We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Show Prices
#20 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Very good rooms and scenic ambience. Excellent breakfast. Stayed for 2 nights. Service was good. Happy that the tour operator had selected this hotel. Value for money. It was indeed a very good experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bavush
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bavush It was great having you here! We don have on exceptional places on earth to showcase. Hope to have you back soon! Kindest Janus & Simola team

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

A true country club based on golf. Magnificent 18 hole manicured golf course. Overlooking Nysana headlands the views are great. Rooms big with fireplaces, BBQ, self contained. A lovely place to stay for a week.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ge0ff54
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Geoff What a great advert of our wonderful estate. Indeed fantastically manicured - you should have seen the second last night with the sunset. Imagine looking at that sunset form your balcony enjoying a Braai (BBQ) on your balcony... Looking forward to have you do just that! Kindest Janus & Simola team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a Flook golf deal for Simola and I am afraid we got a lot less than what we expected and what other hotels offer on similar packages. On the Flook deal you get the second bedroom of a suite. It is adequate but small, no bath, no barfridge, small tv with poor reception, just the basics. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AnnemarieFourie
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Annemarie It would be fantastic to contact us directly for your bookings next time. We offer a range of special packages and and have far more options in rooms than can be imagined. Kindest Janus & Simola team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My wife and I recently stayed for 2 nights at Simola Spa and Golf Resort.This place are unfortunately not up to the current status it brags about. The breakfast was sub standard, the ' fresh cream on the Chinese spoons ' were sour, the selection of breads were minimal, the choices of what you can eat are non existent, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Envor H
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Envor It is disappointing reading your comments. Please feel free to contact us directly next time... We do offer fantastic spa retreat packages ourselves. Kindest Janus & Simola team

Morwell, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2016

What a surprise to find we were in a full size apartment instead of the usual hotel rooms we were use to during our holiday. The apartment was clean plenty of room and made for a great stay. We noticed that there was a second bedroom to each apartment to which we didn't have access. Later during our stay we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colint50
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Colin I must agree with the spaciousness of our luxury suites, and what makes this even better is that they are self catering and you can join it up into a 2 bedroom unit - Great for friends! We do have a great atmosphere in the bar and the restaurant food definitely compliments our Jack Nicklaus signature golf course...

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

The quality of the Simola Hotel is superb. the 2 bedroom apartments offer a real oasis for families that want to feel like they're in their own holiday home without the hassle of having to maintain the property. The downstairs apartments have a private garden and undercover gas braai (barbecue) area with seating for 6 people. The lounge, kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alistair P
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Alistair P Thank you for your lovely reflection of Simola as a whole! We pride ourselves in providing a private oasis, where we cater for young to old, couples to families with the sheer luxury of space, tranquility & our unmatched vistas. I am happy to hear that you and your family made the most of your special time...

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The highlights were the magnificent views and striking architecture, particularly at Simola Lodge, where we stayed. Staff were friendly and helpful there. However, no heating was available in rooms that were bitterly cold and no repairs were done during our 3 day stay. Also, the 2 'bedroom' suite is actually open plan. While spacious and beautiful, the beds are not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ninakriel
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nina Thank you for your feedback, we will most certainly keep our cellar filled with the new wines on the list. With regards to your accommodation at Sirius Lodge - You are welcome to rate them on their own TripAdvisor page. For your next visit - consider our spacious 2 bedroom suites. Kindest Janus & Simola team

Melbourne
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed in an apartment at this lovely country club and it was a delightful experience. The staff were attentive and the food delicious - the accommodation was so comfortable and catered for our every need. We were very impressed by every aspect during our stay at Simola. Cheers - Jules

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JulsMelbourne
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Jules I am delighted that my team & facilities made such an impression on you during your stay! The suites really do cater for everyone's needs; whether you are on Honeymoon, a Family break, Golf tour with the mates or a pamper weekend away for the girls... Hope to welcome you back soon! Kindest Janus & Simola team

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Modern resort with wonderful suites and nice spa. Panoramic views over Knysna Bay are just great. Spacious and modern rooms, with fantastic barbecue. Very quite and just five minutes driving from Knysna.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank apinadell
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Apinadell Thank you for your wonderful review! We truly have breathtaking views - especially when quietly appreciated from your spacious suite balcony or our award-winning spa...we often have to pinch ourselves! Indeed a great place for a retreat. Kindest Janus & Simola team

Reviewed 15 August 2016

We had a voucher for 2 nights which we had bought at an auction for a school fundraiser. We were treated as any other paying guest and were given the most beautiful suite near to the main hotel building. The staff was fantastic. We have visited a Knysna hotel before using a voucher and I cannot say the same for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TessBronwyn
Janus S, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TessBronwyn Thank you for your wonderful response. We value all our guests at Simola dearly! The staff really appreciated your comments and would love for you to return. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate you recommending us. Kindest Janus & Simola team

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
9.5 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
692 reviews
5.6 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 29 in Knysna
467 reviews
4.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The St. James of Knysna
3.6 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
26.8 km away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: €197 - €445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#12 Family Hotel in Knysna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
cape town

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lagoon facing offers stunning view, forest facing over parking”
 of 5 bubbles ik1957, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the apartment not just the room”
 of 5 bubbles Colint50, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Summer: The 2 'bedroom' suite is open plan, so not private, but has great views. Winter: Honeymoon Suite is cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles ninakriel, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a view overlooking Knysa as of the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles lex195, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms with a view”
 of 5 bubbles debbieSouthAfrica, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay