We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peace of Eden

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peace of Eden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Peace of Eden
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We tried to phone Peace of Eden to notify them that we will be arriving after 6pm on the first day. No one answered the landline or the mobile phone. Upon arrival the host didn't know where our cabin was or even aware of our booking. Luckily a lady came from another house on the property to give us the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank antoncmarais
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Im sorry you didnt enjoy your stay, however if you look at the top 10 reviews where everyone loved what we offer, then I can only believe you should have booked into a hotel instead and certainly not our vegan backpackers lodge! I find your comments about hiding behind 'rustic' etc to be rude and insulting to the simple yet...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

My weekened away was very quiet, the cottages weren't great but liveable, The mini fridge was empty but smelt like fish. The bed was horrible you keep knocking your shin on it every time, I must have knocked myself 10 times. There aren't much trails to walk on the property, when we asked for guidance, We were told to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairedE5304BE
clivekenrick, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Dear clairedE5304BE We take reviews seriously and endeavour to respond to both positive and negative feedback promptly however I'm not sure I can be of any assistance to you (or anyone else who reads this) because your complaint comes more than eight months after your stay. I have to wonder why it is that suddenly you feel the need, after...

Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The huge area that is covered by this monkey land is not possible to be covered even if you spend a whole day here. The experienced guides who know the habits of the monkeys are best to be followed if you want to watch the monkeys in their natural habitat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trilochansaini
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

This review is not for us but for Monkeyland in the Crags near Plettenberg Bay

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 28 July 2016

My family and I received friendly & efficient service from Armand at Peace of Eden from booking our overnight stay to getting settled in our tent and for removing a 'visitor' i.e.spider. It's was also welcoming to approach our tent and have an outside fire burning already- created that calm, peaceful element. Thanks for allowing us to experience a night...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meagan001
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Great guys, thanks for the positive vibes!

Port Owen
Reviewed 28 June 2016

My wife and I and our 2 Yorkies spent 3 nights here from 10th of June on a Daddy's Deals special. Although the cottage is basic, it has all one needs to be very comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and the accommodation was clean and comfortable with a lovely 'forest and fields' outlook. The staff are very obliging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don P
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Thank you Don, sorry for the very late response. Hope ot see you back here again, keep an eye out for our specials for 2017!

Grootbrak
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We stayed in Djembe cottage last weekend (June 2016) with 2 little kids. We live in the area so are familiar with many places around Knysna. The cottages are in a beautiful part of the world but the place is very basic, it feels more like a back packers. We don't mind simple and basic, having camped in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuliaF581
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

If you had read the heading on our website properly you would have seen it is a backpackers lodge, albeit a 5 star one! However I am SO sorry you had such an aweful experience. I was away at the time and certainly would have ensured you didnt have broken toilet brush. However I cannot believe the staff didnt change...

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Very basic. Would be greater in summer than winter. Bedding and mats is not clean so it is advisable to take your own. Tents were more clean than cottages. Staff is friendly. Gas geysers set at a certain temperage so was a bit cold. Especially the outside showers. Love being in the woods. Take own wood as theirs are expensive...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SonjaGeldenhuys
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

A bit belated Sonya, but still thought it good to respond to your comments. Winter time is not always the best time to stay as everything looks a little less sparkling in our forest tents. However I find your comments about cleanliness to be questionable as we have so many comments and reviews, remarking that they found everything clean and...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Peace of Eden is located amongst the mystical green valleys of Knysna- STUNNING! The service was exceptional - with a heartwarming welcome and heaps of generosity- it felt like home. The whole Eco-friendly outlook of Eden is very refreshing, and definitely what mother earth needs. Thank you for a fantastic memorable stay!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tharinav2016
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

A little belated but still much appreciated, thanks for your lovely review. Warmest jen

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 21 May 2016

On arrival we were shown to our tent and assistance offered to help us carry our luggage to the tent. Our tent was adequately equipped with all the necessities. The loos and showers were novel and supplied all the basics. The shared Forest Kitchen was also well equipped. All the tents and facilities are positioned at the edge of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidV1234
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Hi David, Thanks for your kind words and I am so happy you appreciated the Tents and novel ablutions ;-) and all that they offer. The luxury here is indeed the nature, safety and peace. Warmest Jen and the Peace Team

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We were very impressed with Peace of Eden. Not sure of what to expect, but the photos on their web site looked really interesting. We were welcomed by Helen, very friendly and chatted awhile with us, before showing us to our luxury forest tent. Felt like we were almost in the forest, but very safe with no wild animals besides...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeLyn
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your comments and the enjoyment of our beautiful place. You seemed to really take notice of all the little things that makes us unique and it makes us feel great that you noticed all of them so well. Kind Regards Jen

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.9 km away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#2 of 5 in Rheenendal
137 reviews
0.7 km away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2.1 km away
Forest Valley Cottages
Forest Valley Cottages
#3 of 5 in Rheenendal
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
191 Nirvana
191 Nirvana
#37 of 102 in Knysna
28 reviews
0.0 km away
Nieu-Wherry Meadow
Nieu-Wherry Meadow
#1 of 2 in Rheenendal
18 reviews
14.0 km away
No photo provided
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 102 in Knysna
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peace of Eden eco Retreat and Traveller's Lodge is tucked away on the edge of a magical forest, yet only 8km's off the N2,the main coastal Highway from Cape Town to Durban.We offer comfortable creative woodcutter Cottages for 2 adults plus 1 child, a spacious Barn Cabin for a large family or group of 8 friends, a cosy fairy tale double story Cottage and furnished retro canvas Tents on timber decks in the forest. A nature lovers paradise! You can expect simplicity with comfort, warm friendly hosts, helpful staff and 2 retired horses Ms Muffit and Bilbo Baggins who love a pat and give you a wet kiss for a carrot.Whilst nature entertains abundantly you may be lucky enough to bump into an assortment of well known South African Musician's recording at their award winning Recording Studio. If you are looking for a peaceful place to holiday or a mystical forested one night stay then Peace of Eden is the perfectly placed to explore all the amazing beauty of the Garden Route now a proclaimed and protected National Park where wild life abounds,the vast lakes mesmerise and the last remaining wild elephants roam freely in the forest gorges in the blue tinted Mountains surrounding this breathtaking area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peace of Eden

Address: Rheenendal Road | 6km's west of Knysna, 8,2 km along the Rheenendal Rd, off the N2., Knysna, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: €23 - €56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Peace of Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peace of Eden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are so private and really great”
 of 5 bubbles lombardjanine83, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rather stay at 'Forest Edge' up the road for the same price.”
 of 5 bubbles antoncmarais, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We would again choose Marimba cottage as it has a nice 'fields and forest' outlook”
 of 5 bubbles 525donp, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“not sure which cottage might be better?”
 of 5 bubbles JuliaF581, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the cabins are beautiful, but the forest tents are located in the heart of the forest.”
 of 5 bubbles tharinav2016, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5