We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queens Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Queens Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 259: English reviews
Start your review of Queens Hotel
 Click to rate
Silsoe Bedfordshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Although the hotel looks slightly dated in decor, I thought this added to its old world charm.It is very clean and comfortable. It is in an excellent location for visiting the town and provides delicious breakfast and dinner. The staff were very helpful. Parking is secure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretcP666JB
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The fourth hotel on the Saga Game Route tour. The Queens Hotel, named after Queen Elizabeth II after her visit as Princess Elizabeth with her father, (George VI) her mother, and Princess Margaret in 1947. It has retained the colonial air although Oudtshoorn is a very ordinary South African town, but it is surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pgp394
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Kokhav Yair
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After visiting Hermanus, Svellendam and Mossel Bay, we settled for one night at Queens Hotel in Oudtshoorn. This hotel is in a "colonial" building, in which also the furniture and the entire atmosphere have a colonial flavor. The breakfast was tasty, the staff was friendly, the wifi enjoyable. After breakfast we went to see the impressive stalactites and stalagmites in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yehuda70
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated.

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in a very comfortable first floor room overlooking the main street. We loved the hotel and the traditional architecture and prints on the walls. The Breakfast room was lovely too opening onto a a central courtyard with water feature tinkling. The chef - a lady with more than 40 years of experience at The Queen's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Linda, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only stayed one night but cannot find much to fault this quaint hotel. The ambience was very 1950s English sea-side hotel but the room was comfortable and the bathroom was very impressive (looked like it had recently been refurbished). Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanfrombedford
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Alan, Thank you for your review. We have renovated all the bathrooms in 2016.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an old colonial-style building with some modernisation, well located in the centre of town. Our standard room was basic but adequate as we really just needed somewhere to sleep, wash etc.. The pool area is uninviting and there appeared to be no air con in the restaurant or the bistro. The food however was generally reasonable and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew893
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Andrew, Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

The room is small. The A/C is Very noisy. It is hard to sleep. The toilet is making noice when water is running into toilet after flushing. The restaurant is extremly slow. After ordering it took 2 hours to get the food. Avoid this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bo L
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel was built in the late 1800's and the extensions where the rooms are were built in 1930. The size of the rooms is therefor a historic fact that we can do nothing about. The rooms are however bigger than most of the older european hotels. Our Restaurant is extremely popular and busy and bookings are essential, but most...

isle of wight
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed here as part of a senior guided tour of the Cape as we were a largish party we did not have the chance to see the menu and we had the buffet over the holiday we had several buffet meals but this was a poor choice option. Rooms and staff were good!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plumpet
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you experience the buffet dinner as poor. We have many tour groups enjoying our buffet dinners, but this is the first time someone complaining about it. We vary the menus on a weekly basis

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We booked our trip through Trailfinders (did not have a great experience with them but that is another story). Bear in mind that we arrived at the Queen's Hotel after a 5+ hour drive and after staying in a fabulous place in Stellanbosch. When we arrived we were happy that there was secure parking behind the hotel. At reception we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Broden G
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Broden, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had a bad experience with us. The hotel was built in the late 1800's and the extensions where the rooms are were built in 1930. The size of the rooms is a historic fact that we can do nothing about. We are new owners that bought the hotel 3...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Old and quaint motel, clean comfortable room upstairs. Breakfast simple and nice, waiter service. In centre of town. Congo caves close by, a must see. Went to Berrydale for lunch at country pumpkin, very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Jenny, Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
285 reviews
1.8 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
456 reviews
2.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
25.8 km away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
163 reviews
0.4 km away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: €66 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Queens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel ;ocation and parking is great - breakfast too - but dinner less so.”
 of 5 bubbles L3027TWlindaw, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs, front of premises”
 of 5 bubbles jennymR3680UZ, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room faced the busy main street with the cafes and eateries, but it was okay for me as I liked it that way.”
 of 5 bubbles 369theresac, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms very small, no fridge and very tiny bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles R2581YLmaryd, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were at the back away from the main street which can get a bit noisy at times.”
  • Super little room with all you will need for a comfortable night's sleep ...
 of 5 bubbles eddieleeds1972, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5