We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Spier Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Spier Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Spier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,328: English reviews
Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Great place run by great people. A bit off the beaten path if you want to visit Cape Town, but great as a destination in itself. The venue is a good choice for small conferences such as the one I attended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
JoepSchoof, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about your conference stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Spier soon. Warm regards, Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel and Leisure joeps@spier.co.za

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 13 March 2016

This is an extremely comfortable hotel and wine estate, with close access to Stellenbosch and the nearby winelands and within easy reach of Cape Town and the airport. Our room was spacious and well equipped, with a large terrace. Our stay enabled us to enjoy the estate's wines with a memorable meal on the last evening of our holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simoncB7699BA
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words in your review on your recent stay with us. We do hope you will be able to return to Stellenbosch and re-visit us once again. Thank you. Kind regards, Joep Schoof Spier Hotel & Leisure General Manager

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 11 March 2016

The hotel, staff and services has made my stage at Spier Hotel, one of the best experience of my life. I will never forget it. Thanks to the staff for their kindness, I do really apreciate it, overall the breakfast cooks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irenee151
JoepSchoof, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at Spier Hotel, the team was ecstatic when they heard your kind and complimentary words of praise, this motivates and inspires the whole team immensely. We look forward to welcoming you back to Spier on your next visit to the Stellenbosch region. Warm regards, Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 11 March 2016

I loved staying at Spier! The property is beautiful and the service was fantastic. There are loads of birds wandering around the yard, which makes for a really lovely dining experience when you feel surrounded by luxury and nature. The food at the hotel restaurant was fantastic and affordable, as was the wine!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amelia B
JoepSchoof, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very complimentary review, with being on the farm the nature surrounds us every day and it is such a privilege to see it. We are pleased that you enjoyed it too. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Spier on your next trip to the Cape Winelands. Warm regards, Joep Schoof General Manager Spier...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Just 40minutes outside of CT, we were pleasantly surprised. Awesome venue, safe parking, reasonable dining prices, great breakfasts and very nice pool area. Had a great 2hr massage, Segway tour and tasting. Very large & comfortable, if Slightly dated rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elljaysa
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Your feedback is wonderful to read and I appreciate you taking the time to rate us. Many thanks for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Thank you. Kind regards, Joep Schoof Spier Hotel & Leisure General Manager

Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Stay here! Beautiful estate with so much to see and do! Rooms are huge with a lovely country feel. Staff are awesome. Lovely food and a lovely area to have either a pre booked picnic or build your own from their on site deli. Lovely land to walk around with an audio tour on the VoiceMap app. Their wine is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pjredmond
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

We really enjoyed reading your feedback on your stay with us, it is clear you have been able to enjoy most of what Spier is known for. Thank you for your kind words, the team is happy to hear you have appreciated their efforts. Many thanks. Kind regards, Joep Schoof Spier Hotel & Leisure General Manager

Felpham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016

An excellent experience for the final 3 nights in South Africa. The rooms were excellent, restaurants and food are first class, but the best bit is that the staff are just helpful, friendly and efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Join8
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback and kind words. We hope to welcome you again as our guest on a future return trip to South Africa. Many thanks. Kind regards, Joep Schoof Spier Hotel & Leisure General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is like a small village with is pretty and the rooms are big. The bathroom was spacious and although a little tired it was clean and well equipped. The artwork in the hotel is stunning. As is the decor. Our main disappointment was the food. We were also awakened early each morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1moray
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review of your recent stay with us, we enjoyed hearing back from you. I' sorry to hear you were disappointed with our food quality. We have just introduced a new menu for our guests to enjoy and would very much welcome your feedback on the new dishes if you have a change to return. Once...

Reviewed 9 March 2016

The resort is beautiful, has well marked running paths, a great free breakfast, and hosts a wonderful bird rescue. The bird rescue/encounters was completely remarkable and why I gave the place two stars. Seriously, wonderful work with the birds and a wonderful experience. All three guides at the rescue were awesome and clearly dedicated to the animals in their care....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth Q
JoepSchoof, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are pleased that we are in contact with you personally and that the misunderstanding has been resolved. The team members you mentioned have been made aware of your kind comments, thank you. We will look forward to welcoming you back to visit when you are next in the Cape...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 March 2016

A great place to go for a conference, peaceful and beautiful with good service. The rooms are really spacious with good facilities. I just had a bad experience with one room service meal but all the other food including the breakfasts and meals at the conference were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosalynf837

639 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (606)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (149)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (192)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.3 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#2 of 16 in Stellenbosch
299 reviews
8.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.2 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
498 reviews
8.2 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
615 reviews
8.4 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: €101 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spier Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Spier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ground floor with patio facing gardens”
 of 5 bubbles whitney965, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid entry level rooms”
 of 5 bubbles GastrodontUK, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request an upgrade quickly at high season, the hotel books up quickly. Some rooms have stairs up to them and are a walk from the main hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles KKelly1989, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The picnics on the estate is a must!!!”
 of 5 bubbles HansK7023, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“some of the rooms on the upper level (each unit has two floors) dont have a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles birdonawire2006, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay