We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hermanus Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hermanus Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

559 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 468: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice location overlooking the sea just a few minutes walk from the centre. Our room was a good size and well appointed as was the bathroom. Good undercover secure parking. Our only complaint was the cooked breakfasts were small portions but overall acceptable.

Helpful?
Thank david s
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear David s, Thank you for posting your comments. We are pleased that you have enjoyed certain aspects of your stay and appreciate your constructive comments as it helps us improve. Please accept our apologies for the small portions of cooked breakfast during your stay with us. Your comments are important to us and will be used to assist us... More 

Crete
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I feel rotten giving this only 3 stars because the location was good, the breakfasts delicious and the staff ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. BUT our room was no 12 and this had an horrible feature. This was the lavatory - the size of 2 telephone boxes of frosted glass with a gap down where the hinges were. Sounds ok? Well yes until... More 

Helpful?
Thank clival
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Clival, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are most grateful for your honest feedback, which we accept as a valuable source of information for us to improve our services and the product we offer. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations in all areas.Your comments are important to us and will be... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous location, and super friendly staff. Bedrooms are of a high standard and whole place very clean. Could not fault it and would definitely go back. Parking very secure too. Wish we had longer to enjoy the views.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank H9422VCvictoriar
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear H9422VCvictoriar, Thank you for your positive review of Hermanus Guest House and it all has to offer. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back to Hermanus in the near future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Management and staff particularly helpful and friendly. Good position re cliff walks Downstairs front room has some traffic noise. Upstairs front rooms have better view. Good choice of local restaurants good view.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Dennis O, Many thanks for your kind comments after your recent visit to Hermanus Guest House, which are appreciated and have been passed on to our team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I spend a night at the beautiful guesthouse.It was a short getaway from Cape Town. What a pleasant surprice ! The service was excellent, so was the room. Perfectly clean and decorated in good taste. The breakfast was excellent and we had a good selection to choose from. Anette was very good and also the reception staff.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Erna E
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Ema E , The Hermanus Guest House team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff contributed in making your visit to Hermanus a memorable one. We look forward welcoming you back should you return to Hermanus one day. Kind... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've got the Honeymoon Suite which is very nice. The guest House is easy reachable and quiet. Nice walk to the cliffs on the other side of the road. Restaurants in walking distance towards the old harbor. Nice breakfast with a nice buffet and different hot meals available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 156juergs
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear 156juergs, Thank you for your positive review of Hermanus Guest House. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back to Hermanus in the near future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

CERES
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hermanus Guesthouse made us feel welcome as soon as we stepped through the doors. The lady at reception was very friendly and professional. We had such a lovely stay and will be back for sure! Thank you for great and friendly service!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caren C
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Caren C, On behalf of the HGH team we would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we spend lovely days at this nice B&B. From our room we have a nice view on the sea. People are very kindly and the breakfast was top. This is a location, that we really can recommend. We are sure, that we come back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank josefk920
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Josefk920, Thank you for your kind comments after your recent visit at Hermanus Guest House. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a fantastic guest house within a walk of the old harbour. The staff were amazing - the receptionist could not help us enough and suggested restaurants, made bookings etc. The breakfast was great. The room was very nice and one of the best beds we have ever stayed in. All in all a very friendly hotel with beautifully... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DennisandSmudge
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Dennisandsmudge, Many thanks for your kind comments after your recent visit to Hermanus Guest House, which are appreciated and have been passed on to our team. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and that our staff was helpful. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The breakfast was very fresh and delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are tiny but nice and clean. WiFI is free. The hotel is within walking distance to the center of the town. Anytime again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 689pe1984
hermanusguesthouse, General Manager at Hermanus Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear 689pel1984, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is a real pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast and your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.7 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hermanus
792 reviews
1.0 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
4.3 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
369 reviews
1.1 km away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#12 of 86 in Hermanus
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: €98 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hermanus Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid Room 12 at all costs!”
 of 5 bubbles clival, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room facing beach if available as it had lounge chairs facing ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles AwayWeGo2016789, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a room in the new building . Room 18.”
  • Lovely outdoor /private shower
  • Room
  • Open room layout.
 of 5 bubbles TachlessCps, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“come as soon as you can check in to maximise your stay”
 of 5 bubbles marykem2016, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Let the staff guide you in enjoying their town, they are happy to provide advise and extra little touches to make your stay more pleasant.”
  • View of Fricks Pools from room
  • Breakfast/sitting room
 of 5 bubbles laurav922, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay