We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Far Hills Country Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Far Hills Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Far Hills Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 220: English reviews
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Short and sweet!!! Late arrival as advised 19:30 - booked days before arrival to find cold reception, freezing room which hadn't been prepared, not satisfied we tried to sort it out but due to the lack of help and bad attitude of the young receptionist we phoned The Wilderness Hotel who were only to pleased to help us! Good luck...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Les R
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Lovely looking hotel, nice rooms, lovely pub but that is where it ends. Although they are in the process of renovations. Our room needed much to be repaired and I sent them an email which they saw to the problems for the second night. Don't watch TV in the room as reception very poor. We had dinner, the first night,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen M
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 6 May 2016

The room we stayed in was under renovations, No mirrors, no hand towels, no soap dishes no remote for the TV etc. Staff friendly and food very good first 2 days, last day breakfast ok. i will never stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Deon K
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All reviews we applicate. I would just like to say that we did inform you that it was our last room and that it is not finished yet. You did insist on taking the room. I would still like to apologise for the state of the room when you stayed and would like to invite...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

The FarHills hotel has really got the most amazing views from every angle outside. We were greeted by very friendly staff and in general all the staff were always friendly and extremely helpful at all times. Upon entering our room our disappointment started. The television(which was from the ark) did not work. The telephone in the room did not work....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Wendy Q
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy Thank you so much for your review all reviews are appreciated. We are sorry for the state of the room when you stayed here and have fixed all problems in the room. I would just like to say that we are not a 4 star hotel but a 3 star. We have upgrade 5 of our rooms so...

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 3 May 2016

I was quite impressed with the hotel. There was some hiccups with the booking but it was all sorted out by Robin-Lee. All the staff was helpful and friendly. All the issues I had in our room was promptly sorted out. The room is pretty basic. Just what you need for a time out in the Garden Route. Very impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Far Hills Hotel. I am sorry that there was a mistake with your booking as well as the issues with the room. I am very happy that at the end you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could accommodate you. We hope to see you again.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Although there are still some teething problems while rooms are being renovated, the staff are very helpful and accommodating. Despite a power outage on the first night which meant turning in early, the rest of the weekend was great and being upgraded to deluxe rooms was the icing on top of a lovely weekend. This hotel has such a homely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michaelwood2015
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for your review. We do apologise for the power outage on the first night of your stay. I am happy that we could upgrade you and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Before I started writing the review, I read through the reviews already submitted (something I should have done beforehand). I can relate to most of the negative items mentioned, as well as some of the positive items mentioned. We were en-route from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town, and stayed at the Far Hills Hotel on Friday 22 April. We arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charl9686
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

The staff really do try everything to help and be of great service. The management are always around and available to assist. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The food was great and the cocktails are one of the best I've tasted on a long time. We really enjoyed our stay and had no complaints. Thanks we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We look forward seeing you again.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 April 2016

If you need relaxation away from the city - this is the perfect place. Beautiful views from our rooms with balconies. Spacious rooms - friendly staff and very nice food. quite close to Garden Route Mall - close to Victoria Bay. We definitely coming back to this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShaneVC
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We at Far Hills Country Hotel are really happy that you enjoyed your stay by us and do hope to see you again.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I'm just going to note points down, it's far too much effort to go into extreme detail which I really could do, but this place is not worth my time! I’d just like to state how disappointed I am with our accommodation in the standard room 44. Firstly when I reserved this booking a while ago, it took convincing of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank WarrenManuel
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Warren I would firstly like to start by saying thank-you for the effort that you have gone through with the complaint above. After what happened to you, I can understand why you were so frustrated, but I don’t understand why you had to complain again on another medium as you had sent me an email which I replied to...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
4.1 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
607 reviews
9.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
No photo provided
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
62 reviews
13.0 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
7.6 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: €47 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Far Hills Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower ground garden / pool rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles freedomoftravel, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking pool have a good view but are very tired,,,,”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the newly revamped rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Tessa143, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go to another eastablishment.”
 of 5 bubbles cliveandmerle, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“dont choose a room. Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles TinyHandz, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5