We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostel Square Independencia

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostel Square Independencia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Square Independencia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

I'm never staying in another hostel in Mendoza. This is our second time here and the whole place is on point. The staff has to be some of the most friendly. Kitchen is large and actually built for multiple people to be able to cook. Beds are large and comfortable, the free wine every night is a great way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MayKing01
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night but it seems like a great, social hostel. The free wine is a nice idea and having the choice of pancakes or eggs for breakfast is amazing in a hostel! The room was large although it got very warm. Bathrooms could definitely be improved but there was hot water at least. Biggest disappointment for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
Whistler, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Great social hostel without being a party hostel. Free wine in the evenings and a large kitchen to allow self catering. Would highly recommend if wanting to meet people without having to been intoxicated by 9pm! Staff very friendly and helpful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WillWhistler_Canada
Bárbara G, Gerente at Hostel Square Independencia, responded to this review

Thank you very much! We are happy you have a nice stay and we hope you have a nice travel !!! :)

Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

I really enjoyed the time iv stayed in here. The atmosphere was great, the staff is warm and each one of them would do his best to help you with any kind of problem. special thank to Barbara, who helped me alot in many fields and really cared alot..thank you ! The BBQ is delicious and the kitchen is well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nir H
Bárbara G, Director de Recepción at Hostel Square Independencia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nir, un placer tenerte en el hostel!! Nos alegra que hayas disfrutado tu estadía, tratamos de hacer lo posible para...

Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

We were so disappointed by this place. We weren't given the room we originally found on Hostelworld because the receptionist said it had bed bugs, so we stayed in another one. All three of us got bitten anyway, and others at the hostel complained of bites as well. We eventually asked them to cover the cost of washing our clothes,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Layla R
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I booked one night via hostelworld. After I arrived, I decided that I wanted to add more nights. When I went to pay for more nights, they tried to charge me more than what was listed at hostelworld website. I told them that I was trying to save them from having to pay 12% commission to hostelworld, so they finally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronaldsk539
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 23 October 2015

I stumbled upon Independence by word of mouth... I was looking for a cheap place to stay with a cozy vibe. This place was just the ticket, the quaint location is ideal for a local type of experience... if you stay at a hostel on "Aristides street" you will be directly on the street with all the night life. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanna M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2015

The free wine every night for 2 hours is what brought us here. Yes it's cheap, but it's not that bad. It made the hostel so socialiable, we made amazing friends here. We stayed in the 6 bed dorm. The bunk was squeaky and not the comfiest, but by this point none of us cared as we were happily wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lj785
Mauricio L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Square Independencia, responded to this review

Perfect ! thanks for that, It is nice to hear you had great time with us !!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

This hostel was really good and very social after the free wine comes out at 7pm. The rooms were average. They did have power points for charging your stuff beside the beds in our 6 dorm. The free breakfast was a highlight here with crepes, pancakes, hard boiled eggs and eggs to order as you like, fruit, bread, tea/coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John G
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights and tried to find the cheapest place I could (Argentina broke my bank balance). This hostel is certainly ideal for a tight budget - the breakfast of eggs and pancakes is also great! The rooms are pretty spacious as well. The main downfall is the cleanliness of the bathrooms - they are DISGUSTING....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RachBloom

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.1 km away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#14 of 83 in Mendoza
758 reviews
0.3 km away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 83 in Mendoza
2,345 reviews
0.5 km away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 83 in Mendoza
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#13 of 83 in Mendoza
988 reviews
0.4 km away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#12 of 83 in Mendoza
696 reviews
0.3 km away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 83 in Mendoza
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Owner has over 30 years of travel experience and really understands what nowadays travelers are looking for.Hostel Independencia is located in the heart of downtown Mendoza, few steps from the Independencia Square, the center of concerts, recreational and cultural activities. This restored old mansion was built in 1910, giving the hostel an incomparable atmosphere and ample spaces ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Square Independencia

Address: Avenida B Mitre 1237, Mendoza M5500EHH, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Price Range: €13 - €52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Square Independencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Square Independencia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try get a room off the street side, rubbish collection happens at 5am every morning”
 of 5 bubbles kookooforcocoapuffs, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for the most quiet room available”
 of 5 bubbles 677rustys, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Pick a room size that corresponds to your group size”
 of 5 bubbles nickbN6996NS, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The private room is not too big, but is a great/cheap option without having to sleep in the same room as a bunch of people”
 of 5 bubbles JimD2001, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Try not be too close to the single bathroom, but make sure the fan works as its a must!”
 of 5 bubbles kiwiphototraveler, 6 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay