We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Headlands House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Headlands House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of those great finds, thank you TripAdvisor! We booked based on reviews, and the hotel exceeded our already high expectations. Room had exactly the view advertised, breakfast was ample and varied (and tasty). There is a small pool and sun deck enclosed by glass, a nice surprise. Large living room with fabulous views of the Indian Ocean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BombayLiz
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our reception was wonderful, and the Coney room was great! Large room, brilliant views to sea and lagoon. Doors on both sides allow for nice breeze - no aircon necessary. Quiet location within 10 minutes drive from town. Breakfast was fairly standard, but fine. View from pool area is wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmeyer2017
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were welcomed by a very warm ,friendly and informative assistant manager Johlanda. I think "hospitality" should be her real name ,she could not more helpful....after a full day of activities,she noticed that we were exhausted...delivered a tray of freshly baked cookies and coffee... beautifully presented!!! To our room.Little gestures go a long way and adds to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nalin m
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed very much the excellent breakfast with a wonderful view of the ocean! It was stunning. We regret having stayed just for one night. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was very spacious (huge bathroom) and had a nice view of Knysna lagoon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcotY8370KJ
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Very beautiful place!! Rooms are beautiful, clean, spacious and have a lovely view!! Breakfast is top rated, service is friendly and very helpful. Rooms only need a bar fridge and Aircon. Maybe a bigger varity of alcohol. Enjoyed my stay a LOT!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 663johana
Lydia B, Owner at Headlands House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Headlands -- We are so pleased you enjoyed the views, the breakfast and the team .we do not provide bar fridges as awe have a guest honesty bar in the lounge -- unfortunately we only stock wine, beer and softs . Please come again -- we will gladly purchase any...

Düsseldorf
Reviewed 8 January 2017

perfect view and very friendly staff, great location, lots of things to do in the area, like elephant park, snorkeling with seals in Plettenberg Bay, birds Farm , Benton by the Sea is als worth a visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z6867GCmichaelh
Lydia B, Manager at Headlands House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review --we hope you return soon to enjoy so many more recommendations we have to offer within close proximity

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 24 December 2016

The view and location was great. There are great views all around. Lovely pool but no gym available.Scrumptious breakfast and friendly staff members. Bathroom interior a bit old but the room is a great size.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneStrydom
Lydia B, Manager at Headlands House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Headlands House.Thrilled you appreciated the views. Glad the breakfast was to your liking We do not advertise a gym as we do not offer that option. There are gyms in town should guests require that facility.

Reviewed 21 December 2016

It was a special holiday for us so we treated ourselves to the Coney room. It is the best room in the house overlooking the Heads. You just don't want to go out anymore but instead enjoy the sounds of the ocean and the views with a bottle of something on the balcony. Absolutely stunning views! Great on site manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang K
Lydia B, Manager at Headlands House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Delighted you appreciated what Headlands has to offer - we pride ourselves on the views and the personal service. The whole area is being upgraded to fibre and then we will sorted with the Wifi - we do apologise for the temporary inconvenience experienced re the Wi -Fi Regards -from the Headlands...

Heidelberg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Excellent location with beautiful views. Very good breakfasts to get you ready for the day. Luxury rooms with very helpful staff giving you excellent advice about activities and places to eat promises to make your stay in Knysna unforgettable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
Lydia B, Owner at Headlands House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 11 December 2016

On the website this lodge looked big , spacious and glamorous . When you arrive you see the entrance the breakfast lounge and the rooms are tight spacies and are definitely lower end of market in comparison to other hotels and or b and b's ! The drosty in Graaf Reinet and the Arabella in Hermanus were cheaper much better...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 137jodyw
Lydia B, Manager at Headlands House, responded to this review

We are so sorry you felt mislead by our photo's--we are not a hotel like the Drosty or The Arabella with large swimming pools . The focus at Headlands is the view - our guests are blown away by the view through The Heads as you walk into the lounge and breakfast area.Whilst we have a small dipping pool the...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.1 km away
The St. James of Knysna
2.9 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
724 reviews
0.4 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#2 of 102 in Knysna
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
4.0 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
262 reviews
0.7 km away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#8 of 129 in Knysna
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dramatic sea, lagoon and cliff views from every window. Uniquely situated on the highest point of the famous Knysna Heads, Headlands House offers breathtaking views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Headlands House

Address: 50 Coney Glen Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: €107 - €217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlands House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Headlands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Headlands House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Coney Room”
 of 5 bubbles 194wolfgangk, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have a good view”
 of 5 bubbles Tinkerbell070, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner suite on the top floor was magnificent”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller26042015, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dolpin room and bathroom with great decor and amazing views.”
 of 5 bubbles caroloo2013, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stayed at Fynbos Room - perhaps is the largest among all available rooms”
 of 5 bubbles AbhishekNevgi, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5