We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (95)
Dining (31)
Room & Suite (22)
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good19%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(104 reviews)
“beautiful garden”(26 reviews)
“shared kitchen”(7 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
335
83
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
335
83
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbeautiful gardenshared kitchenhomemade breadwithin walking distanceamazing breakfastwonderful hostsbed and breakfastplace to staystellenbosch centrelovely placeclose to townguest housevisiting stellenboschfantastic stayrooms are cleansecure parking
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay in two of the upstairs rooms (3 guests). The hosts were excellent making us feel at home. Breakfasts were delicious with homemade bread and jams! I travel to Stellenbosch with some regularity and will definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul M
Response from Wietske2016, Owner at 10 AlexanderResponded 1 week ago

Dear Paul We really enjoyed having you here. Your dad is such an old style gentleman and we thoroughly enjoyed his (and your!) company.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lady running the guest house tried to charge us double the agreed price when she found out our girls were over 10 (this was in the fine print but not mentioned by her). They would still be using the same beds (regardless of age)...More

Thank JItraveler
Response from Wietske2016, Owner at 10 AlexanderResponded 1 week ago

The critical element of your experience is contained in your opening sentence: "... when she "found out" our girls were over 10..." You blatantly lied about the age of your children, claiming they were under two, to pay a lower price, then took umbrage when...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My stay at 10 Alexander was fantastic. Evelyn really looked after me & was extremely helpful. Fantastic location & a short walk to the bars & restaurants. Breakfast was substantial & the flap jacks were delicious. Room was clean & tidy. Would definitely stay there...More

Thank kimwilliams2018
Response from Wietske2016, Owner at 10 AlexanderResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks, Kim. You made Evelyn's day, and ours. Sincerely appreciate your kind words, and you taking the trouble to post this review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous place, calm setting, excellent breakfast. B&B is run by caring owner and long term manager. Well situated to quickly access center of town on foot. We had a wonderful relaxed stay. Would happily return. Easy parking.

Thank Billynyc
Response from Wietske2016, Owner at 10 AlexanderResponded 3 weeks ago

We sincerely appreciate your kind words. It was indeed a pleasure having you here. Evelyn is an absolute gem.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When arrived told would be double the rate. Wanted to leave because this was not what was expected and told could not get money back (they had us wire money — first red flag). Even though bed and breakfast, we were “punished” by not getting...More

1  Thank Jlgalg13579
Response from Wietske2016, Owner at 10 AlexanderResponded 1 week ago

The root cause of this terrible experience for both parties is the fact that you lied when booking by indicating that the two children were under the age of two when in fact they were 17 and 18 years old respectively. We queried this on...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$118 - US$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$118 - US$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (95)
Dining (31)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (10)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from 10 Alexander staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"You don't want to face pool or you will have a flashing light at the window all night."
Read review
"Possibly a ground floor room would be cooler?"
Read review
"The family room has a separate bathroom and shared cooking facilities are convenient if you are not tempted..."
Read review
"First floor queen room (so long as you don't mind the stairs)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing