We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
#19 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lofts Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 18 June 2015

We so enjoyed this Boutique Hotel as it was so convenient. The staff were ultra friendly every time you returned; always a welcoming smile. The room although small was clean and accommodating. The choice of 4 restaurants for Breakfast was great as one could leisurely take one's time and 2 of them were in walking distance. We tried all 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margie F
Management response:

Dear MargieF, Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. Its great to hear that you appreciated the friendliness of our team and the uniqueness of our breakfast vouchers. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lofts once we have reopened in April 2016. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 May 2015

We visited the Lofts for our one year anniversary. We booked the honeymoon package. It was truly a great experience. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff at the hotel. The room was clean and gorgeous. On a daily basis the room was cleaned and we received clean towels. The hotel is absolutely perfectly located next to all types...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pieter-George E
Management response:

Dear Pieter-George E, Thank you for writing a great review for The Lofts. We enjoyed treating you and your wife on your anniversary. It is always such an amazing thing to be able to share in. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next anniversary. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Great location, good facilities, I will certainly go back. good friendly staff, willing to assist and provide information.......................................................................................................

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joeyg265
Management response:

Dear joeyg265, Thank you for writing such a wonderful review for The Lofts. We look forward to welcoming you back once we have reopened in April 2016. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

On arrival we received a very warm welcome from the Loft's staff. The accommodation was comfortable, however, the pictures on the website did not match our expectations. In particular, the shower facility was almost non functional, with little to no water pressure, and extreme temperature fluctuations. We alerted the staff to this problem on the first morning. On checkout on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dylan L
Management response:

Dear Dylan L, Thank you for writing your review. We appreciate your feedback as the only way we will improve is by knowing our shortcomings. I however did speak to my team regarding the shower issue that you mentioned to them on the 1st morning, as they should report this to the maintenance manager, but they confirmed that there was...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Was an excellent spot for visitors who don't know Knysna very well. Comfy and clean rooms with friendly staff! Our room also had a lovely big balcony. Only drawback was that the walls were a little thin... but luckily the neighbours snoring didn't bother me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
Management response:

Dear Simon B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. We appreciate constructive criticism and the mention of the walls being thin is a valid one. The hotel has recently been damaged due to an electrical fire and we are currently closed to renovate and rebuild. I have added your comment to our list...

Reviewed 28 April 2015

Most stunning holiday staying within a boatshed shell that has it's foundations in the Thesen Island dating back to 1922. From the friendly staff greeting us at the door, the complimentary champagne (Honeymoon), upstairs loft, massive rafters, beautiful bathrooms, the breakfasts at Il de Pain, downstairs Spa, the safe and beautiful streets where we walked around at night, waterfront directly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoshReid
Management response:

Dear JoshReid, Thank you for taking the time to write an amazing review for The Lofts. We hope to welcome you and your wife back for your anniversary! Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Toledo, OH
Reviewed 22 April 2015

The Lofts is a renovated building where boats were built. The hotel shares space with shops on the lower level. The superior rooms feature the old beams, a large bathroom, and a spacious outside balcony. Despite it being a busy weekend, the rooms were quiet and comfortable. Be aware that this is a rather minimum service property with no staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rweisfe
Management response:

Dear rweisfe, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed to hear that you found that there was minimum service during your stay. Our reception is open from the morning at 7:00 until 21:00 and the team is always more than happy to assist our guests with everything. I do remember members of your group...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay in the Loft Suite, very friendly staff. Honesty bar was a bit limited and felt that it was a bit pricey. The price quoted the night we arrived and price charged next morning on check out was also different and more. But in general very pleasant stay stay in a luxury clean room. we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilnaventer
Management response:

Dear Wilnaventer, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to hear that you found the staff friendly and the rooms clean. This is very important for us. I am not sure why the price quoted is different from what was paid, we have a standard pricing structure and the entire team uses this and...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We had an enjoyable stay at at a well kept Boutique Hotel on the Lagoon water's edge, within walking distance of the Knysna waterfront. We enjoyed being able to choose where we had our breakfast and recommend Ile de pain and the Island Cafe at the Turbine Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olivermarnitz
Management response:

Dear OliverMarnitz, Thanks for writing your review for The Lofts. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the Easter weekend. I hope you took advantage of the Easter Egg tree? We hope to welcome you back again soon. Have a great evening, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2015

lagoon suites offer wonderful view onto the lagoon, especially for sunset (well worth the extra money),not all of them have balconies but big windows to the front that can be opened so not too much of a problem nice breakfast arrangement with ile de pain which is in the same street and offers great breakfast (and lunches) under trees

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaela H
Management response:

Dear Michaela H, Thanks for writing a review for The Lofts. Staying in one of the lagoon suites is amazing. Waking up when it's high tide feeling like your on your own island is a unique feeling. The lagoon suites offer you a great escape and there's nothing better than watching the sunset from your room or even from your...

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.8 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
695 reviews
0.2 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 29 in Knysna
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The St. James of Knysna
10.2 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.1 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: €111 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lofts Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the Luxury Loft rooms with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Oudtshoorn1, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be very specific when reserving whether you want a lagoon view.”
 of 5 bubbles rweisfe, 22 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The suite with view over the lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles wilnaventer, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“There are a couple of double rooms with views over the lagoon, and the sunsets are worth waiting for!”
 of 5 bubbles MaureenE374, 14 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We had a 2 bedroom apartment 3A and we did not like it. Feels claustrophobic, with a view on the ugly parking. I was betting for some view of the lagoon, but forget it.”
 of 5 bubbles Blirola, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay