We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Panoramas (42)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,528: English reviews
Wall Township, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Pricey, but worth it! Great location! Double beds in our room were very comfortable, but small. Satellite pool right outside our room made it feel like we had our own private pool, although this pool and area needs attention. Always plenty of cold water bottles available throughout the resort. Don't miss the happy hour, 4pm-6pm, at the Jade Lounge-Excellent sangria,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sanctuary and taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are very happy that you had such a wonderful visit with us. Glad you were able to take advantage of and enjoy the satellite pool. They offer a relaxing setting for our guests who want a little more privacy. It is great you...

Deerfield, Illinois
Reviewed 9 April 2015

The Sanctuary Camelback Mountain is an extraordinary resort that we have now visited three times; we will return here. Per its name, it is set in an idyllic location. It is a boutique (smaller-sized) hotel. The rooms are beautiful; the food is amazing, the spa is superb,the views are stunning, the service is over the top. This is a different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to return and stay with us for a third time. We are delighted and honored you consider us your “happy place.” Glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at elements and the spa. We are sorry for the inconvenience the AC unit caused during your visit. It is good to hear that engineering...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Returned for a second stay with a group of girlfriends looking for a sunny escape. We were last here 2 years ago and loved the spa treatments and fitness classes as well as the stunning views. Fitness classes and spa treatments fantastic, staff are courteous and very good. Views are stunning, a simple hike will restore and challenge you. Resort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muthoni M
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to return and stay with us a second time. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the spa and fitness options available at the resort and that you loved your suites. We want to apologize for the issues and inconvenience caused by the children at the main pool. We normally have a no children policy on...

DC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

This was a return trip with friends, and while we still loved the overall vibe, the grounds, and the facilities, there were a few significant problems this time. The restaurant is overpriced for what it serves ($40 for a piece of salmon?), and the service so-so. And the pool during much of our visit was overrun with unsupervised children, screaming,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DCbased
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sanctuary for your recent getaway with friends. We are glad that you enjoyed the grounds and facilities during your stay; however, we sincerely apologize that you felt you did not get a good value for your money at elements. We always want to provide world-class service to our guests and are sorry to learn we did...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Hit and miss is the best way I can describe Sanctuary Camelback Mountain. They have beautiful real estate and just about as well located to hikes as they could be, I suppose. The people there are very nice and friendly but the follow through was poor. Service poor to average. They include a Keurig in the room with k-cups; I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TexasTravelBird67
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience. While we are happy that you enjoyed the resort setting, we are deeply sorry for all of the service related issues you had throughout your stay. We always try our best to provide world-class service and...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 7 April 2015

After a family gathering in Scottsdale, my husband and I and our teenage daughter needed a place to relax for a few days. My sister had been to Sanctuary and recommended for its pools and spa, mountain setting, and casita-style rooms. I am so glad I took her advice: it was perfect. The pool area never felt crowded. The exercise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annieurban
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sanctuary for your family getaway. We are glad we were able to help you wind down from your family gathering and enjoy a few days of relaxation. It is great to hear that you enjoyed everything from the room to the pool and the fitness classes. We are glad you were able to enjoy a treatment...

Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 6 April 2015

My wife and I spent two nights in this beautiful and relaxing resort. We stayed in a luxurious "Casita" that was near the pool. We had relaxing spa treatments that energized us for the upcoming week of hiking in the mountains up north. The amenities were par excellence and the staff treated us very well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valleye
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

We are delighted you and your wife had such a wonderful visit with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your casita and that you had a great experience at the spa. We are very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you during your visit and that you enjoyed all the amenities the resort has to...

Germantown, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 April 2015

This was our 2nd stay at Sanctuary -- and both visits were remarkable. The grounds are stunning. The entire staff is competent, polite and accommodating. Our suite was very comfortable and clean -- and quiet! The view of the surrounding area was spectacular. There are a number of exceptional activities at the resort, making it a superb destination.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to come stay with a second time. We are very happy that both visits were so spectacular. It is great to hear that our staff took such good care of you during your visit. Glad you enjoyed the suite and the surrounding views the property has to offer. It’s always great to hear that our guests...

Summit, NJ
Reviewed 30 March 2015

This was our 4th visit to Sanctuary on Camelback since 2007. It gets better each year, with the most beautiful views, great food at Elements by Chef Beau and relaxing on the patio at the Jade Bar. We hardly left the resort this trip. No need to. Staff all super nice, from the bellman in front, to Natasha, the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCaron42
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for coming back and staying with us for a fourth time. It is always a huge compliment and honor when our guest choose to return multiple times. We are very happy that your experience gets better and better every time you stay. Glad you were able to enjoy a meal at elements and relax on jade bar’s patio....

Redwood City, California
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We stayed in Casa 2 - with out own pool and tennis court. Awesome house and all the amenities were included. They had a nice basket of cheese and crackers and flowers. The 3 bedrooms were perfect. We played tennis and enjoyed the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1GiantsMS
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sanctuary during your most recent visit to Arizona. We are glad you had such a wonderful visit and enjoyed Casa 2 so much. It is always nice having your own private pool to relax by and we are happy you felt the same way. Sounds like you made the most of...

916 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (586)
Viewed
View from Room (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (164)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Exclusive King Suite with Mountain View (37)
Viewed
Pools (27)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Price Range: €308 - €1,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanctuary Camelback Mountain staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sanctuary Camelback Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not miss out on visiting the spa! Views from the restaurant/lounge are unbeatable. Catch the sunset from up there.”
 of 5 bubbles B6257FZannam, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Casitas in the 200 range have great views and large living room and bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles 651janicef, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get upgraded to a "spa suite" with all the amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles Johnsotr, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I have only stayed in a mountain casita and both times we had a kitchen... which was wonderful but I think you have to request it.”
 of 5 bubbles jeannejas1, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I prefer the Mountain Suites but that's just me.”
 of 5 bubbles hueypr, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5