We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix

Show Prices
#69 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Start your review of Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix
 Click to rate
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It has a few quirks but it was safe and comfortable for our two nights in Phoenix. We liked that the downstairs is well secured with a gate though it is a door on the outside Motel, but it is kind of secluded in our opinion. Clean room and comfortable bed, staff was polite though not super friendly. Not much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gratefulrick
31310Mark, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Your comfort is our top priority, so it’s wonderful to know your stay was pleasant. share your experience.Thank you for taking your valuable time to rate our property. Cleanliness and safety are our primaries priority. Great to hear that you enjoyed free parking, breakfast, and cleanliness. We enjoy hearing that you found our service friendly, location convenient and...

Chino Hills, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Mark always provides great service when I'm over here visiting my daughter at ASU. I've been staying here for a couple years before they changed the name. It's the best deal and location when visiting the Downtown area. I have known Mark since then and I always have the best stay when here. I will continue to stay here when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeandMarcyC
31310Mark, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear, Marcy Your comfort is our top priority, so it’s wonderful to know your stay was pleasant. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We enjoy hearing that you found our service friendly, location convenient and accommodations comfortable. We appreciate your review and recommendation and look forward to your return. Thank you, Mark/manager GM.AZ425@choicehotels.com 602-254-7247

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice little motel, for a reasonable price, walking distance to Convention Center for a fraction of the price of big hotels. The owners are the nicest people on earth, always available to help and assist you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 87fernando
31310Mark, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your stay! We are so happy to see your stay was pleasant and you found our staff to be friendly. Thank you again and we look forward to your future return. Rodeway Inn downtown -Mark/Manager

Santa Maria, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our son found this place on hotels.com. After checking TripAdvisor, the ratings looked pretty good! What the hell people?!?! We walked into the lobby and smelled curry that was trying to be masked by cheap air fresheners. We checked in, went up to the room and couldn't believe it. It was a tiny room, with a bed spread that looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OzzyKO
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As we drove up to the hotel a homeless person with a dog was camped out in the parking lot. The bathroom was clean but the bedside table had many months of dust accumulation on the bottom shelf. The bedspread was cheap and not clean. We don't expect a lot from the brand, but for more than $100/day, I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LOMike
31310Mark, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding cleanness in room on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with housekeeping team to ensure we handle these types of...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a early appointment downtown and needed to stay somewhere close overnight. Most of the other more upscale hotels wanted between $180 and $250 plus tax . We decided to take a chance on a less expensive one and chose the Rodeway. We were a little dismayed by the outside appearance but pleased with the friendly welcoming manager and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher B
Mark M, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your stay! We are so happy to see your stay was pleasant and you found our staff to be friendly. Thank you again and we look forward to your future return.Mark/Manager

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 22 December 2016

My wife and I stayed here one night before an early PHX flight, We chose this property to avoid freeways in morning rush hour traffic. This is everything a budget choice should be. Check in was very friendly. The room was spotless and quiet. Nothing fancy, but it did have a fridge and good TV. They have coffee and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve A
Mark M, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for staying with us while visiting Phoenix. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be clean and comfortable our beds and the encounters with our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.Mark/ Manaer

Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here because it was in walking distance from the Talking Stick Resort Arena (.8 of a mile). Easier to walk then have to worry about driving downtown and parking. It was also very reasonable ($75). Hotel was very clean (one of the cleanest I've stayed at), friendly staff. Breakfast wasn't much, but we hit the McDonald's down the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heidi H
Mark M, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review

Thank you Heidi. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Rodeway inn Downtown Phoenix. from your stay. We are always after the perfect stay from start to finish. Being nestled in the perfect spot of downtown Phoenix . We will be working hard to improve before the next stay as I know we are...

Anthem, Arizona
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

This is the place for clean, safe, lowest price, great service in its part of downtown Phoenix. Liked the well lighted street and parking. This newly remodeled Choice motor-inn felt more like an upscale brand than I had thought of Rodeway previously, nice... now I'll consider more of same. And yes, would return here. Congrats to Mark, Manager!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert A
Mark M, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you very much for the positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and our hotel facilities during your stay with us. Proud to having guest like you! For your future reservation directly to get guaranteed lowest price rodewayinndowntownphx.com

Reviewed 18 November 2016

This is one of the cheapest hotels I have stayed. The bathroom is extremely small. The air conditioner is noisy. The parking lot is small. The location is okay, it is close to the convention center. If you are the cheap guy that counts every cent, this is your place. The breakfast is okay, the fridge worked fine, the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrTravelerForever
Mark M, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear Guest this is a cheap hotel compared to Hilton it is a Comfortable Budget Hotel thank you for staying with us we hope to see you again in the future.-mark-Manager

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#94 of 173 in Phoenix
313 reviews
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#28 of 173 in Phoenix
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Official Description (provided by the hotel) Welcome to Rodeway inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 40 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Rodeway inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field,Talking Stick Arena, Phoenix Convention Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica T heatre, Orpheum Theatre,St.joseph Hospital,Phoenix childrens hospital and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix

Address: 402 W van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1635 (Formerly Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Price Range: €73 - €184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Budget Hotel Downtown Phoenix
Budget Motel Downtown Phoenix
Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix Arizona
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#15 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#30 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Phoenix, Arizona
6 days ago
Schaumburg, Illinois
21 days ago
4 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms farther back from Van Buren.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveTheCoach, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you like a quiet room, try the south west corner (away from the main office)”
 of 5 bubbles Brian_D9444, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I loved the upstairs balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles mtrinko, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pick the first floor on the main bulding.”
 of 5 bubbles 74cristiann, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Close to the Artsy Close to the arty Rooselvelt neighborhood”
 of 5 bubbles MesquiteTree23, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5