We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Overmeer Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Overmeer Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Start your review of Overmeer Guest House
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There is no secure parking Breakfast is very basic , with 2 options on order Omlettes or a standard bacon and eggs there is fruit , toast , juices and usual basic breakfast cereals Tv screens in the bedrooms are very very small and one room had an old outdated tv Poor channel selections with only a few DSTV channels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 60pradheepb
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at the Overmeer guest house on Saturday. Based on the photos on Booking.com we were really looking forward to the 3 night stay. Upon arrival we decided to leave our luggage in the car as we were not happy with the room or facilities. The guest house is tucked into a local neighbourhood and is 16minute drive away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
Ludwig F, Owner at Overmeer Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Mr Buttle, I would like to point out that Overmeer is as much a client of Booking.com as you are and we are bound by the same cancellation policy that you were when you made the reservation. When you supplied your credit card, you agreed to the cancellation policy of Booking.com and at the same time when we took...

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a surprise, the rooms are very large and there was nothing missing. The breakfast was very good, superb variety of everything. The view towards the Knysna River and Lagoon where excellent, the only thing is the noise from the N2 below. I think it is depending on the wind.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanne412
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All in all good accommodation and service. My party stayed in the "ungraded rooms" and these were tired and needed some basic cleaning and were not value for money. Not sure how an establishment has some "graded" and some ungraded rooms? The other rooms looked inviting from the outside.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 118eugeneh
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During our roundtrip of Western and Eastern Cape we spent a couple of nights at Overmeer Guesthouse. We received a warm welcome with many useful tips to explore the beautiful surroundings. Our room was well equipped with beautiful views over the valley. Excellent breakfast. All in all a very memorable stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 715wimd
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overmeer was a nice stopover in Knysna. We stopped with 4 other couples for one night. The one place where I think there can be an improvement would be in the breakfast. We had just stayed at a guest house for a week in Cape Town where we were offered exceptional variety and creativity every morning. I felt that the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank meganwB876AB
Senlis, France
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Amazing place , warm staff, we spent 3 days in this beautiful place , the staff was so nice!!!once again thank you for everything! My son is on a wheelchair and they did the maximum for him ,we had the feeling to be as if we were in our house

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 885marjorieb
Anerley
Reviewed 18 March 2017

With so many choices of B&B in Knysna it was difficult to decide which guest house to book. We were so pleased to have deciddd on Overmeer. The bedroom was large and well equipped. Very comfortable bed and we needn't have travelled with our own pillows as theirs were just as good! The breakfast was delicious and prepared exactly as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 487lesleyl
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Throughly enjoyable, proffessional service, great view from the breakfast table, continuous barking from neighbour's dog was irritating as was noisy rattle of keys by the guests especially late at night and early in the morning

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 157bramw
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Wifey and I booked the honeymoon Suite on the first floor. Beautiful lagoon view from the spacious balcony.Very Friendly staff and top it off, a scrumptious buffet Breakfast. Will recommend to friends and family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryandT6861CT

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#15 of 126 in Knysna
232 reviews
0.5 km away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#11 of 126 in Knysna
391 reviews
0.3 km away
Knysna Terrace Guesthouse
Knysna Terrace Guesthouse
#65 of 126 in Knysna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 126 in Knysna
202 reviews
1.2 km away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
225 reviews
3.3 km away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 126 in Knysna
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set high on the hills overlooking the breathtaking Knysna estuary (Knysna lagoon) you will discover the heartfelt hospitality of Overmeer Guest House. Here luxury, comfort and the surrounding beauty are all carefully harmonized to create the ultimate venue for an unforgettable stay in Knysna - one of the most scenic places in the world. Apart from our luxury rooms we also cater for travellers on a budget and has a family suite to accommodate larger bookings. Contact us to make a reservation and let us assist you in creating fantastic memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Overmeer Guest House

Address: 34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: €57 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overmeer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Overmeer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Overmeer Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stick to a standard room”
Mausi72, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms closer to reception have better views over the lagoon”
LiisFlack, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Any room will do as it all overlooks the lagoon, the luxury rooms are only better because it has a bath”
Malonie1964, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Room number 9, second floor, overlooking the pool”
JessBurgess, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a lagoon view - it was sensational”
  • View of the lagoon from the balcony
U7275DFpaulc, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5