We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stables Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Stables Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

+ Nice and clean rooms + Gate to keep the car safe + 15-20 min very nice walk to the center, or for just 20 ZAR with Uber + Kind and very helpful staff. The hostess can help you book wine tours, restaurants, etc. + Air conditioning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SofiLinn
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fell in love with the upbeat, helpful and forgiving nature of owner. Loved the library common room in main house. Incredible private garden as back cottage privilege. What a beautiful location to boot!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roz B
South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We (family of four) stayed their last year but I didn't get to write a review. The place is not too far from the Stellenbosch town. Onsite parking was good. I was bit shocked when the host Illaria gave me a present for my birthday as she found it out from the booking. That was very nice of her. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 81ajh888
JHB
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although it was only short, we really enjoyed our stay as we were welcomed with open arms and made to feel right at home. Ilaria, the lady who we dealt with was so hospitable and attended to our every needs. We will definitely stay again in the future!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh K
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Some friends and I were in need of a place in Stellenbosch. This was recommended to us. It was great that The Stables could book us last minute. It was very charming and clean. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northernattire
George, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2016

WE spent a weekend. It was very enjoyable. We were very well received. Our accommodation was just what we needed. We were able to visit the town and all the attractions. Well situated. Service was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robinc34125
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We stayed unfortunately 1 night but it was a very calm, warm and friendly place and very nice people. Very clean with an italian pretty touch.Perfect for families and couples Thanks Ilaria. Hope to see you again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudio C
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Travelled from lusaka got lost, the hosts didn't know directions to the place. Got there at 12am. Federica the host complained the next morning to my boyfriend and I that we kept her up and she didn't sleep. We immediately left even though we were supposed to stay two nights. Extremely rude and unwelcoming. Not the warm South African way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kero R
Stableslodge, Proprietario at The Stables Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, you were screaming to me that you will send the worst review and as promised that day, below you will find my reply with a bit more details that I am sorry that you did not even mention. First of all my name is Ilaria, my husband Federico was the one that very patient was providing instructions how...

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We stayed in the Family Unit. A Double Bed in main room and 2 Single Beds in another small room. This B&B is 5 min drive from the Town. Would not recommend walking distance. Has off-road parking which is a plus, free wi-fi. No TV in room - have to share TV in minute lounge area with other Guests (limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Seddon, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

My husband [from New Zealand] recently stayed at The Stables Lodge for 4 nights as his niece was getting married at Dornier Wine Estate. He was made to feel very welcome & the breakfasts were great! As we were apart for our wedding anniversary on 31st December, I contacted Ilaria by email to ask if she would be kind enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheeba2004

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.8 km away
Besigheim
Besigheim
#58 of 114 in Stellenbosch
22 reviews
3.3 km away
Orchard Lane Guest House
Orchard Lane Guest House
#59 of 114 in Stellenbosch
27 reviews
3.4 km away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#40 of 114 in Stellenbosch
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#32 of 114 in Stellenbosch
199 reviews
3.7 km away
Simonsberg Guest House
Simonsberg Guest House
#63 of 114 in Stellenbosch
23 reviews
0.7 km away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#4 of 114 in Stellenbosch
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
* ITALIAN WARM & FRIENDLY WELCOME IN STELLENBOSCH * South AfricaGuest House 
situated in an exclusive area of Stellenbosch, less than 5 minutes drive from the city centre, 'The Stables Lodge' offers panoramic views overlooking the mountains.
Accommodation in 4 comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms, all equipped with air-conditioning-heating, coffee and tea facilities, hairdryer, radio cd players.
One self-catering unit is also available.
Enjoy a leisurely breakfast, relax in a quiet common area.
Secure parking, cosy common area, 'honesty bar' with cool drinks and snacks, internet available.
The guest house is ideally located to explore the famous wine lands and a lot of other excursions and day trips!
A beautiful atmosphere with a mix of italian & african styles make this affordable stay one to be repeated!
Italian and English spoken..German in progress! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stables Lodge

Address: 85 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrift, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: €60 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stables Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Stables Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stables Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great Location”
 of 5 bubbles 128ashleighk, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with a kitchen. In the garden. Very pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles Robinc34125, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Airport closeness”
 of 5 bubbles claudiocE4659ZO, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT stay in the "cottage"...if the rooms are full go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles Doug_Cartlidge, 3 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Ask about the rooms at the back of the property - they seemed to be a little more secluded.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneHH75, 11 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay