We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Knorhoek

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Knorhoek
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Knorhoek
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
Johannesburg
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After a hectic day, this was a wonderful, peaceful sanctuary, enhanced with some very tasty Pinotage from their honesty bar. My room was spacious, and instructions had been left for my late check-in. Dinner was left in my room - a delicious vegetarian meal. The victorian bath, complete with legs, provided great relaxation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eish13
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Eish It is a beautiful morning after all the rain and snow on the mountains and your review added "sunshine". We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Knorhoek and of course, our wonderful wines as well. Thank you for mentioning the features in the room and I'm pleased you enjoyed the Victorian bath - nothing like soaking in...

Enschede, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We really loved it here! The rooms are very authentic with tiled floors and old elements. Felt like going back in time. We were welcomed with a nice glass of wine! Great rooms, nice breakfast, nothing to complain. The only downside is that it is a little out of Stellenbosch so you will need your own wheels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baskotter
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Clients Thank you somuch for taking the time to write this lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoy meeting people from all over the world and try to give them a feeling of being at home; relaxed and comfortable. We are still having the most glorious warm sunny weather - not the true...

Boulder, CO
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed for two nights at Knorhoek as it was close to some family friends that we wanted to visit while we were in South Africa. Booked through their website and all went smoothly. There was also no problem in arriving early so that we could settle in before meeting friends for Sunday lunch at another nearby vineyard. Guesthouse was easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marleydog
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Marley from Boulder (and don't I now know that location!!) Thank you so much for your beautiful and honest review - you have no idea how helpful it is in trying to make improvements and inspiring our staff that they continue doing what is expected of them. Yes, your room is the smallest in the guesthouse - must have...

Zanzibar Archipelago, Tanzania
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I've stayed here with family first time back in 2002 and again in 2006. We loved the atmosphere, the surroundings and most of all the service. Next time we're in Stellenbosch, we'll certainly visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dirk M
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Dirk M Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it is the greatest compliment when guests return and find us equally enjoyable as the first time. We love what we do and it means a lot if this is projected on to our visitors. You are most welcome to visit us again. Regards Carol

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Enjoyed our 1 night here It was ideally suited to our family needs ,lovely setting Had walks amongst the vineyards and the potiger ,fascinating ..Did self catering so no meals here Would recommend and shall be returning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foresthall
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed our farm, and the peaceful, rustic atmosphere that we enjoy sharing with visitors. We always advise our guests to visit the wine tasting faclity by 4pm in order to do the full, unhurried tasting, with the character and complexities of each wine being...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much with three adults and 2 children. Very picturesque farm setting - large rooms with great shower facilities. The staff was also very accommodating and even fixed us some appetizers to tie us over on the afternoon of our flight. Clean and cheerful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abcast
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Abcast I'm so pleased you all enyoyed your stay at Knorhoek. I always convey these messages to the staff as well so that they know they are doing the right things! Wishing you a good summer in Europe (if it ever comes!) and thank you again. Sincerely Carol

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Mixed feeling about this place. The wedding venue was superb and the staff at Towerbosch Restaurant had great attention to detail. The accommodation was less attractive. The room was in need of updating and decorating. The bed was comfortable but the divan on which the mattress rested needed cleaning. One of the electrical appliances had bare wires. This room has...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandyknees
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Sandyknees I must confess I was rather surprised at your review, but shall consider your criticism as positive and have a serious discussion with the staff - both housekeeping and front of house. We have always been complimented on the friendliness of the staff and comfort of the rooms. They were redecorated about 3 years ago. We do not...

Holmestrand, Norway
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at Knorhoek Guest House for two night and liked the nice surroundings, the farm life, the large second floor room and the friendliness. The breakfast was really good cape breakfast! The cleaning could have been better and the towels could have been washed at a higher temperature to get rid of the bacterias. I am not to fond...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BenedicteOslo
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear B I do not think you are fussy at all! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your input and criticism. Because we live on a farm and our effluent water ends up in a stream that eventually runs into a river, we are very careful about not polluting our runoff. We only...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We had such a marvelous stay at Knorhoek...it was the highlight of our trip to South Africa. The tremendous beauty of the estate, coupled with the great generosity of our hosts, Handle & Ingrid, and the enormous expertise of Arno, their winemaker, made our visit one "for the books"! We ate well, drank better, and learned so much. And, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear K I have shown your mail to all the parties mentioned - everyone thanks you for your kind words. Arno's talks are always interesting with his West cost humour and immense knowledge and passion for wines. We are privileged to live in this magnificent part of the world and are pleased you enjoyed the beauty of the surroundings and...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed in the 'honeymoon suite' which was supposed to be the best room. We were a bit disappointed with the room as it lacked a level of care and attention to detail. For example, a hole in the wall had been fixed with a filler but had not been painted so there was a big white patch on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rob H
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Rob Thank you for your honest review and we'll definitely pay heed to your suggestions. The hole in the wall remains a problem as we are fully booked and have to choose between the unsightly filler and the room reeking of paint - we have chosen the former. (Guests depart at 11h00 and the next arrive any time after...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
13.3 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,654 reviews
6.3 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
350 reviews
9.2 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
12.1 km away
Kleinbosch Lodge
Kleinbosch Lodge
#16 of 113 in Stellenbosch
286 reviews
8.0 km away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#45 of 113 in Stellenbosch
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
True Cape hospitality on a Fourth generation wine estate; breathtaking natural beauty of the mountain, rolling vineyards, sprawling gardens and natural streams; friendly locals to welcome you to tastefully decorated accommodation of your choice. Part of the Stellenbosch Wine Route, close to Franschhoek and Paarl ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knorhoek

Address: PO Box 2 | Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: €67 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Knorhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knorhoek staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Stables rooms do not have aircon but even at 36 degrees Celcius outside, the temperature in the rooms were just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Sheena-DM, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest staying away the cottages for now, not sure how the guesthouse is, but make sure you know of alternate spots in case you're hit with a similar problem”
 of 5 bubbles jsdookoo, 9 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The rooms are noisy so try to get the upper rooms”
 of 5 bubbles LaoJohnny, 15 Nov 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in room 8 which is the honeymoon suite-but all the rooms are pretty! The upstairs rooms and the cottages are the prettiest.”
 of 5 bubbles Scubanu, 1 May 2014 | Read review
“we had the family room upstairs though we were only two but would be perfect for a couple with kids or for friends ....”
 of 5 bubbles starsuk, 1 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5