We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Onze Rust Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Onze Rust Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Onze Rust Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 10 July 2016

A very friendly welcome from the hostess plus the warm room and complimentary wine. Peacefully situated off the beaten track - Onze Rust is the perfect place to rest and sleep late. Our room had a lovely view of the farm : cows grazing, squirrels playing in the yard. Thank you Esther for serving the hearty breakfast in our room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ingridcomb
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Ingrid, thank you for the great review. We appreciate it, and thank you for a recommendation which you made to us personally to improve a practical aspect. It is guests such as yourself which helps us to improve and make every future guest's stay good. For us a "thank you" goes such a long way. We wish you many...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Onze Rust is always my first choice when I visit Cape Town. It's comfortable, close enough to the amenities I need, the people are friendly and the rooms are always immaculate, warm, neat and clean with a nostalgic aura. The immediate surrounding area is peaceful and quiet. I don't even mind the squirrels!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fernandodZ81OQ
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Fernando, it is great having guests coming back so many times over several years and we appreciate the great review. It is always a pleasure to host you and see your enthusiasm and energy for life. Thank you. Ester

Garden Route, South Africa
Reviewed 6 April 2016

I hate it when money is not reinvested in a property to keep it looking good for guests who pay a lot of money to stay there. Onze Rust could be a wonderful place, but is getting really shabby around the edges, and needs some serious maintenance and refurbishment. The towels should be thrown away and replaced. I know there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0zchick
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We like to think that at R520 per person sharing (including continental and hot breakfast and 14% VAT) it is very good value for money for an expensive area, and certainly not a lot to pay for what one get: King beds for comfort, TV with many channels, free wi-fi and FREE undercover parking, 26...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Onze Rust lives up to its name: it offers a peaceful resting place in a nice rural setting, in the Stellenbosch wine region, in the immediate vicinity of the Cape Town area. The premises a slightly quaint, ambiance that feels like entering te past, but with all modern amenities. Well equippend for families with children (pool), and a treat for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank guusvwn
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Prof Guus, thank you so much for the review, we are glad we could assist you during your stay. Thank you for pointing out that own transport to visit restaurants (5-12 minutes drive away) is important, although we use the services of shuttles who can taxi guests to town centre or Cape Town (40km away), and a vine hopper...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This establishment needs an overhaul - the facilities are delapidated. Our room was spacious and the staff very friendly, but out towels were threadbare, grey and one was even torn. For two people we had one large and one small towel. When we asked for replacement they did. The couch had a tear in it showing the sponge underneath. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ilze l
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and the opportunity created for us to respond. This is the second unfavorable review Ilze has posted about this stay, and some of the things mentioned in the complaint has changed, which saddens us as it creates the impression that it is to harm our business, not to improve it. To understand why guests can...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 March 2016

I took pictures of the cornices pulling away between the ceiling and the walls, the flimsy curtain rails and curtains which were in tatters and also of wide cracks in the walls – all in Room no 2. In general I was not happy with the accommodation; the room was stuffy and smelled rather of a barn than a comfortable...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank guestg237
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Dr, thank you for the review we are so sorry you did not have a better experience. At the time of your stay the guesthouse was running full house for weeks, and the few single travelers got the smaller rooms, own outside doors and seating on the verandahs. Where we can we always upgrade business travelers to the largest...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Onze Rust is on a farm on the Vlaeberg Rd - the ideal base for people who want to explore the city of Cape Town as well as Stellenbosch and Somerset West. Having had meetings in Cape Town, Bellville and Stellenbosch it suited us well. An evening on the dining room veranda with a good wine and the soothing "buckwheat"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruicon
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the excellent review. We are glad the central location served you well, we often have Cape Town visitors driving out to use the conference venue as we are located against the morning traffic from there. The wi-fi was upgraded in line with the data requirements of business travelers and is still free, as is the...

Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2016

This is one of the better guest houses. Very nice location of the main roads, under cover parking, spacious rooms and a fridge in the room. The lady owner Esther is very helpful and make you feel at home. Breakfast is excellent and so is the rest of the venue. Good wine farms and top restaurants within 5 km. Love...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thinus H
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Thinus, thank you so much for the good review you are one of our favorate business guests. It was not your first stay with us, and February was so busy, you were staying in one of the smaller rooms as it was a single occupancy. Thank you for noting the effort we put in with breakfast, we know business...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This guest house has an old world charm. Nothing too fancy but all you need to enjoy your stay. The owner and staff are kind and most helpful. Breakfasts were a highlight. I will definitely go back there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ina P
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Ina! We would love to host you again. Ester

Reviewed 20 February 2016

The guesthouse is situated in a beautiful environment at the heart of the winefields. It is a bit remote, but it is quiet and you're in the centre of Stellenbosch in about 10 minutes (by car). The hostess is very friendly and the breakfast is fine. However, the rooms and grounds are very old and moisty, as well as badly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MLEJ24
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review we take note of your remarks. October is the end of our heavy winter rainy season, and as the farm is located at the bottom of a valley the water table where a little stream flows lies above ground at that time, and water seep from the higher parts. Being a very humid time, one...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The beautiful Onze Rust Guest House in the heart of the Stellenbsoch wine lands offers a unique nature setting. It is the perfect farm setting for you to relax and restore your inspiration. Gardens stretch over two hectares lawns, lots of trees, water and many birds. We are 25 minutes from Cape Town International Airport, a few minutes out of Stellenbosch town centre close to Spier Wine Estate. We can accommodate 24 people in 10 en-suite rooms, with extra-length beds and private entrances on to spacious verandas, free wi-fi and parking. There are 2 family units where kids can share and we offer information on the many things to do in Stellenbosch,and referrals to the good restaurants close by. Several rooms have King size extra length beds, we offer sufficient coffee and fresh milk in rooms, wide range of TV channels. Business travelers and Stellenbosch University visitors are close to the Cape Town international Airport. Our central location makes it suitable to visit Stellenbosch, Belville, Somerset West/Strand, and Saxonburg Business parks. For Capetonians attending day conferences on site, it is only 40km drive mostly against the morning peak hour traffic. We offer good food for functions, with flexible menus (e.g. "banting" functions with great feedback). For the romantics it is a perfect setting with honeymoon rooms, and weddings get nature photo opportunities. As a social enterprise we support community organizations with partial sposnsorships and vouchers for fundraising. Beauty, peace and comfort in the countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Onze Rust Guesthouse

Address: Vlaeberg Rd | Between M12 polkadraai and Baden Powell R310, Vlottenburg, Stellenbosch 7603, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: €69 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Onze Rust Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Onze Rust Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Onze Rust Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
George, South Africa
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Onze Rust Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They all seem good.”
kdgarlipp, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There seems to be different buildings. Do not accept any of the standard rooms.”
  • bedroom decor a flop: dirty old throw rug
  • second hand furniture and head rest storage!
  • Light in Bathroom; Guten Appetit
  • plaster damage from bedroom to front room
  • bedroom view: stored old carpeting
  • Sink from the 50's w/2 hot labelled faucets. Hole in towel
  • rotted door jam to bathroom
  • hanging by a thread in bedroom
554heikem, 27 Dec 2015 | Read review
“If you like history definitely ask for the one i was in!”
  • View from veranda
  • Room photo 1
  • Room photo 2
00Love2Travel00, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
“all rooms are unique, and overlook the spacious gardens.”
hutton10, 22 Sep 2011 | Read review
4 of 4