I was based here for two stays on this trip, 3 nights before an Antarctic cruise and 1 night after, in single rooms with private bathroom. The house is charming and has nice common areas. I would have liked to hang out there if the weather was bad. Wi-Fi on the ground floor was good. Breakfast was simple, with eggs cooked to order. The staff were very friendly and eager to help although some had limited English, but we managed, it was part of the fun. I paid in USD cash to avoid any exchange rate issues.
Stayed here with three friends in two rooms for several nights. Rooms were nice but very hot! Lots of stairs between the rooms ( 2 flights up for breakfast) but the rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. Breakfast was plain and simple, cereal, toast and they will scramble an egg for you. Ana Burmudez was a welcoming wealth of information on where to go/eat and what to see. The wifi is weak though. Great location at the top of the hill in town.
The room was so bad we had to leave at Midnight on our first day to find acceptable accommodation elsewhere and did not stay in this hotel at all. Most importantly we booked a room guaranteeing curtains and blackout blinds. This was listed on the IN THE ROOM section of the hotels.com website. The room allocated to us had neither. In fact there were old table cloths hanging over windows that did not even meet in the middle and massive uncovered windows above them. We were also guaranteed a tea/coffee maker in the room but we had neither. The private staircase to our room was in total darkness with exposed wires hanging out of the light socket. I tripped several times on the stairs and could not lock or unlock the door without using the light from my phone. The sliding toilet door did not work and jammed closed while I was inside. The bathroom was not a proper room but simply a partioned area without a ceiling allowing even more light into the bedroom and preventing any privacy. The bed was covered with a stained bedspread and the old duvet was placed on the bed without any duvet cover. This was unhygienic and not the standard expected in any accommodation. The afternoon tea snacks were left out uncovered and were still there when we left at midnight. Although the communal area was charming our bedroom was not acceptable. The owner’s son agreed with our assessment telling us that previous guests had complained. He was unable to rectify any of the problems on site and paid for our taxi to another hotel. The owner replied to our email and denied everything. A dishonourable liar. We are pursuing this through hotels.com and further avenues if necessary. We have never had such a bad experience anywhere in the world. NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL…
We stayed here 3 nights. Had a large room with a comfortable bed. The room was warm (it was 2'C outside) as it had gas heaters. We were a bit concerned about them as there were no instructions on how to work them but the manager showed us how. Some of the lights in our room didn't work well. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. They even did some coffee and cake for us the morning we left as it was before breakfast time. It's a bit out of town, up a hill. We had a car but if you don't it would be a reasonable walk. Lots of stairs in the house and not very well lit.
Stayed there with a buddy of mine for 6 days. We had originally planned on camping in the National Park, but ran into bad weather so we stayed here for much longer. The members of the hotel were very friendly, there was hot water and it was very clean. The breakfast every morning was lovely and they will cook you eggs if you ask. You can definitely tell that it was once a house or apartment building, but I think that added to the home-y feeling. I would recommend this to friends and family.