We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
See the most recent reviews
Showing 204: English reviews
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I worked with Erene Zietsman on organising a stakeholder and media event at the hotel on Friday, 02 December 2016 and it was a fantastic success! Erene and the team at the hotel were always friendly, professional and organised and nothing was ever a problem. The only thing we heard before, during and after the event was 'absolutely! we can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grantdsa
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear grantdsa, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and...

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We had a buffet lunch for our Year End Function, The Buffet lunch was beautiful, ,more than enough food, the waitresses was so friendly and helpful and always willing to assist with a smile on their faces, i will definitely go back as i had wonderful service and not 1 complaint from my group of 40 people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank priscilla601
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear priscilla601, GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying or conferencing with us is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST review after your recent event at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George....

Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We spent 3 nights with visiting Pakistan Veteran's Cricket Team at this hotel. Very comfortable hotel, big Rooms but Bathrooms need up-grade and need new Matress in the Rooms. Breakfast is good and healthy. We had Dinner at the hotel and it was divine. Portioning was very good and everybody enjoyed it. Hotel Staff is very Friendly and helpful. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TikkaPalace
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear TikkaPalace, Thank you very much for your review after your groups recent stay with us. GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with us is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Had a very disappointing stay. Booked for 2 nights. Check in was good and room was nice and spacious. A bit dusty though. Late the evening I realised I forgot my toothbrush, called reception and promptly received the toothbrush. Very impressed with the efficient service. When I showered on day 1 I had no warm water. The next morning when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fuzlin
Berneace, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Fuzlin, Thank you once again for your feedback regarding your stay with us in early November. As per my previous communication to you after we received your initial feedback; once again I would like to extend our sincere apologies for the water- and housekeeping issue. As mentioned the shortcomings in our housekeeping department has been addressed and corrective measures...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2016

There is nothing special about this hotel , we stayed in an outside room , which you have to dive too. The rooms are decent , average and clean. The staff is ok , not too friendly and not rude. The bathrooms are clean with a large shower. Room service is average. We told them that it is our honeymoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keabetswen
Berneace, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Keabetswen, Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George. Once again congratulations on your wedding and your birthday! We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding our clean rooms and spacious, clean bathrooms. We strive daily to not only meet, but exceed our GUESTS' expectations and we...

Mississauga
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Checked in and quickly checked out. The hotel entrance is welcoming and clean. The two rooms we were shown were dated and you could see the dirt on the fabric of the upholstered furniture. The hotel was built about 25 years ago and needs a refresh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lonelyvoyageur
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Lonelyvoyageur, Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence. Your comments...

Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We received excellent food and great service. We went as a tour group to have lunch at the restaurant and everyone was highly satisfied. It was a wonderful experience. Our booking was also managed very well and we received great value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DenvorW
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We strive daily to not only meet, but to exceed our GUESTS' expectations and I am delighted to hear that we succeeded! We look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Berneace Nel General Manager

George, South Africa
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We had a splendid elegant function at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George. Erene and her staff was absolutely astounding, helpful and very effisient and quick. They know exactly what they were doing. The organising of the function were left in there capable hands, the food was excellent and the atmosfphere so enchanting. The necessary technology(projector,sound...) was available and worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annelizeflipc
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us after your recent function at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George! We are delighted to receive your commendations and I will congratulate Erene and her TEAM for the Excellent service they provided. We look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Berneace Nel General Manager

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Spending a week along the Garden Route going from one Hotel to another. The King George was the perfect spot to recharge my batteries. Friendly staff, loved the Rex Tavern and friendly barman. The pool was also quite refreshing. Pity I only spent the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Richard B, Thank you for your review - we are delighted to receive your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon, for an extended holiday! Kind Regards, Berneace Nel General Manager

Singapore
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The view is breathtaking. The property is surrounded by a golf course but the dramatic backdrop of mountains and flowing clouds is impressive. Rooms a little tired looking. The first suite I got had no view so I swapped my suite for a deluxe room. Totally worth it. You'll wake up to sounds of nature. Service is fair and slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zsuki
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Zsuki, GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels by Marriott is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST Review after your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing to...

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (127)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
10.1 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
3.6 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
61 reviews
12.9 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
591 reviews
9.0 km away
Far Hills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the convenience of being on the doorstep of all the Garden Route has to offer! The Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is centrally located in the Heart of Eden and exudes tranquility and beauty. With the Outeniqua Mountains as a back-drop, this magnificent 4-star hotel, with its country-style setting is the ideal location for conference, business and leisure travelers wanting to explore the Garden Route and surroundings. You can be assured that you will never run out of things to do and see! Nestled between two of the country's top golf courses and in close proximity to other world class courses in Mossel Bay, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is the perfect destination for golf enthusiasts to tee off from! This secure, upmarket hotel is merely a ten minute leisurely drive from the George Airport and a stones' throw away from all the pristine beaches with its clear water and white sandy beaches. The spacious and stylishly designed rooms and luxury suites are equipped with all amenities for your comfort. The Fairway Terrace Restaurant with its elegant dining atmosphere and superb blend of classical and contemporary cuisine is a gastronomic experience that will not easily be forgotten. Children are always welcome and with the dedicated Prokidz entertainment program over weekends and school holidays, you can be assured of absolute relaxation, friendly and efficient service and home-away-from-home comfort in the Heart of the Garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Address: King George Drive, King George Park, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: €61 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott King George 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott King George staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott King George staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you tell them you don't wat to be around cigarette smoke!”
 of 5 bubbles RobertR173, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Golfers should request rooms overlooking the golf course. Families should request rooms around the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles pauljob2017, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor come with a terrace - but it is open to all your neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles G3151FZdanielm, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles kavuki777, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms i stayed in was good”
 of 5 bubbles priscilla601, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5