We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Show Prices
#9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 629: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel. The location is perfect for a short stay, conveniently close to various shops and the many restaurants. It is a typically modern impersonal hotel. Our room was comfortable, with two small double beds and a good bath/shower room. We had a small balcony (just large enough for one person if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs S
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Mrs S Thank you for sharing your recent experience via your review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and appreciate you taking the time. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a modern hotel, clean, good wi-fi and a few yards from numerous restaurants and tourist shops. I write this from my room and am overlooking the swimming pool and boats in the marina. We have a buffet breakfast catering for all tastes and management do everything to make a stay comfortable. I would happily stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eduardobear
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Eduardobear As a valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to receive your comments regarding your recent stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit...

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Imagine walking onto a cruise ship with wooden floors, stairs spiralling upwards, and clean lines this is the first impressions from this hotel. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, with a lovely big shower, excellent air con on the wall, tea and coffee making facilities. However if I remember correctly they do not put water in the room so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAZzzPAZzz
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear KaZzzPAZzz Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review via TripAdvisor and leaving us your positive feedback after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are...

Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent six nights at this hotel as we relaxed in the Knysna area. Our room had a balconey and overlooked the pool area. The room was of a reasonable size, with a comfortable bed, and was equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, a flat screen TV, a fridge, a safe, a desk with two armchairs and free Wifi. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGEDNOMAD
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear AGEDNOMAD Thank you for this online review regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. As we strive to meet and exceed GUEST expectations we are delighted to learn that we have reached our goal during your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel in January 2017. It was an excellent bhotel, clean,friendly and we'll positioned. The pool was perfect and overall we were delighted with our stay, the staff couldn't be more helpfull

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisjhirst
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear chrisjhirst Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your positive feedback. We truly value GUEST feedback and appreciate you taking the time to leave your comment regarding your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our...

Surrey
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed for 5 nights in this hotel. The location is wonderful, - overlooking the lagoon, and literally 2 minutes to the waterfront shops and restaurants. The room was clean and the bathroom adequate. My husband and I are in our 70's and love to travel. However, we do now feel the need to have a couple of hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandyr00
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear sandyr00 Thank you for taking the time to complete this online review in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the poor...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently had a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel. Perfectly located on the waterfront, just steps away from many good restaurants and shops. Our room was lovely, comfy, big bed, tea and coffee, fridge, safe, good wifi and a shower to die for ( a handheld shower and a rainfall shower on the ceiling.) Really wanted to take that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesley999Walsall
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear lesley999Walsall, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna by Marriott Quays through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel, despite the inside looking a little like a prison (I think it's meant to look like a cruise ship!) We had a room facing the harbour which had beautiful views, with floor to ceiling windows. The room was clean and quiet (just the water in the bathroom was a bit odd as it was orange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DandelionMind
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear DandelionMind Thank you for your recent review via TripAdvisor. Thank you for your feedback. We value it highly and appreciate the effort in writing down thoughts on your experience with us. We hope your enjoyed the rest of your travels and that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A friend was getting married at Knysna Elephant Park and she recommended the Protea. There was many of us of the wedding party that stayed from both the UK and SA. Rooms were clean. Pool was heated. A stone throw away from the waterfront and boat trips which was such a bonus. Reception staff were very helpful as well. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryony D
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Bryony D Thank you for completing this honest and positive review regarding your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. I am delighted to hear that we were able to not only meet, but exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again should your travels bring your to Knysna in future. Kind Regards Paul...

Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Glad we stayed here again, well located on the waterfront. Has many coach tours staying as a base prior to going to CPT. The rooms are well equipped and clean. The waterfront side has a better view but if you are on a tour and not in your room long the 'car park view' would do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brewersfriend
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Brewersfriend, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind words and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us again. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon! Yours Sincerely, Paul...

395 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (266)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (129)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.4 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
730 reviews
9.9 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.5 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#7 of 30 in Knysna
515 reviews
1.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.5 km away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: €104 - €214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Sandton, South Africa
2 months ago
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room over viewing the quayl”
 of 5 bubbles chrisjhirst, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Oversee pool area”
 of 5 bubbles 571AlanC571, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles SvB-CvB, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor marina view”
 of 5 bubbles U1103LValana, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a Lagoon bedroom but I would avoid being above the swimming pool which hums at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 3645Goldie, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5