We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal Chimenea

Hostelworld.comUS$20*
View Deal
#7 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hostal Chimenea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Chimenea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 239: English reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights. The hotel fits to banos as place to relax. We used the local massage service and like it. The rooms are simple but nice and clean. We had our one bathroom and hot water for just 20$. This is a really good price value you get for Ecuador.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sebastian R
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Like my title implies, this hostel wasn't anything special. Pros: - decent price for rooms - nice sized private rooms - quite clean - nice view from rooftop Cons: - staff impersonal and not really helpful - available kitchen had almost no utensils for guest use (everything was locked up) which was extremely frustrating when trying to cook - the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharissa j
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hostel is far from the bus station but near the hot springs. I felt a good location as the roof terrace had good views. The dorm rooms were a little tight in size but had space outside to dry things. The internet and services were good and breakfast tasty yet not too expensive. The pool is very cold and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
La Paloma, Ometepe Island, Nicaragua
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a budget friendly hostel with affordable spacious rooms, most with balconies. The location is perfect! It's close to the public baths and restaurants. It met most of our needs except for the wi-fi which was non-existant in the rooms and very weak, even in the lobby near the router. I have 2 suggestions for this hostel 1 put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyGypsytoes
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hostel was actually quite dissapointing. it has so much potential, but the owners seem to squander this potential. We stayed 4 nights, and the only workers who talked congenially with us were the two masseuses. They were polite, talked with us, and more then exceeded expectations. The rest of the staff seemed cold and distant, and whenever we would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ErichKamprath
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just finished a 5night stay at hostal chimenea. The hostel itself is in a good area, with some great views of the mountain and nearby waterfall. Rooms are clean and spacious. Staff service was pretty average, not particularly friendly or forthcoming with advice on the local area. There were a few annoying things that made the stay more unpleasant including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciara-L8
Cuenca, Ecuador
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a very clean place run by a very nice family. Overall, I recommend it so let me get to the areas where they could improve: 1) improve the wifi connection--it goes out all the time and sometimes you can't even find the network on the terrace 2) get some comfortable armchairs for the lobby and the terrace so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MerrillSmith
Houston
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for 5 days in February 2014. The internet quality was terrible - this was clearly a recurring issue. The internet almost never worked in the rooms, and worked in the spot with the best signal (the roof) only under ideal conditions. Finally, the noise was simply unbearable. There was shouting every night until 11 or so, and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brandon G
Hostalchimenea, Propietario at Hostal Chimenea, responded to this review

Regards Bernardo The service provided by our hostel is focused on meeting the needs of our customers and do it with love and respect. Sorry about the difficulties you had with the internet because unfortunately our supplier had problems, we now have a new one to better serve our guests. We clarify that our facilities have constant cleaning and we...

UK
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Excellent hostel. Friendly staff, great facilities (pool, hot tub, sauna cubicles, everything is walkable. A lovely single, en suite room with a balcony. Bed made / new towel every day. I extended my stay as it is so comfortable. It's better than many business hotels that I've stayed in around the world. Couldn't recommend this place more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJPL
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Hostal Chimenea for 3 nights and loved it. We arrived much later than our reservation but the guy at the front desk did not mind and let us into our room, giving us a handout with all the information about the hostel, in English. Our room, a private double, was a great deal (I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John N

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
1.6 km away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.3 km away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 28 in Banos
67 reviews
0.1 km away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
La Petite Auberge
La Petite Auberge
#13 of 28 in Banos
88 reviews
0.4 km away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#3 of 42 in Banos
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Chimenea is a comfortable, safe and modern hostel: we offer dorms and private rooms with ensuite bathrooms, balconies, hot water and excellent views of the surroundings. Our prices are 8.50 and 10.00 per person include internet and tax. Our hostel offers a panoramic terrace, private parking, restaurant/cafe, guest kitchen, book exchange, board games, luggage storage, free internet and Wi-Fi, steam health bath, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Chimenea

Address: Luis A. Martinez y Rafael Vieira, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Price Range: €16 - €24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Chimenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Chimenea Banos
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banos
#4 Spa Hotel in Banos
#4 Family Hotel in Banos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Chimenea staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Chimenea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a high up floor facing the central courtyard for a view of the waterfall”
joannahc, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a private room”
korynh2017, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a quiet location, they're willing to help you”
maryjR5343LA, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some people hang out late near the pool and talk...ear plugs help.”
JPRamsey, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The dormitory room was considered a multi-person room, but second floor rooms are quite spacious.”
mjc0sta, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$20* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$27
TripAdvisorUS$27
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates