We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bamboo the Guesthouse

  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 391: English reviews
Somerset
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Return visit for us had a lovely stay lots of changes since our last visit all for the better. Polite and helpful staff made to feel very welcome lovely breakfast and lots of interesting art to look at or buy!! Would definitely recommend. Loved the shop too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Im not sure where to start.... the only positive I have the staff is super friendly. But that's where it ends. We are used to "easy". This was dirty. I'm not going to post my pictures of the bathroom but we have not found any this dirty in SA yet. Breakfast very simple and you have to have time and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omitom
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Bamboo, we do room checks everyday and pride ourselves in Bamboo. We only wish you had brought this to our attention as we could of rectified the situation immediately. We would of also made sure the ones in charge of the cleanliness of the rooms...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A real gem. Great to get there and find it even more quirky and wondrous than it appeared on the website. My only regret is we could only stay for one night, as we had already booked our next destination. Friendly staff, top-notch breakfast, lovely swim - definitely put a smile on our faces!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildcolonialboy2017
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review we are glad enjoyed Bamboo and make sure to make your next stay longer and far more enjoyable. Warm regards The Bamboo Family

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This B and B turned out to be very similar to the Website description. Eccentic but extremely fun location. No complications regarding our booking which was made from the UK. Lovely breakfast and very comfortable rooms. Some of the facilities in the three rooms we had booked were not quite state of the art but hey, if you want the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank drlhb
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Many thanks for your review, we are so sorry about the pool we did attend to it immediately and it is looking better than ever. As for the WIFI we are on top of it as I know this can be a nuisance. We love that you enjoyed all other aspects of Bamboo. We hope to see you...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed here 4 years ago and liked it so much we had no hesitation in re-booking. The staff are still the same very welcoming and very helpful. However, the property was looking a bit tired and in need of attention. The breakfast was also quite limited, with options to buy more items (another egg or another sausage). Generally we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan_betts2
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Alan So sorry it took so long to reply, we thank you for your comments and am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as you did the first time. We have breathed new life into Bamboo so we hope your next visit will be more enjoyable than your first and second. Warm regards The...

Reviewed 28 October 2016

The rate to stay here is very good, especially as it includes a very generous breakfast. The owners and staff are friendly and the rooms are OK with a nice big bed. However, the downsides are that the car park is extremely small and very very tight; the first morning we had to find and wait for somebody to move...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emmelyn v
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Emmelyn We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Bamboo and that your needs were not attended to immediately, we now have a maintenance manager on property to avoid this from happening again. As for the car park, there is a parking available for each room, however it does so happen that other...

Oudtshoorn Sa
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed two nights at Bamboo, a week apart. Bamboo was recommended to us by the hospital as being in close proximity to it, so it was indeed very convenient. The welcome was warm and enthusiastic, and the ambience is quite delightful. However, we dd not find it easy to get around, even taking into account that I was not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan And Jean T
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Alan Thank you for your review and hope that we will get to welcome you back to Bamboo. Into a bigger and better room. Kindest regards The Bamboo Family

Haifa, Israel
Reviewed 23 October 2016

As the title suggests, I loved staying in this eccentric and magical guest house. Its got a great friendly and welcoming vibe. The grounds are a forest of plants and trees, wild and caged birds, fish ponds, pools, African art and antiques all crisscrossed by boardwalks. The rooms, too, are decorated with antiques and art. The rooms and the furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E_Donald_Stein
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank yo so much for your review and am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love receiving your feed back whether it be positive or negative. This helps us to make Bamboo even better and more enjoyable. Thank you once again. The Bamboo Family

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Bamboo guest house is a lovely place to spend your nights in knysna. It is different from the common guest house in its appearance, the staff is friendly and helpfyl, the facilities are nice, breakfast is quite good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yair B
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Many thank for your review we appreciate it, we hope to welcome you back to Bamboo soon. Warm regards The Bamboo Family

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Due to my business I'm in the area quite often and always choose to stay at bamboo. They make you feel at home right away. The rooms are spacious with self catering facilities, they even have braais, so if you don't feel like going out you can bring your steak and have a lekker braai!!! I just wish they would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wynand V
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Evening Wynand Im so glad to hear you feel at home over here! We love having you stay with us. I look forward to seeing you again, and you can have your early breakfast! P.S- Your tip about the conditioner worked! Kindest Regards Savannah

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.6 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#21 of 129 in Knysna
216 reviews
2.7 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#13 of 129 in Knysna
318 reviews
4.5 km away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#47 of 129 in Knysna
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Paradise Found
Paradise Found
#24 of 129 in Knysna
153 reviews
6.5 km away
Badger's Lodge
Badger's Lodge
#31 of 129 in Knysna
93 reviews
0.7 km away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#20 of 129 in Knysna
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique accommodation on the Garden Route, minutes from Knysna town centre, Bamboo Guest House offers a magical B&B experience in garden cottage rooms and courtyard suites, all in the tranquility of a tropical garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bamboo the Guesthouse

Address: No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: €50 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo the Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo the Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bamboo the Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bamboo the Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need any particular room just ask Janine and she will accommodate you just fine”
 of 5 bubbles 407ariannab, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Treat yourself to the Loft Honeymoon Suite”
 of 5 bubbles JRockJeff, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is very special indeed!”
  • Room close to the reception area - very comfortable.
 of 5 bubbles sarahtF3789KK, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite - open plan setting with a bed you want to buy for yourself”
 of 5 bubbles 450minettew, 19 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Every room we stayed in (3 in total) was awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles 446aliciap, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5