We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bamboo the Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bamboo the Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 399: English reviews
Start your review of Bamboo the Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Bay area, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were unclean to say the least. The shower did not drain well, so you were standing in water. Needs refurbishment. The bed in the honeymoon suite is small and squeaks. But the room is very large. The breakfast would have been ok, but some of the dishes were dirty. And they have these baskets to put your toast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your rather harsh review one star!! Wow, that's disappointment but let me assure you that the clog covers for the toast cannot be washed during service we wait until breakfast is complete before we wash them and hang them outside in the sun to dry! Our plates are heated under a fire which will sometime over time...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bamboo is unique, each room has been decorated differently and with style while the overall place is like a mini tropical jungle right in Knysna. Jaynie, Gran and the rest of the staff are attentive and very welcoming. I'll be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family run bed & breakfast within a quirky densely planted garden comprising boardwalks and wooden huts. Some accomodation in original house. Basic, clean facilities. Very good breakfast. The location requires use of a car. Guesthouse suitable for the easy going guest who enjoys the quirky things in life.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank downhall
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had 17 guests and 15 rooms. Some rooms are updated and some need updating. My Pampas room was large, but good use some refurbishment. No air conditioning, but your near the coast so it wasn't stifling hot in the summer. No screens on the room so keep them shut to keep the critters out. There was an adequate ceiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff but sadly the place needs new linen, towels and a general clean up. I would imagine that a family with children would enjoy staying at Bamboo. The breakfast was average. The parking is rather limited and a squeeze if you come in last!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane v
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We have been visiting this place 3 years before, but it's not quite the same. They don't offer any dinner anymore and the quality of the breakfast decreased. However, the pancakes were quite delicious. Last time, we enjoyed the fireplace in the room, but that was not for use any more. The wasn't even a mirror at the height of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benedikt K
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day I am so very you didn't enjoy your stay as much as you have done in the past, the fireplace recently broke and are waiting for the new one to arrive. Sorry you were not told of this. We did serve dinners before but found that guests prefers to eat in town and experience the night life there....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This place is great value for money.Yes, the rooms are a little rustic and eclectic but you are transported to a tropical paradise. The staff are very friendly and and helpful and is a very relaxing place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 897kirstenb
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Kirsten Thank you very much for such a wonderful review, we hope to see you again soon. We love hearing how our guests feel about Bamboo. Warmest regards The Bamboo Family

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Bamboo lodge offers a beautiful and tranquil setting not easily found elsewhere. The rooms were well fitted and the atmosphere Serene. The service was good and the breakfast great :) Good getaway close to restaurants, thank you for the stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank skyelerh
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards Cally

Somerset
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Return visit for us had a lovely stay lots of changes since our last visit all for the better. Polite and helpful staff made to feel very welcome lovely breakfast and lots of interesting art to look at or buy!! Would definitely recommend. Loved the shop too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Sharon Was so lovely to have you back, we are always growing and hope that on your next visit you will be even more impressed. Kindest regards The Bamboo Family

Ohio
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Im not sure where to start.... the only positive I have the staff is super friendly. But that's where it ends. We are used to "easy". This was dirty. I'm not going to post my pictures of the bathroom but we have not found any this dirty in SA yet. Breakfast very simple and you have to have time and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omitom
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Bamboo, we do room checks everyday and pride ourselves in Bamboo. We only wish you had brought this to our attention as we could of rectified the situation immediately. We would of also made sure the ones in charge of the cleanliness of the rooms...

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.6 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#16 of 126 in Knysna
231 reviews
1.0 km away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#18 of 126 in Knysna
192 reviews
0.7 km away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#19 of 126 in Knysna
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 100 in Knysna
305 reviews
5.8 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
270 reviews
4.5 km away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#47 of 126 in Knysna
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique accommodation on the Garden Route, minutes from Knysna town centre, Bamboo Guest House offers a magical B&B experience in garden cottage rooms and courtyard suites, all in the tranquility of a tropical garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bamboo the Guesthouse

Address: No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: €49 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo the Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bamboo the Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bamboo the Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bamboo the Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all different and all have a jungle type view. Ask for an updated room.”
  • Pampas room
richardjS2104WO, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you need any particular room just ask Janine and she will accommodate you just fine”
407ariannab, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Treat yourself to the Loft Honeymoon Suite”
JRockJeff, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is very special indeed!”
  • Room close to the reception area - very comfortable.
sarahtF3789KK, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite - open plan setting with a bed you want to buy for yourself”
450minettew, 19 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5