We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Start your review of The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Paris, France
Reviewed today NEW

this hotel does not deserve the 5 stars ...poor location in a condomium without any charm, very dirty ( towels, swimming pool) ; very average breakfast...the worst hotel we have seen in south Africa, not to recommend...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 71pascalel
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had two nights at the Wild Mushroom prior to our flight back home to the UK. The hotel is located just outside of Stellenbosch on a quiet estate and is easy to get into the town itself. The hotel room we had was very comfortable with a good size en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was good quality with a selection...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal F
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. we are so happy you found your stay enjoyable and that the tips were handy. we enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again.

Mol, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The wild Mushroom is perfectly set in the Digteby Estate, close to Stellenbosch and well connected to the Baden Powell Drive, that takes you to the N2 motorway, but without the noise and hassle. But essentially, it is a nice, truly boutique hotel, with beautiful rooms, beautiful views and a lovely garden where it is great to sit back and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi S
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. we are so thrilled that you enjoyed the comfort of convenience of The Wild Mushroom. It is beautifully located in being close enough to all the activities and attractions of Stellenbosch but still providing the scenes of a country breakaway. we hope to host you again.....

Mol
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every member of the staff is very friendly and helpful. General Manager Marc Lorenz will do his utmost to help you (providing information, booking at restaurants,...) Breakfast offers a large variety of nice food, including a delicious daily delight, fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, freshly baked pastry,... and you can enjoy it outside and -very important- the place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chemoeketess
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We try and cater for every guests needs, diary and otherwise. it is so important to us to make each stay as fitted to each individuals needs as far as possible. we are truly happy your stay was enjoyable and memorable.

Manchester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My biggest disappointment was that we only had 2 nights at this wonderful little hotel. The staff were friendly, our room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. Whilst this is not centrally located and a little remote for some, it is very accessible and Uber rides were cheap and prompt means of getting to where you needed to be. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awslufc
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so thrilled you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed the comfort of the room, the friendliness of the staff and the gorgeous setting. We look forward to hosting you again.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely small hotel in a gated comunity a few miles out of town, The rooms were large and well equiped, there is a small pool area and a lounge with an honour bar at reasonable prices. Mark who greeted us was very helpful, he made a restaruant booking for us in town (the hotel does not have a restaurant) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David N
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are happy you had an enjoyable and we trust restful stay with us and that you found the service to be friendly and efficient over all. We appreciate the feedback and will certainly take on board the aspects you have picked up on and make sure there is...

Gordons bay
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Owned by a Fellow Scotsman who wants his guests to be treated as he wants to be treated. Delightful all round. Do go and see the lions, tigers and leopard across the road. So close, wonderful. Just outside Stellenbosch so quiet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janetlL2426YN
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are please you enjoyed your visit and met the big cats across the way as well.

Neuchatel, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The hotel is located in the heart of Stellenbosch. The view is beautiful from swimming pool, the rooms are large and the breakfast is well served. Also, an "honnesty bar" is available and the manager was very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loïc J
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you had an enjoyable time with us and that you found The Wild Mushroom to be beautiful and friendly.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Delightful B & B with every facility including a delightful garden and swimming pool. Situated some 4 miles from the centre of Stellenbosch, Excellent breakfast and first class service. Would recommend without reservation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jch4940
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so happy you found The Wild Mushroom to be a peaceful stay, with us being a stone throw from Stellenbosch, it allows you the access to all the activity and hustle bustle of this trendy yet historic region and still the country feeling breakaway when you return...

London
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The Wild Mushroom is a really lovely place to stay. The guest house itself is stunning, the rooms are large and luxurious. It is in a beautiful setting just outside Stellenbosch. The pool/garden area is really breathtaking (although the pool could have done with a clean). Marc and Joey were truly fantastic hosts, both were incredibly healthful and could not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 76florenceb
TheWildMushroom, General Manager at The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear your stay was breathtaking and that you enjoyed the wonderful views and the rooms. It is always our pleasure to be as helpful as possible with whatever need we are able to meet. We have as you would have noticed a stone lined...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.1 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,662 reviews
2.1 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
831 reviews
6.5 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
6.4 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
547 reviews
9.3 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel

Address: 39 Digteby Estate | Vlottenburg Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: €114 - €265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Taylors, South Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in "Purpureum", located at the west side, on the first floor. It is a beautiful room.”
 of 5 bubbles PantheraLeo, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed at Purpureum and it was nice, large and very new. It was on the first floor and the stairs are easy to climb.”
 of 5 bubbles Chemoeketess, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All are beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles RDJansen, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Must give the Pool house a try!”
 of 5 bubbles BelindaA348, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we loved the room upstairs overlooking the pool”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5