We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Potting Shed Accommodation

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Potting Shed Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Potting Shed Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 420: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2015

On Tuesday 20 January at 22h00 I booked a room online for 3 nights. By 07h30 the next morning they had taken R1725 as a deposit off my credit card. I requested cancellation of the booking shortly thereafter due to a family problem but a refund was refused. Legal but nasty as the place was empty. The owners are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Dear "Anonymous", When you made your online booking you were clearly shown our Terms and Conditions including Cancellation Policy (See below - I copied it from the on-line reservation system). You agreed to these terms when you ticked the box to finalise your booking. You cancelled on the day you were due to arrive, (less than 24 hours notice), giving...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We stayed for 3 nights and the rooms are beautiful though on the small side for South Africa, however absolutely adequate. The bathroom looked very new, ours was a wetroom which I like, just the drainage wasn't quite strong enough to cope with full blast long shower. Breakfast was fine, fresh fruit salad and eggs or pancakes plus usual cereal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nics61
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Would love to see the shark photos! :) Annamarie

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We had an absolutely awesome stay at The Potting Shed. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing, superbly hygienic and friendly get away. They managers of the complex are very accommodating and friendly service with a smile was received with our early morning breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fadia I
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Fadia, Thank you so much for your kind review. Annamarie

S A
Reviewed 14 March 2015

The Potting Shed well placed just away from the tourists but near enough to walk. Annamarie and her staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The dining room was lovely with attention to detail and a good selection for breakfast.Well worth a stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrisrine A
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm comment and for taking the time to review us. All the best. Annamarie

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Lovely spacious studio and outside space. Spotless bathroom and good small pool. A lot of traffic noise and small bed disappointing. Very good fresh fruit at breakfast but annoying laminated sheet to choose in advance. DIY toast, small yogurt pots and foil wrapped butter a bit old fashioned. Strange to pay on arrival rather than departure too. A bit too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your comment about the clean bathroom, spacious Studio and outside area. Sorry you found the bed too small. The studio room has a queen size bed. However the deluxe rooms have king size beds. The purpose of the laminated breakfast sheet the night before is to find out if everyone wants fresh fruit prepared for...

Suffolk, UK
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Booked the studio apartment for a week which was excellent as it gave us our own space to relax. Owners and staff very helpful with advice and assistance with restaurant reservations etc. Easy and safe walking into town - ideal location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you David... so glad you had a nice time. :) Annamarie & Dave

Reviewed 8 March 2015

We really had a great time in The Potting Shed. We loved our room and breakfast was great. One day we found a big spider in our room, but Doreen saved us and captured it and let it free at the other side of the road. Overal al a good atmosphere!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zbassie
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Yes well done to Doreen... he was quite a monster wasn't he. A little bit of South African nature there for you! :) Thank you for your review. Glad you had a nice stay. Best wishes, Annamarie

Calgary
Reviewed 7 March 2015

They are well located in a quiet street quite close to town. The room was very clean and comfortable but extremely small... Even difficult to open our suitcases. Parking is tight and the breakfast is quite basic too. The owners are rather brusque, and, although helpful, have little time for small talk

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seventy09
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Oh dear...it sounds like you must have caught one of us on an off day. :( We have 8 check-ins today and already done two, spending between 30-45 minutes with them chatting and telling them about the town and restaurants. We try to make every guest feel welcome. If Doreen checks guests in for us, we try to interact with...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Well situated in a quiet street a few minutes walk from the town centre,beautifully presented and decorated room with small sittooterie outside.excellent breakfast.well deserves its good reputation. Would definitely recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oceandream75
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Hope to see you again soon! thank you for the feedback! :) Annamarie

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015

The Potting Shed is a fantastic place to stay. The property itself is stunning, the grounds are well kept and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The location of The Potting Shed is a big positive being close to the centre of Hermanus. We were able to walk to the bars, restaurants and shops within ten minutes along the safe main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoopKRJ
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review - bless you!

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.0 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hermanus
795 reviews
0.9 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
592 reviews
0.5 km away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
562 reviews
1.5 km away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: €61 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Potting Shed Accommodation staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Essex England

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Potting Shed Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Self service accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles martinL9087KX, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is close to the breakfast area, rather choose from rooms 2 onwards.”
 of 5 bubbles 218tammya, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Have a look at the website and choose the room you like”
 of 5 bubbles 716lilyh, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 4, 5 and 6 are bigger and have outside space”
 of 5 bubbles NorfolkWalker7, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Both units had a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles dee140, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay