We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rusthuiz Guest House

Agoda.comUS$101*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$131*
US$101*
Great Deal
US$105*
US$113*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Rusthuiz Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rusthuiz Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had the pleasure of staying only one night, but would easily like to improve on that number during a next visit. Rusthuiz is a home away from home.. we had room 2, with a big balcony, a nice bathroom in a just very homey and nicely decorated hotel. There is a small pool and relaxarea which was ideal. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LivefromAmsterdam
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear LivefromAmsterdam I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Rusthuiz and in Stellenbosch. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Kind regards René

Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We just loved our stay (unfortunately too short) at Rusthuiz Guest House. We had a gorgeous room -- a very large and comfortable upstairs balcony room -- with a huge terrace and view of soothing greenery. The bathroom had lovely amenities and we could not have asked for more. Before breakfast, it was great just to sit with a coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swane
Rene0705, Manager at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Swane Thank you very much for your review of Rusthuiz. We were all delighted to read your positive and detailed feedback. I am sure it would be of great help to other travelers. I must agree that watching the sun rise over the Stellenbosch mountains from the balcony is a wonderful experience. Early mornings are just delightful.. We hope...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Unfortunately we only had one night in this beautiful B&B, we were a party of 4 travelling around the area but all of us would have loved to stay here a little longer. We where in the two balcony rooms which were both luxurious and had everything you would need. Breakfast was really good and was served out on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne We all here at Rusthuiz are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the review and mentioning Hannelise's special service. She is a star and loved by everyone who meets her. We hope to welcome you back in future. Kind regards René

London
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The staff and owner could not do enough for us during our stay. The property is close to the town and beautifully decorated with stunning outdoor spaces. We enjoyed many an hour by the pool enjoying the sunshine. We had a balcony room, which was spacious and luxurious with a lovely bathroom. The continental breakfast was plentiful with an option...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherrylann C
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sherrylann What a pleasure to have read your review on Rusthuiz. We are all thrilled that you have had a comfortable and pleasurable stay with us and in our town. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Kindest René Taylor

Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Beautifully decorated B&B with large rooms. The place is located close to the "town" center and you can easily drive to a couple of nice restaurants or to any of the many vineyards close by. There's a pool we didn't really get to use as it was closed, however the garden is very nice with lots of flowers and benches...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorgepilo
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jorgepilo We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay at Rusthuiz and in our beautiful town. I am so sorry that you were not shown the swimming pool key to open the gate to enter. Hope to welcome you back to Rusthuiz and our pool in the future.. Kindest Rene Taylor

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We only stayed for 1 night after a day at Eagle Encounters, before moving onto Hermanus to go whale watching the next day. Both activities are an easy drive. Although we didn't stay here long, we had a wonderful stay and would happily return. It is well situated within easy walk of town and the balcony room we stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank africawithkids
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Africawithkids What a pleasure it was to read your review on Tripadvisor. Thank you so much for sharing your experience in detail with other travelers. We always strive to have happy guests leaving Rusthuiz and all of us here was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome your family back in future. Warm...

Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Very tastefuly decorated. Various thoughtful details, like warm bottle for night, beach bag with towels, utilities basket. Friendly staff with lots of flexibility. They looked after us with a tray of fruits, coffee and muesly for early leave. Good value for money for what we have been offered. Definetely recommended and come back. We stayed in a balcony room. 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hakan M
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Hakan M We are delighted that you have had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Rusthuiz, during your visit to our beautiful town. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. We hope that we will have the priveledge to host you again in the future. Warm regards Rene Taylor

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 7 August 2013

As far as guest houses go, this is one of the best. Accommodation was superb, breakfast was great and staff were very friendly and helpful. We have no hesitation in reccomending Rusthuiz for your stay in Stellenbosch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert B
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Albert My staff and I are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review and sharing that with other travelers. We hope to welcome you back to Rusthuiz and South Africa in the future.. Kindest Rene Taylor

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a lovely stay in Rusthuiz . Very conveniently situated in Stellenbosch close to town , schools and university with lovely room and a great view . Bedding lovely and bathroom very nice .Great service added to a super stay .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surette2013
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Surette It was our pleasure to accommodate you here at Rusthuiz and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We are all so happy to read that you have had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us - it means a lot to all our staff members to get such positive...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 27 June 2013

received a very warm welcome on arrival. staff were friendly and helpful. room that we stayed in was large and comfy with separate wardrobes for Mr & Mrs. breakfast was delightful. the living room was just cozy like home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Joseph I am so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Rusthuiz and that you were comfortable and well looked after. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Rene and Team

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.6 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
370 reviews
1.9 km away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
346 reviews
0.9 km away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 112 in Stellenbosch
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
425 reviews
1.6 km away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
359 reviews
0.5 km away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#13 of 112 in Stellenbosch
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay steps from the centre of historical Stellenbosch. Awake to enjoy a leisurely breakfast on the sunny patio, then stroll through oak-tree lined avenues into town. You'll have your pick of restaurants, cafes and pubs for a bite to eat and something to drink. Your helpful hosts will advise you on the best wine estates to visit. In the afternoon relax at our sparkling pool.(air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, FREE WiFi, secure parking, and child friendly) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rusthuiz Guest House

Address: 13 Piet Retief Street | Krigeville, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: €84 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusthuiz Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Rusthuiz Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rusthuiz Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family room is great - as above. Real feeling of luxury..”
pominoz2014, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is the best!”
MariekeU_13, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Parking a little tight”
Beeth0veen, 6 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Room 2 is upstairs and has a balcony”
mtnkd, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Our room was a little dark pay extra and get a balcony”
gambles430, 10 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$105
Expedia.comUS$113
CancelonUS$131
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates