We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Itaka Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Itaka Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Itaka Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 41: English reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great café attached to hostel with great free breakfast. Pool and outdoor common area is nice! Ping pong table is fun. Nice upper balcony too. Great location. I do however wish that the receptionists were more helpful with reservations and plans, I didn't realize it at the time but I've been too many other hostels that were much more accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merrydaily
valencia
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I'm a trooper, so i can stay in filthy hostels and still have a good time. This hostel was a bit on the dirty side, our room was full of bugs and seemed that the cleaning lady hasn't been doing her job very well, but for the price was not a problem for me. I do have to complain about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank islatur1
itakahostel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Glad to know you had a good time and enjoy Gaston's company - he's indeed a great host. We'll take your review into consideration and try to improve so not only you but yor gf can hace a positive experience. Regards.

Santiago
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank st_marta
itakahostel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the city as well as the hostel very much. The rooms were clean and the hostel is located very close to the centre. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even after my stay, they took the trouble to send me my USB-stick I left at the hostel. Thanks again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xcaebux
itakahostel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback! Don't hesitate to visit us again if your ever come back to Mendoza. XX

Dublin
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I booked a night here over Easter weekend and arrived at 1am to be told I would need to check out at 10am the next day as they had no room the next night (fair enough, my bad), David on reception had no suggestions of any other hostels I could look at, so I spent a couple of tiring hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aoife_ob
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear you had such a bad experience while staying at Itaka and that we didn't meet your expectations. Regarding not being treated as all our guests deserve to, let me tell you we've taken action and staff members that were rude to you (and unfortunately to other guests...

Reviewed 10 April 2013

Mendoza es linda! But this hostel is just OK. The staff was nice at first, but annoyed with any requests after check-in. They didn't tell us that there was a party of 30+ teenage Argentines staying with them when a friend and I checked into the last available beds, and that didn't make our first few nights very hospitable, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gfunkp
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience here. We've made some changes in the hostel rules regarding "quite hours" policy but please, keep in mind we're located right in the heart of Mendoza's nightilfe so this hostel sometimes might turn into a "party hostel" specially in peek season....

Valparaiso, Chile
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

I am currently traveling back home, thinking that the only thing that could have improved about my entire vacation in Mendoza, was the place where I stayed. The managers, cleaning staff, and breakfast workers were all very friendly, and we especially want to thank their waiters at their bar. However, three out of four receptionists were very rude, lazy, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlRamirezChile
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear some of the recepcionists were not polite during your stay. As we're always trying to improve our quality service, we would like to tell you some important changes had been made and those workers who didn't meet the hostel requierements are longer part of the staff. Hopefully,...

Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We took a week to do remote working from Mendoza and the hostel was great for that, we booked a room for us with a shared bathroom that was allways clean and the internet connection was great, the common area is not the best for working but it was good enough (wifi didn't reach the backyard). Staff is nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krusty_ar
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por dejarnos tu opinión! Nos alegra saber que disfrutaste tu estadía en el hostel. Ojalá puedas volver pronto! Saludos,...

Voorburg
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I had a nice stay at this fine hostel! especially the friendly and helpfull people of the hostel made the stay very enjoyable i had a great time thank you all!! I stayed for five days and i could easily stayed longer..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sa_d_KVoorburg
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hope you can visit us again! Regards, Natalia.

Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Starting with the good. Clean. Staff are very friendly. Occasionally a little forgetful. Lovely cafe attached to hostel, good coffee. Nice warm reception. Decent common area. Apparently free wine, we weren't there for. Now for the let down. Our private room for the 1st night, the heating was out of order (no apology or even warning about this at check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fitzgelo1
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm really sorry to hear you had a bad time in our hostel, but we appreciate your comments since we're always looking forward to improving. All our heaters are currently working and we keep hearing good things about our pizzas! Hope you can visit us some other time so you could...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.3 km away
Damajuana Hostel
Damajuana Hostel
#44 of 177 in Mendoza
195 reviews
2.4 km away
Savigliano International Hostel Mendoza
3.2 km away
Casa Pueblo Hostel
Casa Pueblo Hostel
#34 of 177 in Mendoza
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#5 of 177 in Mendoza
184 reviews
2.5 km away
Hostel Lagares
Hostel Lagares
#2 of 177 in Mendoza
361 reviews
0.5 km away
Mi Casa
Mi Casa
#13 of 96 in Mendoza
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Itaka Hostel

Address: Avenida Aristides Villanueva 480, Mendoza M5502ITR, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Price Range: €15 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Itaka Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Itaka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Itaka Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Itaka Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not stay on top of their kitchen.....”
vivavesta, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“look at the room before”
islatur1, 24 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Get a room away from the common area and near the bathrooms!”
aoife_ob, 26 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Avoid the big room if you can - it's like military barracks.”
gfunkp, 9 Apr 2013 | Read review
“there are no best rooms!!”
Blade29, 6 Apr 2011 | Read review
5 of 5