra amenities available at the front desk upon request. Also, thank you for bringing the cleanliness issues to our attention. We have addressed this with the staff to ensure that this is not an ongoing issue moving forward. We do hope that you will give us another try in the future whenever you are back in the Phoenix area. Thank you, Bonnie VanPelt
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
towneplace suites phoenix metrocenter mall hotel phoenix
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaPhoenixNorth Mountain
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
Which popular attractions are close to TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Nearby attractions include Castles N' Coasters (0.4 km), Tim Finnegan's Irish Pub (0.6 km), and Metrocenter Mall (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Conveniently located restaurants include First Watch, Texas Roadhouse, and LongHorn Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to TownePlace Suites Phoenix North?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sahuaro Ranch Park (7.0 km).
Is TownePlace Suites Phoenix North accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.