We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Majeka House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Majeka House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Majeka House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 411: English reviews
Stellenbosch
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Majeka house is surrounded by beautiful Stellenbosch winelands and mountain scenary while offering a really modern and fun design. Rooms are beautifully decorated with amazing beds. The outside resembles the Jardin Majorelle with bright blue accents and cacti. Don't miss a dinner at amazing Makaron Restaurant, one of the best in the area!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 875annikaz
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear 875annikaz, Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Majeka House in such a positive way. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and the kitchen team is particularly pleased that you liked Makaron. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Karine

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Lovely hotel and excellent service Very nice touch to have a free laundry service Staff friendly and helpful Will definitely recommend and hopefully return sometime Television clear and goods selection of channels

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 74basilm
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear 74basilm, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Majeka House. There is no better compliment for our team than to read that you would recommend and return! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 28 January 2017

food was dreadful and the way they dealt with it was inadequate confusing where you could sit by the swimming pool we were thrown out by 2 germans and had to change seats all of us complained about the food

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E1984HGmichelea
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear E1984HGmichelea, Thank you very much for your review. First of all please note that we find your comments about "2 German throwing you out" very derogatory. You were seating at a semi-private pool area which was not allocated to your room. Your Poolside room had its own semi-private swimming pool available to you. We understand you disliked the food...

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We went to Stellenbosh, and decided to stay with Majeka, the first step we arrived, we were welcomed into the secret garden"Eden" a truly heaven on Earth. This place is really special and the staffs here are wonderful, they are friendly and really helpful, we did not know much about Stellenbosh but their reception Staffs, are knowledgeable, 2 girls at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pakulanont
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear pakulanont, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Majeka House and moreover appreciated all the hard work that our team is putting into making our guests feel at home. Wonder is delighted that you recognized all his effort and the kitchen team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast display! We look forward to...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Service at this wee guest house is second to none , no is too much trouble ! Staff so friendly and the spa and reception and 1st class . The hairdryer and lighting in the bathroom could be improved but that's a small thing .we have returned 5 years in a row and hope to return , special mention to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithbX8373DR
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear KeithbX8373DR, It is such a pleasure to welcome you back year after year, thank you so much for your incredible support. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and have taken into consideration your comments about the bathroom lights and hair dryer in your garden room. Janice and Wonder are thrilled to be mentioned! Looking forward to welcoming...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Good location and reception staff great. Breakfast really good selection, but French toast really disappointing. Good dinner menu, but portions very small for men and vegetables/ salads lacking. Great rooms and Lavaza coffee machines. Nice sauna/ steam room but sauna not warm for morning session.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter Michael V
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Peter Michael V, Thank you very much for your review left about your experience at Majeka House. Your comments were very to the point, and we are looking into all the items that were mentioned. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Karine

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights during doing garden route and found this hotel to be a gem. It offered very comfortable accommodation in well appointed rooms and the service was excellent. Lovely garden area to sunbathe and good sized pool with spa facilities. Hotel staff all very pleasant and helpful but I must say Janice on reception has to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roccozak
New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I wish I had more time at this beautiful hotel. My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon while in wine country and were blown away with the beautifully manicured grounds, the lovely design throughout with pops of color in the gardens, and the rooms were stunning. The breakfast had everything you could want to start your day off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGFNYC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear AGFNYC, Our entire team joins me to thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We are delighted that we could leave a memorable mark during your honeymoon and hope to welcome you back in the Winelands soon! Kind regards Karine

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Majeka is beautifully secluded. We had two rooms that shared a pool and stayed for 3 relaxing nights. It's a small boutique hotel and the rooms are just beautiful!!! The breakfast was phenomenal - all homemade and so much choice. The staff are extremely accommodating and happy to help. The spa is small but ideal for what you need. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keltol
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear keltol, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review about your experience at Majeka House. Our team is delighted that you enjoyed their services and our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back at Majeka House soon again. Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 16 January 2017

great service and cute surroundings, excellent location bed slightly lumpy, woke up with sore backs. Pool nice and jacuzzi great. wish we had been able to try the spa! Breakfast was really superb! overall: wonderful stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanime
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Jeanime, Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review. We have taken note of your comments about the bedding and will look into it as this is an unusual remark. We are sorry that you could not get into the Spa, but we do send numerous amount of correspondence asking you to pre-book as we might...

244 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.3 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,655 reviews
4.5 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
589 reviews
5.6 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.2 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
348 reviews
6.1 km away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: €163 - €407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Majeka House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“208 nice ground floor room but no views”
 of 5 bubbles A371QLpeterd, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if difficulty with stairs ask for first floor flats.”
 of 5 bubbles barryp384, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pool rooms have their own pool to share between 2 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RadiaS, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suite 502, the devil is in the detail!”
 of 5 bubbles ErnRam, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be great but suggest you e-mail / call reception so they can meet your requirements.”
 of 5 bubbles richardrH1356DL, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5