We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

728 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Milhouse Hostel Hipo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 13 May 2014

if you are looking for a party place.. milhouse hostel might be your paradise.. but i wasn t looking for a hostel / nightclub ... breakfast really poor ... only three computers and the wi fi was really bad ... is clean and the beds were new... but is impossible to sleep !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauren p
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hostel is great for organised fun, nights out and day activities. Most of the staff are extremely helpful and it's a great place to meet other travellers. However, my only gripe with milhouse was the beds we were given, were in fact infested with bed bugs, leaving us covered in terrible bites... So just check yours beds and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FGID
Melina S, Manager at Milhouse Hostel Hipo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Milhouse. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. I can assure you that it is not that "bedsheets are infested with bed bugs". We wash linen daily and we have a strict fumigation policy every 2...

chicago
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The staff at this place was great, the rooms and sheets were clean, and the bathrooms were in good shape. So overall, it was a good value considering the place. I didn't think the party in the basement was too loud on saturday night and i was on the first floor. If you stay here, you're going to be surrounded...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jszafraniec
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed in Milhouse for a week. It is very much a party hostel. If you want a quiet place where it is easy to sleep I wouldn't pick this hostel. But if you like partying all night it is a great hostel and it is easy to meet other people. They offer plenty of activities and tours during the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rikinp90
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Milhouse Hipo is a great hostel. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed with open arms by the great staff. They were always smiling and happy to help you with whatever you needed. With parties every night and great activities during the day, we were never bored. The building itself is beautiful and very well maintained. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LudvigH
Orange, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We got a triple room at this hostel. It was very clean, good location, breakfast included. Its a very busy hostel which runs its own partys, bike tours etc. It would be a great way to meet people. We did the bike tour run by the hostel and it was great. It was good value

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jacquihawthorne
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Biggest hostel I've ever been. It's a decent place, great place to meet people, but it lacks the coziness and quirckiness of other (in)famous hostels around the world. Perfect if you're on your own and wanna party

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ConsVanNispen
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

It was really annoying that the kitchen was meant to be open until 3, and it says this on a sign, even though every day they decide different times to stop serving food - sometimes it could be 12, sometimes 1 and sometimes there is no food. The internet comes and goes all the time. Some of the staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed dozens of hostels everywhere but never seen an decent and honest place like there. Rooms/dorms are OK. Some comes with A/C and private bathroom. But this is an stressfree place there was a lot of space, a lot of bathroom and lots of thing you need which you can find. Simple but OK breakfast. Front desk was very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joseph O
East Sussex
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The staff at Milhouse Hipo spoke most languages between them and couldn't have been more helpful. The bigger Hostel Milhouse Avenue was only 5 minutes away on foot and had a representative there who could help with any or all of your onward travel needs. Even though it is a party hostel, we didn't hear any of that, but could...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tangodiver

401 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
2:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Dorm (8 Beds) (33)
Viewed
Double Suite (28)
Viewed
Four Person Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
Twin Suite (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#63 of 449 in Buenos Aires
1,285 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#48 of 449 in Buenos Aires
396 reviews
Montserrat
Tango de Mayo Hotel
Tango de Mayo Hotel
#23 of 449 in Buenos Aires
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 482 in Buenos Aires
846 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 482 in Buenos Aires
628 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 482 in Buenos Aires
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Montserrat

Neighbourhood Profile
Montserrat
As part of the historic quarter of Buenos Aires, Montserrat is defined by the historical events that took place there and the landmarks that have stood the test of time. The Plaza de Mayo is at the center of this connection to history: countless public demonstrations have passed through this square, going back to the May Revolution of 1810. Walking the streets of Montserrat allows us to imagine what Buenos Aires may have looked like in the past: the Cabildo takes us back to the late 16th century, while the Palacio Barolo and the traditional cafés carry us to the early 20th. Nowadays, the neighbourhood is inundated every day by office workers, buses, and taxis; still, the cobblestones, narrow sidewalks, and subway stations from the 1910s remind us that we are surrounded by history everywhere we look.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Milhouse Hostel Hipo is housed in a stunning 19th-century colonial-style property that offers clean and spacious dorms as well as beautiful ensuite private rooms. The hostel caters for the solo traveler, group of friends and young couples who look for a lively and fun hostel and yet with great and well decorated facilities. The hostel has a charming atrium with a courtyard, perfect for socializing and relaxing outside with friends. Other facilities include a chill-out terrace, a popular bar area, free internet and Wi-Fi, a TV, a big screen for major world sport events, a pool table, laundry service, in-house travel agency and a luggage room. The friendly and helpful staff want to help make your visit to BA an unforgettable experience, whether that be learning to strut your stuff to the tango, experiencing the electric atmosphere of a football match, consuming copious amounts of delicious steak and red wine from the wide range of parrillas, obtaining tickets to some of the hottest, most exclusive nightclubs the city has to offer or simply getting to know the city with our fabulous walking/biking tours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Address: Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Price Range: €13 - €60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Hipo 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Hipo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milhouse Hotel Buenos Aires
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Milhouse Hostel Hipo staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Milhouse Hostel Hipo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't come here on a weekend if you like to sleep at one point”
 of 5 bubbles durbs2015, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room "Maradona" (1st floor) is next to a storage room. Wifi was poor insight the room + sometimes loud when they use the storage room.”
 of 5 bubbles OnkelSimon, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hipo is better than Avenue”
 of 5 bubbles M9382YEdanielp, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Party hostel”
 of 5 bubbles 554paulineeeee, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quite room I reccomand the 4 bed dorm”
 of 5 bubbles MaxPower1988, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5